We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Georgian building with very helpful manager” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Georgian House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Georgian House
Ranked #33 of 38 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Georgian building with very helpful manager”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

My wife and I come up to Glasgow regularly for shopping trips and have stayed at several hotels/bed and breakfasts. The Georgian House is ideally situated at the top of Byres Road, perfect for eating out and with good transport links into the city centre.

Gordon the manager was extremely helpful and friendly and amazingly cheerful considering he runs the place on his own. We had a self catering room on the second floor and although there are a lot of stairs the room was airy, very clean with the most comfortable bed we have ever come across in a hotel or B&B. The furniture in the room was slightly shabby and needs some upgrading, however, despite this we had a very comfortable stay.The bathroom was large with a bath and shower over and plenty of hot water. The room also had a fridge, microwave and cooker so we were able to cook one meal.
There is free parking at the rear of the hotel which is a major benefit as we always drive to Glasgow.
Our room was at the rear of the property which had a wonderful view of the Kibble Palace in Botantic Gardens.
Only downside was the slightly shabby furniture. With an injection of cash to upgrade this hotel would be absolutely perfect. We will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the building are quieter. If you have trouble with stairs ask for a room at gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    41
    21
    23
    34
See reviews for
20
57
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is a fantastic find - a brilliant location, very pleasant rooms with real charm and character, great breakfast and very helpful proprietor. all at an unbelievably good price. Strongly recommended - I came for a business stay but enjoyed it so much I'll come back for leisure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Great value for a reasonable price.
The host was nice and helpful.
The room was absolutely fabulous. I love the big bathroom!
Free wifi and parking.
Breakfast was ok.
Location was good, not far from the City centre. Bus stop was right in front of the hotel. Near a lot of pubs, bars and super markets. There was a lovely park next to the hotel and a very nice water fall behind it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twee_Nguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

We needed a reasonably priced, comfortable hotel in a good location for a work trip - and I am really glad that we came across The Georgian House. It was warm and clean, with free WifI and parking (makes the price of the stay even more reasonable!). The rooms we had were generous sizes and the 'continental' breakfast was good. I also couldn't fault the hard work and warm welcome that we received from the manager. If you're looking for 5* luxury accomodation, this probably isn't the place for you; but if you want a nice comfortable stay in a central location for a good price, then I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claire842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

The stairs were a killer when you're hauling heavy luggage. Not easy to find due to poor directions in the B&B book. Parking outback was interesting. Only place that we weren't served a full Scottish breakfast, but what they did supply was good. Rooms were clean and charming, but the street noise kept you up. The highlight of the stay was the host, he was entertaining and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sylvia_Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

The manager was incredibly rude and condescending when arrived and during two unfortunate interactions during my stay. When I attempted to check out, he simply ignored me. I waited a while and finally the housekeeper helped me check out. The breakfast was narrowly passable. The mattress desperately needed to be replaced as I could feel and see the coils sticking out. Overall, just avoid the Georgian House.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ann25_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgianhouse1000, Manager at The Georgian House, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
I am seriously unsure if this person was actually a guest. We do not have a check out procedure as such this is all covered on arrival. Also there is no housekeeper and we do not have coils in the bed. Yes and the rude part is also part of their imagination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed in Room 7 the "self catering" room which reminded me of a shabby bedsit. we were hardly there so didnt mind to much but even at £50 for the the night I couldnt even say it was good value for what you paid for.

Found the manager quite pleasant and he seemed similarly well mannered when I heard him talking to other guests.

Location is ideal and parking was free.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dave_fo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#73 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#72 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#70 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
West End
Argyll Western Hotel
Argyll Western Hotel
#3 of 38 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian House

Property: The Georgian House
Address: 29 Buckingham Terrace | Great Western Rd, Glasgow G12 8ED, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Georgian House 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Georgian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgian House Hotel Glasgow
The Georgian House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing