We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a disappointment”
Review of Redhurst Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Redhurst Hotel
Ranked #56 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
1 review
“what a disappointment”
Reviewed March 4, 2010

rooms and bathroom cold and dingy, all in need of a major refurbishment. quite posh area so expected better. breakfast good however and waitress friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staffock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    75
    32
    15
    7
See reviews for
69
61
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2009

Very run down, cramped. No alarm clock in the room, the wake-up call didn't work. Shower and sink have signs of caution, "scalding hot water". This hotel is overdue for refurbishing and updating. Hopefully, the owners will consider investing some of their income in bringing it up to date. Although they stated they had free internet, it did not pick up in our room. Only certain rooms were able to get the signal. There was not much of a common area to conduct business where the signal might be stronger.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicagotraveler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2009

Large group stayed for a number of days for a wedding in the Giffnock (south Glasgow)area. Hotel staff were all just wonderful attending to a myriad of small and large requests - all done with trademark Scottish good humour and courtesy. The hotel was comfortable and served us well for basic accommodation. Really appreciated the coffee, tea and hot chocolate and kettle in the room along with the shortbread cookies. Small rooms come with trouser press and hairdryer and complimentary soap and shampoo. Iron and ironing board available upon request. Would suggest equipping each room similarly...some had a shelf over sink, some didn't; some had towel bar, some towel ring (bar is better). Train to downtown is nearby. Direct line to taxi available...approx cost 12 pounds for 4 or 5 at this writing. Felt very safe when we propped our doors open and ran back and forth between rooms (we occupied up to 8 of the 17 rooms).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaAnalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

I booked into this hotel simply because I was going to see Coldplay at Hampden Park. This hotel is 3 train stops from Hampden and the journey takes 20 minutes door to door. Its a good hotel for that reason. Also on the plus side, the staff are very friendly and helpful. On the minus side, the hotel is very tired indeed and in need of a complete overhaul. Our room had no bedside tables, and was very warm. With the window open, an extractor fan made a terrible noise all night outside, so earplugs were essential. I would only use this hotel again for the location close to Hampden. Otherwise, avoid.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Great_Cornholio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glasgow
0.5 mi away
Orchard Park Hotel
Orchard Park Hotel
#65 of 95 in Glasgow
129 reviews
1.5 mi away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
605 reviews
2.8 mi away
Number 10 Hotel
Number 10 Hotel
#28 of 95 in Glasgow
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Parklands Hotel & Country Club
Parklands Hotel & Country Club
#2 of 2 in Newton Mearns
92 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
#6 of 7 in East Kilbride
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redhurst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redhurst Hotel

Property: Redhurst Hotel
Address: 27 Eastwoodmains Road | Giffnock, Glasgow G46 6QE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Redhurst Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Redhurst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redhurst Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing