We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas style dining in case you didn't know.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ox and Finch

Ox and Finch
Ranked #17 of 2,389 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Ox and Finch is a hugely-popular Kelvingrove restaurant that has added a new dimension to the quality dining arena in Glasgow with its relaxed, sharing concept of contemporary dining; simple, seasonal and ingredient-led menus which combine big, bold flavours with global influences; a great wine list and friendly, attentive service. Culinary Team. Jonathan MacDonald: Formerly the Head Chef of the McLaren Formula One team & Absolute Taste. Founder of scoop. Food category winner in Glenfiddich Spirit of Scotland Awards 2014. Daniel Spurr: Worked at Glasgow's Rogano and Restaurant Martin Wishart at Loch Lomond. General Manager. Andy MacSween: Hotel and Hospitality Management graduate, with solid management experience of a number of well-respected Glasgow culinary 'names'.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tapas style dining in case you didn't know.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Well presented, well finished eatery with a reassuring open plan kitchen. This is proper cooking and not just a load of folk heating up food and slapping it on a table.

Menu selection is diverse, if you're vegetarian don't despair, still plenty of choice, and for carnivores; you will be in your element! Chocolate desert to die for......!

Overall, lovely wee place, great staff, tasty and well presented food. Give it a try!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Judgeatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Glasgow_Team, The Ox and Finch team at Ox and Finch, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hi,

May we begin by thanking you for your support of Ox and Finch with not only your recent visit to our restaurant but also in taking the time to review your experience for the benefit of other TripAdvisor visitors.

We are sure that the open kitchen lends not only to any reassurance of the quality of dishes served at 920 Sauchiehall Street, but also makes for an added dimension in the experience of dining at Ox and Finch.

We hope that you will take the time to dine with us again in the near future. Until then, once again, many thanks for your review and your support.

Warmest wishes,

The Ox and Finch team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,093
    261
    70
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A new local favourite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Since opening a short while ago i've already been to Ox & Finch four times. It's pretty much at the end of my street which makes it very handy indeed.
They have done wonders with the interior. (Compared to when it was that old fashioned Greek place). Thank goodness. The entire place is fresh and bang up to date. Staff have all been friendly and approachable. Service is of a decent pace and so far nothing has gone wrong with any part of any order. Great stuff!
The food is well prepared and tastes great! The open kitchen is a great touch. I love the small plates/tapas idea. I've always been a fan of small bites, grazing and taking time to eat. Not always a need for a big plate of food in front of me. I do understand the idea behind just bringing each plate as it's ready, however i'd be quite happy to wait (with a glass of wine) for it to be ready and brought all together (or at least one dish for each person at the table) saves all that..'oh you go ahead, don't wait for me' awkwardness. But, in fairness, the food is served fast enough so not too much hanging around.
My favourite has to be the hanger steak. (Cooked rare) with the tiny onion rings, mushrooms and jus. Just delicious! The scallops are also great. As are the chips with truffle oil. So far, my friends, partner and myself have been delighted with the food. I do hope the menu changes regularly though to keep a fresh selection. (Though maybe keep the hanger steak on for as long as you wish)
Will definitely be back very soon!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Luke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Glasgow_Team, The Ox and Finch team at Ox and Finch, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hi Luke,

Four visits already to Ox and Finch and each leaving you sufficiently impressed to post a Five Star review on TripAdvisor. Thank you very much.

The menu at Ox and Finch will continue evolving, as fresh seasonal produce enters the markets, so we hope that there will be many new options available to sample and savour on each future visit you make.

We will, we trust, be able to welcome you through the doors of 920 Sauchiehall Street in the very near future, Luke.

Warmest thanks for your continued support,

The Ox and Finch team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Can't Wait To Return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

I loved this place. The atmosphere, the service and the food were all first class. I am already looking forward to returning to try the dishes I did not manage on my last visit. The crispy squid was delicious as was the hanger beef all of it was fab. I love the small plates idea and it is very reasonably priced. Highly Recommend

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank iona33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Glasgow_Team, The Ox and Finch team at Ox and Finch, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hi Iona,

Thank you very much for posting up a great 1st class/5 star review on TripAdvisor following your recent visit to 920 Sauchiehall Street. We are sure that your observations will benefit other visitors to the site to gain an independent viewpoint of the experience that awaits.

We hope that you will dine with us again very soon and look forward to welcoming you to Ox and Finch.

Warmest wishes,

The Ox and Finch team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Booked table incredibly easily online for my husband, my baby and I for lunch on Friday afternoon.

Warm welcome on arrival and we were shown to a lovely, spacious table at the back of the restaurant which was perfect as we had our rather large pram with us.

Menu was the perfect mix of delicious and exciting dishes. We chose:

Roe deer tartare; delicate, tender and perfectly seasoned.

Beetroot gravadlax; exceptional! The accompanying radish salad was lovely. Definitely worth a try.

Crispy squid; perfectly cooked squid with delicate orange and chilli salad. Bee-A-yootiful!

Hanger steak; served rare this dish was our favourite.

Truffle chips; yummy! Demolished the aioli dip!

We finished with coconut parfait with baby pineapple (OMG!) and cherry clafoutis (delish).

We found the portion sizes perfect and 5 dishes between us plus desert was perfect for a filling late lunch. There was a lovely selection of wine and craft beer available.

The atmosphere was lovely and although busy we could still have a conversation without shouting or feeling like we were ear wigging on the table next to us!

We will be returning very soon and telling all of our friends about this exceptional restaurant that Glasgow has been shouting out for. Any chance of opening a sister restaurant in Dunfermline? ;)

Helpful?
3 Thank Dafam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Glasgow_Team, The Ox and Finch team at Ox and Finch, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hi,

What a Bee-A-yootiful review! Thank you for very much.

You certainly selected a range of our most popular dishes and we’re delighted that each dish proved to be a pleasure to your taste buds.

If we open a sister restaurant in Dunfermline, be assured that there will always be a warm welcome awaiting you. In the meantime however, you can always return and visit us at 920 Sauchiehall Street.

With our warmest thanks,

The Ox and Finch team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Brilliant, Fab, Loved It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

We went here for the first time for lunch mid week for my sons birthday. The waitress that served us was lovely. She was very efficient and took the time to explain how the menu worked and was very friendly, she made us feel welcome. Then came the food which was served tapas style, this was superb that's the only way I can describe it. Everything down to the basic mozzarella and tomato dish was absolutely delicious. The restaurant has got everything spot on, there is nothing negative to say. Go try it you'll love it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pmcd04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Glasgow_Team, The Ox and Finch team at Ox and Finch, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hi,

Firstly, thank you for choosing to dine at Ox and Finch on your son’s birthday and, of course, for taking the time to post an enthusiastic review on TripAdvisor following your visit.

We hope that this will be the first of many visits that you make to 920 Sauchiehall Street and that each visit will prove as agreeable as the first.

Warm regards,

The Ox and Finch team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ox and Finch also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Ox and Finch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing