We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Georgian House
Nearby Hotels
$320
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Glasgow Marriott Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$308
$238
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Glasgow(Glasgow)
$278
$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$253
$211
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jurys Inn Glasgow(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
$143
$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$290
$245
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Central Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
$161
$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$221
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$164
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveler rating
34
43
22
28
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
43
22
28
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbotanic gardensbigger roomashton laneexcellent locationsingle roomvisit glasgowbed was comfortableuniversitygig
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 169 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Could be amazing, excellent position. We had quiet room at the back. Breakfast was disappointing. Towels weren't changed every day, also only given one each, sheets not changed the entire week. A lot of work seemed to be expected from one member of staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

At £22 per head for a room in central Glasgow our expectations were not high and the absence of anyone to open the hotel door didn't bode well. In the event the hotel was full and we were offered the use of the flat next door. It was lovely- kitchen with a rather odd mezzanine above, a truly enormous sitting room with space enough for three settees, chairs, TV, coffee table, our double bed (with fresh linen) and still maintain a v spacious feel. There was a basic bathroom with some hot water issues, and the Saturday night road noise was pretty loud to our country ears despite the lovely wooden shutters.
More picky guests might not have liked the damaged lino in the bathroom and the chair with the dodgy leg, but we were delighted to have so much space. The breakfast in the hotel next day was basic but perfectly adequate and the lone staff member very friendly. Great for travellers on a budget.

Room Tip: ask to stay in the flat!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Arrived at 18.00 to find nobody at 'home' and stood on the doorstep for an hour waiting for the manager to return... Then given a twin room instead of the double booked... The room in the basement did not have any windows, they were blocked by shutters which i could not open. The bathroom was unclean and the towel like sandpaper...The once excellent continental is now a shadow of what it was...seems that they do not care any more... the last maanger having left...sorry but can no longer reccomend the place and will nto be back...what a shame

Room Tip: room at the back and not in the basement
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank CTHTravelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgianhouse1000, Owner at The Georgian House, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Honestly what do you expect. You pay little you get cheap.
We are a Budget hotel. Get real.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Despite some of the negative reviews we read here we thought we would give it a try as wanted to be near the Byers Road. We were not disappointed from the minute we booked in till we booked out! We found this place spotless, the breakfast was in abundance with lovely quality various pastries/cooked meats and cheese fresh rolls/bread. We felt the quality was very good. despite someone saying they had Iceland yogurts, simply not true. We are returning in the new year. Virginia could not be more helpful with a cheery disposition. Thanks again,

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lunis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights whilst visiting Glasgow. The Georgian house is in a nice area of Glasgow with lots of nice restaurants locally and is well served by the metro if you want to get into the center.
Unfortunately the former elegance of this Georgian residence has passed once you get beyond the entrance hall.
Our room on the first floor next to the breakfast room was very narrow only leaving approx 6" from the end of the bed to the wall the rest of the room was filled with the cheapest pine furniture imaginable that was falling apart the bathroom was tacky & in a very bad state
Breakfast was a do it yourself job (there is a kettle boil some water if you want some coffee) it was poor by any standard.
Parking was available round the back for up to 4 cars but beware any large will struggle to get in.
Would I use this place again? Only if the horses from hell dragged me there.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
12  Thank Rodders27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews