We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consider sleeping in your rental car !” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redhurst Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Redhurst Hotel
Ranked #55 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consider sleeping in your rental car !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I travel the world on business, spending around 100 nights in hotels away from home. As I was home visiting family in Giffnock, I decided to book 2 nights at the Redhurst hotel. On arrival the room had a distinct musty smell, which did not disperse. I informed staff - but no remedy...The room needs condemned. I can only imagine that a cell in the local police station would be more comfortable. The room was freezing and heating did not work, so at 2am I went to Lobby to warm up...The room is featureless, no lamps, clock, headboard and furniture should be in a junk shop. Black mould in bathroom, broken shower head, grubby tiles and corroded fittings....thevlist goes on. Needless to say, I checked out next morning after complaining to booking.com (who did nothing). The hotel would not credit me back for my second night booked, quoting their ridiculous 24 hour cancellation policy,,,,, so not just a bad hotel, but Managemnt that lack any quality or guest care vision, Their need for my 60 pounds maybe greater than mine, goihg by the lack of investement in their property, they should be ashamed of themselves. Do yourself a favour and stay away. Personally, i'd rather sleep in my car.....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DRS65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley S, General Manager at Redhurst Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. The Hotels cancellation policy is 24hrs notice which was stated when you indicated that you may have to cancel your second night stay and unfortunately, no indication was given at this point regarding your dissatisfaction of your room. All rooms have had a light refurbishment with new carpets and decorated in neutral tones and with a 70% occupancy provide good value for money. Bookings.com agreed with the hotels policy and did not insist a refund. We have taken on board your comments and appreciate your time in posting this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    60
    31
    10
    6
See reviews for
58
50
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
169 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We were fortunate to be upgraded to a suite.
I canna speak too highly of all of the staff.no request was too hard.
there were some difficulties due to the current reorganising and refurbing oof the hotel....eg no phone or 'fridge in the room.....but this shouldn't detract from our overall experience which was excellent

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elwoodchiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I read a lot of reviews before staying here and was a little worried by what I read.
We stayed for 1 night, for a wedding reception.
The check in was quick and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. When we got to the room, it was basic. I wasn't expecting the Ritz. The bed was comfortable, the water was piping hot and the room was clean. My only downside was that they only had one pillow on the bed.
I would recommend this hotel. We didn't have time to stay for breakfast so I can't tell what this was like.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jimd1768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Had our wedding Reception in October and I can't fault the hotel. Both the organisation by Lorraine the wedding co-ordinator was excellent and the venue looked amazing and excellent value for money . The rooms were as described and had an excellent choice of tea coffee and hot chocolate.and the breakfast the next day was of the highest quality. I would definetly recommend this Hotel as a wedding reception venue or a party. The bar area was welcoming and the buffet was excellent at our wedding as many guests commented on this.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wully76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were very satisfied with the accommodations at the Redhurst Hotel...the room was clean and spacious, the shower had nice water pressure, and the beds were very comfortable. The staff were very nice and helpful, especially in light of the fact that there is no lift to the rooms. We ate in the pub and the meal was very good. It is close to the train station at Williamwood, but the platform has a lot of stairs and no ramp, so travel light. Ease of access to Glasgow and Edinburgh made this an ideal place for us to stay and the reasonable rates were the icing on the cake. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackylantern13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

You get what you pay for here. At £40 per room night it is inexpensive and that reflects the tired nature of the whole place. Our room was clean but needed a refurb - new matress and new bathroom suite particularly. I was told that the whole place (all 17 rooms) are due to be upgraded in the short term and when they are, this will be a good place to stay. I do hope they can do something about the bedroom doors too - the soft close mechanisms do not work so door slamming is the norm, and with thin walls you can get a disturbed nights sleep.

What is does have is an excellent staff - everyone was warm, friendly and helpful. And excellent WiFi for free in the main lobby area (pity not in the rooms, though). And the location about 300 metres from Williamwood rail station (20 minutes into Glasgow central - trains every 30 minutes) makes the City centre easily accessible. Opposite the station is a real good restaurant, Ian Browns. Highly recommended.

When the hotel completes its refurb programme, it will be recommendable - but for now better to avoid it!

Room Tip: Ask for one that has been refurbished, and on the back to avoid any road noise,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PLomond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Redhurst served our need for a hotel in Giffnock. The rooms were clean and most of the staff worked hard to be helpful. As other reviewers have said the hotel and everything in it could us an upgrade, especially the beds. If you are traveling by train with suitcases, don't use Williamwood station to get to the Redhurst - there are many, many stairs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glasgow
1.5 mi away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
4.9 mi away
Torrance Hotel
Torrance Hotel
#4 of 7 in East Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
7.4 mi away
Normandy Hotel
Normandy Hotel
#3 of 3 in Renfrew
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Lynnhurst Hotel
Lynnhurst Hotel
#1 of 1 in Johnstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
#6 of 7 in East Kilbride
3.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow Newton Mearns (M77 J4) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redhurst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redhurst Hotel

Property: Redhurst Hotel
Address: 27 Eastwoodmains Road | Giffnock, Glasgow G46 6QE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Redhurst Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Redhurst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redhurst Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing