We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Hotel But Very Noisey”
Review of The Georgian House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Georgian House
Ranked #31 of 35 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Hotel is OK for the price - quite nice decor, and great location. If you do book though, please ask for a room at the back as the ones at the front are extremely noisy, being on Great Western Road - one of the busiest roads in Glasgow, and there is no double or secondary glazing. I had put a review on Booking.com as I had asked for a quiet room but had booked at short notice, and when I arrived - there weren't any quiet rooms. The person who responded on this website was very sarcastic saying "You booked the day before and Surprise Surprise... there were no quiet rooms left. We suggest you book in advance in future!" No need for sarcasm like that considering I didn't even get one hours sleep, and quite often it is not possible to book in advance. I am trying to give a fair review here. I imagine I am not the only one to complain about the noise.

Room Tip: Have put average value due to the noise of the front facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elainebrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 167 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

Worst hotel and service I have ever experienced in my entire life. Arrived early to be told to move our car from the present position as the receptionist (Basil Fawlty's twin) parked there. Got in at 16.00 to be told the owner was trying to sell and had lost interest and should have ran then but decided to make the best of a bad lot and boy was the room a bad lot. West End of Glasgow was right as were nearly sleeping in the street. Asked for a move to be told they were full and that was his best joke of the day. Still being the eternal optimist stayed for two hours and left.
Think Basil and the no longer interested own we must have written the reviews
Sum up in a word and can only think of one

DUMP

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgianhouse1000, Manager at The Georgian House, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Sadly this couple were not the normal standard of guest we have at The Georgian House(Thank goodness).
They did not complain about any item when checking in even when asked there was a problem.They asked for another room but only on the pretense of some made up illness.They had booked at the last moment so there was no alternative. Could this be why the room cost so little.

This complaint i assume started when they were asked to stop swearing. They also had an attitude and extremly rough appearance and smelled strongly of alcohol (i hope i am building a picture here).These guests also left a strange odor in the room that i am sure could be helped with soap and water.
All in all i am sure potential guests will understand the type of personality that these guests had. How glad we are they will not be returning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Spent 5 nights here,great service, great location, lovely self contained room, what really stands out for me is the extremely friendly Gordon. Cheap rates too and I really couldn't ask for more! Parking is at the rear of the hotel, easy to find location with lots of places to eat and drink within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yowiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgianhouse1000, Manager at The Georgian House, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, Hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was our very first night of a tour of Scotland with our little border collie, Megan. We were horribly late because of train delays but this was no problem at all for Gordon. He really was the most wonderful warm welcome we were looking for on our arrival late night in mid-winter Glasgow. Despite the time, he took us through all our options for things to do that night, with good local knowledge of where we could find dog-friendly establishments locally. Nothing was too much trouble and we really felt like we were staying with friends. The room was warm and comfortable and specially selected for us so that we could nip out the back door when Meg needed to go out. Good value and great location, a stone's throw from some very cool nightspots in the West End. We will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed here a few months ago with a girl friend to visit another friend of ours. We booked a hotel last minute, never been to Glasgow before and didn't know what to expect. We booked a twin room and it was a very good price.
First of all we arrived late as we drove a long way and the traffic in parts was awful. I called the hotel to say would would be late for check in and asked if there'd be anyone to let us in so late (we weren't hopeful) the man who answered the phone was extremely helpful and kind and personally stayed late just to welcome us and let us in! When we got there we met Gordon, the man from the phone. Well, what a character! There was on site parking at the hotel and Gordon is hilarious. He was so welcoming, showed us to our room, carried our bags, even helped us to park. He told us all about the area, transport, shops, places to visit etc. when he showed us out room we were shocked, it was really beautiful!! We had a double bed and a single bed, huge Georgian windows, beautifully decorated, big bathroom with bath and shower. Couldn't fault it at all. Breakfast was lovely. As described, continental breakfast I closing breads, meats, cheeses, yoghurts, juices etc etc. Gordon even kept the breakfast room open a little longer noticing that we'd slept in a bit. Really couldn't ask for more, ha a great stay. Fantastic service, would definitely recommend it to others and would definitely go back there!! Ps, it's close to lots of cool bars, within walking distance, we really had a great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgianhouse1000, Manager at The Georgian House, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you . Your comments are appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Regularly stay on business trips, always made to feel at home, Gordon the manager could not do more.
Everything to hand locally (bars, restaurants etc)
Rooms are large, clean and most with en-suite, beds comfortable, I would not keep going back if not really happy with the service provided.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IanBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgianhouse1000, Manager at The Georgian House, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Really kind of you to leave such nice comments . Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The photos are misleading, seems to be a simple and nice place but in reality is an horrible and old place that need of urgent works.
The manager/only employed/probably owner, has the craze that is funny, make jokes and have behaviors unreasonable.
The hotel is very noisy, it's impossible to sleep. The mattress is very bad. The windows didn't close properly
It's an old place without security plan or emergency exits, only a huge and dangerous ladder. Need of renovation urgent!
The bathroom is very degraded, the paint of the ceiling is peeling, the doors seem to have been collected in the garbage, old, patched, without paint, bath towels too small, only one hand towel, no amenities. Cleanliness is horrible.
The breakfast room and the presentation itself, is very unprofessional and questionable quality and hygiene. The breakfast is not very inviting. There are no forks!
It's not a good value for money, there are cheaper places much better than this one, we don't recomend for anyone!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Micaxouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgianhouse1000, Manager at The Georgian House, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

Sadly i remember these guests well.
Not only were they asked to refrain from smoking in there room but they were asked to stop disturbing other guests. I was also asked by a guest at breakfast to open the window due to a lack of personnel hygiene on there behalf.
Our emergency exits are clearly planned as are our fire drills (each room has a fire evaluation plan). Security is enhanced by CCTV and a member of staff is here all night in case of emergencies.
Our cleanliness as noted by other reviews is excellent and breakfast is freshly prepared daily..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Amadeus Guest House
#4 of 35 in Glasgow
334 reviews
West End
Argyll Western Hotel
Argyll Western Hotel
#3 of 35 in Glasgow
376 reviews
South Side
Crosshill House
Crosshill House
#13 of 35 in Glasgow
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seton Guest House
#24 of 35 in Glasgow
80 reviews
Number 52 Charlotte Street
#15 of 35 in Glasgow
31 reviews
West End
Argyll Guest House
Argyll Guest House
#8 of 35 in Glasgow
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian House

Address: 29 Buckingham Terrace | Great Western Rd, Glasgow G12 8ED, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range: $63 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Georgian House 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Georgian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgian House Hotel Glasgow
The Georgian House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing