We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE! Disgusting!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
38 Bath Street Serviced Apartments
Ranked #33 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Glasgow
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE! Disgusting!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We got to the apartment around 8am (check-in is at 3pm) so we figured we'd just drop our luggage off until the proper check-in time (as most hotels/serviced apartements offer) and explore Glasgow. When we got to the front of the complex, the door was unlocked. This didn't seem unusual at the time because how else would we have got in? We went into the lobby expecting to see a receiption of some kind...but nothing. Just an empty desk with a note on it indicating someone would be there for 8am (although a previous guest had written over it saying 9am was more accurate). We called the number on our reservation confirmation to see what was up with that. We spoke with a man who told us someone would be there for 3pm, or 'maybe' the cleaning lady would be able to let us in as she would be arriving between 10am and 11am. We were flabbergasted. No one to greet us, no where to check-in...NOTHING! Two of us had to wait with the luggage while the other two went out and used the toilet at a local resturant and then rotated. The cleaning lady eventually showed up around 11am and was thankfully able to let us in. We thought that would be the worst of our experience. Unfortunately it wasn't. While speaking with locals of Glasgow, we soon learned that these apartments are frequented by local young 'gentlemen' who need a place to crash after a while night out on the town. Each morning we would wake up to an increased mess in the hallways. Picture this - vomit, garbage, broken lamps, and even...wait for it...FECES! Yes, human feces. The smell was unreal. We were there over a weekend, and for whatever reason the cleaning lady doesn't come on Friday, Saturday or Sunday. Why, I have no idea. The halls should be cleaned every day, especially if they're used to these unruly kids causing such mess and damage. The front lobby was a disaster. The lamp was broken, there was slashes in the leather couches and whoever created all the damage left a note on the front desk that said "Sorry!" and left various types of candy, and a half eaten order of fries as 'payment'. We couldn't really believe what we were seeing.

The location is excellent as we were a couple of minutes from Buchanan Street, which is a pedestrian only roadway lined with shops. The room itself wasn't bad. It wasn't very clean, but it was very large. I didn't feel safe there, though, due to all the night activity that was taking place. In my opinion, what's to stop one of these kids from breaking into one of the rooms if they don't care about damaging the property of others.

Take my advice, stay somewhere else! Anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LovetoTravel1984665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    27
    15
    11
    24
See reviews for
24
36
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Skip the haunted Glasgow tours - stay at 38 Bath Street. From the moment we made the reservations, we knew that there was something not quite normal going on. Email bounces, No call backs, no confirmations, until the day of our arrival. We came in quite late on the train from London, so by the time we arrived, it was dark and deserted at the 38 Bath St. The building itself is stunning, Architecturally interesting with large columns, high ceilings and dark hallways.

We got the elusive door code, but the front door was open when we arrived at around 10 pm. Not a soul around. Our keys were waiting, and the apartment was much larger than I expected. Apt 4-1 is massive for a city center property. It was furnished nicely, but clearly has been inhabited by poltergeists.

Approximately 1/2 of all the lightbulbs in the apartment were missing. The mystery of the washer-dryer has yet to be solved. Heated towel racks turn off and on mysteriously.

And, there is definitely a body buried under the hallway. When you step over it, there is only the thin carpet between your foot and a deep dark hole.

We met one other guest and she said she hadnt seen any staff in 6 days. There were a few email messages from a person named "Frank" but other than that, the place appeared to be abandoned. Perhaps the spirits of former staff still haunt the beautifully appointed front desk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AkamaiFreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

The apartment itself was very good, although the sockets in kitchen did not work, could not use
the toaster or kettle. The biggest gripe we had was that we tried to gain access at 3pm we rang the servi e bell for 20mins it was only the kindness of a fellow guest
that we got in and got our apartment key. On leaving shortly after was very casually informed of the code in. By the way DID NOT get information pack sent either by email or normal post.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank patrick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

What a disappointment. Someone has clearly spent a lot of money doing these apartments up with good quality furnishings and finishes. How sad therefore that the current maintenance regime renders it all a waste. Apartment No 2 on the 1st floor was the one allocated to us for a 3 night stay in May. Big rooms, mezzanine level dining area, high ceilings, quality kitchen etc. looked at first to be really good, and all would have been well but for the many minor issues such as halogen down lighters hanging out of their fittings, bulbs not working or missing, bathroom fan not working, radiators needing bleeding, carpets stained, furniture damaged beyond repair, no instructions for anything (not even Wi-Fi connection), poor selection of cutlery, very few items of crockery, no supply of toilet rolls; the list is endless. The bathroom was equipped with a pedal bin whose lid was ripped off and just leant against the wall; the bath sealant looked like it had been daubed on with a broken stick.
None of these issues could possibly have been invisible to the cleaning staff or maintenance. Even reporting some to the “reception” had no effect. One has to wonder how much they actually care about customers.
The two worst aspects however were security and safety. Security is commented on in other reviews, the outer door to the street is literally unlocked and ajar and anyone can wander in off the street to an unmanned desk and onward to the rooms. The vandalism in Reception is clear demonstration that this is not mere speculation. As for safety, we saw plenty of fire extinguisher brackets but not a single extinguisher. Surely that’s illegal?
We couldn't recommend anyone stay here until they get their act together.

Room Tip: Want a good room here? Choose somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick_Butler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We got an appartment on 3rd floor. Overall it was dirty and smelled of tabacco, even though it was signed NO SMOKING. The carpets were dirty, so were blinds, and the walls. As if a group of very careless and untidy people spent there a few months smoking, spilling drinks and smudging walls with their macky hands whenever passing by. yuck! My daughter is 1 year old and we could not let her crawl around on the stained and smelly floors. The staff was friendly and helpful, that's the only plus. They moved us to a different appartment next day (there wasn't any left the night before), but this one wasn't much better either. I assume that all the positive reviews come from previous years, when everything was nice and fresh. It certainly wasn't in 2013. My advice: if you have to stay there at least ask to see your room before moving into it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellebrownmax, General Manager at 38 Bath Street Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your review of our apartments and I am sorry that you did not enjoy the first night of your stay but I am pleased to see that you were moved to another as soon as possible. All of our apartments are non-smoking and this we rigorously monitor and enforce and they are cleaned and checked prior to a guest arriving. You will see from the recent reviews below that the apartments are recommended for their cleanliness as well as the quality of the accommodation and I would assure you that were you to stay with us again, which I hope that you will in the future, you would be more than happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had reviews before staying here and was a bit nervous because of some negative reviews but please ignore these as these apartments are fantastic from the staff to location everything is spot on. Rooms are gorgues decor is very modern. The rooms where also spotless and very spacious. Central to all glasgow to from station to nightlife would certainley stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamespn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellebrownmax, General Manager at 38 Bath Street Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Max Bath Street Apartments. We work hard to ensure all guests enjoy their time with us and we are proud of our city centre locations and apartment benefits. Thank you also for the praise of the staff who appreciate your comments and of whom we are proud. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for choosing MAX.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubertus, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

My daughter is 9 years old and we spent a week in Glasgow for the 2013 All-Scotland Irish Dance Championships. Morven & Scott who were our hosts were FABULOUS! They couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. The apartments were modern, spacious, and above all CLEAN! The apartments are centrally located so you are within walking distance of everything from restaurants, shopping, train & bus stations and even church for Sunday Worship! I wish that they managed properties in the states as their accommodations and service are second to none! Love, love, loved it :)

Room Tip: We only spent our time in a one-bedroom apartment so we can't speak for other locations. Howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellebrownmax, General Manager at 38 Bath Street Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback and I am pleased that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay at Max Bath Street Apartments. We work hard to ensure all guests enjoy their time with us and we are proud of our city centre locations and know that the apartments are perfect for families. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for choosing MAX.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Carlton George Hotel
#20 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#35 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Glasgow Loft Apartments
Glasgow Loft Apartments
#66 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
City Centre
PREMIER SUITES PLUS Glasgow
Merchant City
The Spires Serviced Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 38 Bath Street Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 38 Bath Street Serviced Apartments

Property: 38 Bath Street Serviced Apartments
Address: 38 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 1HG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 38 Bath Street Serviced Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
38 Bath Street serviced apartments Glasgow elegantly combine the luxury and comfort of a leading hotel with the flexibility and convenience of self catering. Located in the heart of Glasgow’s thriving centre it is ideally suited to both business and leisure travellers. With a selection of one and two bedroom apartments on offer we can accommodate any length of stay from 1 day to 1 year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your 38 Bath Street Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
38 Bath Street Serviced Apartments Hotel Glasgow
38 Bath Street Serviced Apartments Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing