We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serviced??? We don't think so”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
38 Bath Street Serviced Apartments
Ranked #32 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Glasgow
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Serviced??? We don't think so”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

What a disappointment. Someone has clearly spent a lot of money doing these apartments up with good quality furnishings and finishes. How sad therefore that the current maintenance regime renders it all a waste. Apartment No 2 on the 1st floor was the one allocated to us for a 3 night stay in May. Big rooms, mezzanine level dining area, high ceilings, quality kitchen etc. looked at first to be really good, and all would have been well but for the many minor issues such as halogen down lighters hanging out of their fittings, bulbs not working or missing, bathroom fan not working, radiators needing bleeding, carpets stained, furniture damaged beyond repair, no instructions for anything (not even Wi-Fi connection), poor selection of cutlery, very few items of crockery, no supply of toilet rolls; the list is endless. The bathroom was equipped with a pedal bin whose lid was ripped off and just leant against the wall; the bath sealant looked like it had been daubed on with a broken stick.
None of these issues could possibly have been invisible to the cleaning staff or maintenance. Even reporting some to the “reception” had no effect. One has to wonder how much they actually care about customers.
The two worst aspects however were security and safety. Security is commented on in other reviews, the outer door to the street is literally unlocked and ajar and anyone can wander in off the street to an unmanned desk and onward to the rooms. The vandalism in Reception is clear demonstration that this is not mere speculation. As for safety, we saw plenty of fire extinguisher brackets but not a single extinguisher. Surely that’s illegal?
We couldn't recommend anyone stay here until they get their act together.

Room Tip: Want a good room here? Choose somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick_Butler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    27
    15
    11
    24
See reviews for
24
36
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We got an appartment on 3rd floor. Overall it was dirty and smelled of tabacco, even though it was signed NO SMOKING. The carpets were dirty, so were blinds, and the walls. As if a group of very careless and untidy people spent there a few months smoking, spilling drinks and smudging walls with their macky hands whenever passing by. yuck! My daughter is 1 year old and we could not let her crawl around on the stained and smelly floors. The staff was friendly and helpful, that's the only plus. They moved us to a different appartment next day (there wasn't any left the night before), but this one wasn't much better either. I assume that all the positive reviews come from previous years, when everything was nice and fresh. It certainly wasn't in 2013. My advice: if you have to stay there at least ask to see your room before moving into it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellebrownmax, General Manager at 38 Bath Street Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your review of our apartments and I am sorry that you did not enjoy the first night of your stay but I am pleased to see that you were moved to another as soon as possible. All of our apartments are non-smoking and this we rigorously monitor and enforce and they are cleaned and checked prior to a guest arriving. You will see from the recent reviews below that the apartments are recommended for their cleanliness as well as the quality of the accommodation and I would assure you that were you to stay with us again, which I hope that you will in the future, you would be more than happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had reviews before staying here and was a bit nervous because of some negative reviews but please ignore these as these apartments are fantastic from the staff to location everything is spot on. Rooms are gorgues decor is very modern. The rooms where also spotless and very spacious. Central to all glasgow to from station to nightlife would certainley stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamespn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellebrownmax, General Manager at 38 Bath Street Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Max Bath Street Apartments. We work hard to ensure all guests enjoy their time with us and we are proud of our city centre locations and apartment benefits. Thank you also for the praise of the staff who appreciate your comments and of whom we are proud. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for choosing MAX.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubertus, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My daughter is 9 years old and we spent a week in Glasgow for the 2013 All-Scotland Irish Dance Championships. Morven & Scott who were our hosts were FABULOUS! They couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. The apartments were modern, spacious, and above all CLEAN! The apartments are centrally located so you are within walking distance of everything from restaurants, shopping, train & bus stations and even church for Sunday Worship! I wish that they managed properties in the states as their accommodations and service are second to none! Love, love, loved it :)

Room Tip: We only spent our time in a one-bedroom apartment so we can't speak for other locations. Howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellebrownmax, General Manager at 38 Bath Street Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback and I am pleased that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay at Max Bath Street Apartments. We work hard to ensure all guests enjoy their time with us and we are proud of our city centre locations and know that the apartments are perfect for families. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for choosing MAX.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our stay at 38 Bath Street was amazing. The apartments are spacious, clean and reasonably priced. They are also only a few blocks away from the Royal Glasgow Theater and Buchanan Street. The bus station is only about 4 blocks away and there is a bus stop right across from the entrance to the apartments. If you are traveling and need to exchange money, the "Money Shop" is right around the corner with no fees. We loved having a kitchen, and did make meals rather than eat out all the time. I am picky about the shower head and the stream of water when I am traveling, and had no problem with taking a shower at 38 Bath. Large towels, too!

Morven & Scott run the apartments and I do not think you will find anyone more attentive. They were so helpful, and if they did not know an answer to a question we had, they found out the answer and quickly relayed it to us! Morven & Scott helped make our trip to Glasgow and Scotland memorable. Very friendly and personable. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellebrownmax, General Manager at 38 Bath Street Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad that the apartment and our staff made your stay a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and thank you for choosing Max.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

These apts are amazing i was over the moon with how modern the decor is and the location is spot on for nightlife and resteraunts it was perfect for my boyfriend and I. I will be recommending these apts to anyone and everyone the staff are great and the rooms gorjus!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie19_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellebrownmax, General Manager at 38 Bath Street Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Max. Your comments on the staff are greatly appreciated by them and Im glad they were able to be apart of making your stay so special. We work hard to ensure all guests enjoy their time with us and we are proud of our city centre locations and apartment benefits and as you noted the location is amazing being so central. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for choosing MAX.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed here for 2 month due to work relocation and the service I received was tremendous I couldn't have asked for any more. The apartment was clean and fresh the day i arrived and the staff always cleaned my apartment once a week and the staff always made sure my stay was comfortable. Great location would recommend these apartments as the best in Glasgow as Max-Serviced and Staff at 38 bath street really make you feel at home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtbcleaning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellebrownmax, General Manager at 38 Bath Street Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Max Bath Street Glasgow. We work hard to ensure all guests enjoy their stay with us and we are proud of our city centre locations and apartment benefits. We take great care to make all guests feel welcome, especially our longer stay guests and we make sure that they feel at home and comfortable whilst enjoying a little luxury. I am so glad that you felt this and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for choosing MAX.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Glasgow Loft Apartments
Glasgow Loft Apartments
#67 of 95 in Glasgow
366 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Point A Hotel
#12 of 49 in Glasgow
1 reviews
Merchant City
The Spires Serviced Suites
City Centre
PREMIER SUITES PLUS Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 38 Bath Street Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 38 Bath Street Serviced Apartments

Property: 38 Bath Street Serviced Apartments
Address: 38 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 1HG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 38 Bath Street Serviced Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
38 Bath Street serviced apartments Glasgow elegantly combine the luxury and comfort of a leading hotel with the flexibility and convenience of self catering. Located in the heart of Glasgow’s thriving centre it is ideally suited to both business and leisure travellers. With a selection of one and two bedroom apartments on offer we can accommodate any length of stay from 1 day to 1 year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your 38 Bath Street Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
38 Bath Street Serviced Apartments Hotel Glasgow
38 Bath Street Serviced Apartments Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing