We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby smelly apartment!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glasgow Central Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Shabby smelly apartment!”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were staying in the apartments for a special occasion, my birthday! When we arrived we were told the lift wasn't working but it would be working again in an hour. We struggled to get our luggage to the 6th floor. It's only the first two floors that are carpeted we were then met 4 floors of cold concrete flooring (look very cold and shabby). When we finally got to the 6th floor out of breath and in desperate need of a rest there was a smelly bins filled with dirty sheets and towels outside our room! (Not a nice welcome!) On entering the room there was a strong smell of curry it was a cold December day however we opened all the windows in an effort to get rid of this horrid smell. The cups and mugs in the cupboard were sticky an dirty. We decided to do a spot of shopping believing that by the time we get back the lift should be working as promised and hopefully the smell and bins would be removed. On return the bins were still outside our room the lift were still out of use and the smell of curry was still bad and our apartment was now very cold. We got ready to go out voicing our complaints we were given a number - the staff there didn't do anything for us or offer to clean over the room the excuse for the bins being outside our room was "oh but the lifts not working" and nothing was said about the smell or poor cleanliness. We only stayed 1 night the lift was not working-a broken promise ! when we left we had our luggage and shopping having to make two trips to get all our stuff downstairs on the way down there were black bin liners on every landing .... Again very smelly! We had a very unsettled night the apartment was cold having to keep the windows open- never helped the smell. The beds are tiny and not comfortable and i am only 5,2 !

On return we made sure we called to complain we were then asked to write an e-mail we were offer to stay at the same apartment with a small discount which was quickly declined! How this apartment gets a good rating I will never know. Good location however there are many other good apparent and hotels of the same price in the same area. I will be returning to Glasgow again in a few weeks and am most defiantly not staying in this apartment I would not recommend this apartment to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EmmaLdundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    79
    30
    13
    24
See reviews for
57
38
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed at the Glasgow Central apartments for a Friends Hen night. 3 of us stayed together in a 1 bedroom apartment with a twin bedroom and sofa bed in the living room area.

When we arrived we hadn’t organised parking with the apartments as we weren’t aware we had too but luckily we got a space in there secured underground parking which cost £10 extra but was brilliant for peace of mind that your car was safe and sound.

After a warm welcome from the receptionist we went upstairs to our apartment which was very spacious, modern, clean and had everything you need.
Check out was at 10a.m and as we were on a Hen night we requested a late check out at 12p.m which was easily arranged at £10 extra an hour, we were more than happy to pay this between 3 of us and thank god for it as we needed it…

The only minor downsides were that with 3 girls all getting ready together I, being the 3rd one, had to have a cold shower as they’re not electric and we’d run out of hot water and in the bedroom there was no dresser so no where to put anything. The lack of mirrors was a bit awkward too.

Overall I would highly recommend these apartments to people looking for a City break or for large groups such as birthday and hen parties, it’s very reasonably priced for such a central location, you can get parking on and there modern and clean, what more could you want.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lainieloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just what you need to support at a three day conference. Good clean modern flat effectively.
Tons of space to work, plug sockets everywhere for chargers etc. Wi Fi as well.
Sofas and bed comfortable and with self catering all good thing.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Oswald street are opposite the multi Storey Car Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norfolktraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

What a haven for a busy traveller!......great location, price and setup. The apartments are really well set up with modern washing machines/dryers, great bathrooms, kitchen is well stocked meaning you can cook up a feast. Its half a block from the main shopping district and is warm and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macsmith_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

These apartments are a 5 minute walk from the central station. The street is a bit rough though not bad enough to make me worried, but we were woken in the night by noise of "revellers".

They are spacious enough, I was in a 2 bedroom and did not feel cramped. One bedroom was large enough for a wardrobe and 2 bedside cupboards, the other had only one bedside cupboard as storage and the bed was up against one wall.

Kitchen kitted out with typical IKEA stuff, perfectly adequate and enough of everything. Didn't cook anything except toast and scrambled eggs so can't comment really on the facilities.

Staff helpful and polite, always smiled and said hello.

Stocked with tea, coffee and individual milk cartons which was nice.

Room Tip: get a room on a higher floor if you can, much less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d0cnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

1 word Location!!!!, this hotel is in a great location within glasgow. The main train station is a stones throw away from the hotel which is great if you are arriving by train. We had a one bed apartment which had ample room with a kitchen living room area, a bathroom and bedroom. the room was very clean and in a great condition. the staff were very friendly and helpful when you needed anything. It was nice to be in a hotel with so much room, and convenience to cook your own food etc. This hotel is perfectly located for shops, bars and restaurants all being just round the corner. I will def be staying here again next time i go to scotland!!!, there is a 10 pound charge for parking but this is reasonably considering were you are!!!!!, if you want a city break in a great location glasgow is the place with this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 weeks whilst working in Glasgow. I'd booked a 1 bed apartment and the first week I had a more spacious apartment with a dishwasher. The 2nd week I was given a smaller apartment with no dishwasher yet it was more expensive!?
Both apartments were very clean with everything I needed in the kitchen. As it was on a fairly busy street it was quite noisy with the windows open but this didn't bother me much.
The receptionist was very welcoming and helpful and I felt safe in the apartment even though the street was a bit rough. However it is a great location, just behind central station and an easy walk to the main shopping streets.
I would stay there again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mouse06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#31 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,194 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#68 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,770 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#26 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Central Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Central Apartments

Property: Glasgow Central Apartments
Address: 15/3 Oswald Street | (corporate office), Glasgow G1 4PD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glasgow Central Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glasgow Central Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Central Apartments Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Central Apartments Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing