We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than acceptable, pleasant stay!”
Review of The Ivory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ivory Hotel
Ranked #19 of 35 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed two nights for a wedding which was local and paid £40 per night. When i first arrived i can agree with one of the recent reviews, its looks like it could go a lick of paint and a good clean but when we got inside and checked in etc. we were happy. We stayed in room 1 and the bathroom was a bit of a downside, as i would say the showers need upgraded, but we were happy with it. Breakfast was good. All staff were nice and the location was great for us. Would recommend to anyone who doesn't see the hotel as the highlight of their stay, but does appreciate a nice place. The website says its a luxury hotel.. i think not, but very decent. Good value!

Room Tip: room 1 looked onto the car park and main road. Better view than some other reviewers and not too noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 150 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Just had one night here at a birthday party. It was horrible. The only good thing was that the rooms were quite big. Two double beds in my room. The view was a very messy flat roof and the backs of some scruffy neighbouring gardens. The carpets and curtains were really badly stained. The toilet didnt flush properly and the tiles in the bathroom were broken and cracked with grout missing and black mould patches. The lighting in the room was very dim as you had to keep the manky curtains shut as overlooking houses. One if the bedside lights didnt work. My friends room couldn't even draw the curtains as the dressing table is nailed to the floor or wall and their shower didnt work. Menu was good choice but poor quality.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nimbustoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed in this hotel for two nights my brother had booked it for us as he arrived there the week before ...to be honest my heart sank when i saw the hotel as we drove up to the entrance but as soon as we walked in the main door our minds were changed very quickly.

The staff were so friendly and helpful we could not fault them at all , the room was huge two big double beds for two people it was great. The room was a little shabby, bad paint work and tiles in bathroom not finished as well as they could of been but it was clean and tidy and the beds were comfy.

Food was really really good we really enjoyed the breakfast it was so tasty and presented very nicely. very relaxed athmoshere. we will definetly be staying at this hotel again. I would recomend to anyone who wants value for money, nice staff nice food and a comfy and clean bed for the night. young couple from ireland :)

Room Tip: corner room was fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I invited my friends for my 50th birthday booked them into the Ivory expecting it to be nice and clean but unfortunately no it wasnt.Why cant you have cereal and a cooked breakfast is what i want to no.The hotel has let me down i dont want my friends wasting their money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank shedevil49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We arrived to find it was connected to a pub with a birthday party in full swing.got to the room to find an empty juice bottle under the bed and a paper in the drawer.the noisy road kept us up most of the night and then again early in the morning.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandyfroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

my wife and i stayed here for four nights whilst my son was in the hospital for an operation .we arrived to find the stairs very dusty and the carpet in the room badly stained .we proceeded into the bathroom to find a bad smell of like bleach,the toilet was covered in urine and the sink pedestal had a long black stain down it.The bath tiles and shower curtain covered in damp with no non slip mat on floor after shower .the shower was connected to taps and was almost impossible to regulate ,both hot and cold taps had hot water coming out ,you either got roasted or foundered.THE skirting board was covered in dust and pubic hair ,the fire escape was blocked with bags of laundry and step ladders which would of been impassable in the event of a fire.Dinning area was a conservatory which was stinking with dust covering the strobe lighting and extractor fan ,also the blinds above on the ceiling .we were met by a large slatter crawling along the dinning room floor on our first visit .The staff were all young and disorganised and for the four days we were there never once was any cleaning done .cleaning of the toilet consisted of green cleaner poured down it there wasn't even a toilet brush in bathroom .all in all would not recommend this so called hotel.IT WAS DISGUSTING

Room Tip: To choose a good room go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank davy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Staff on arrival were friendly and efficient. The room was large with 2 double beds. Fluff on the carpet was off putting. one window didn't close and room was noisy from passing traffic because of this. The bathroom was dated and the shower curtain was disgusting, covered in black mould. Breakfast was ok, however I was unable to have cereal and a cooked breakfast!

Room Tip: choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank audbodFifeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Number 10 Hotel
#29 of 93 in Glasgow
802 reviews
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#68 of 93 in Glasgow
1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivory Hotel

Address: 2-4 Camphill Avenue, Glasgow G41 3AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range: $62 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ivory Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Ivory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ivory Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing