We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Willow Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Glasgow Marriott Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$319
$266
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$307
$256
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$253
$211
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Glasgow(Glasgow)
$316
$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$290
$245
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jurys Inn Glasgow(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Central Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
$166
$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$163
$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$221
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
4
21
33
24
82
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
21
33
24
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice breakfastbreakfast was includedtown centrestayed here for one nightwee
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 164 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The decor was bolted to the walls, the carpet was smelly, the top sheets were missing, the previous guest's garbage was left in our room. I hardly slept. The internet didn't work. The service was pretty friendly but it didn't make up for the surprisingly bad experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Maybe it was our own fault, having come from a great B&B in Inverness, but arriving at Willow Hotel was a chock.

It was a long uphill climb from the bus station to get there, and once there, we were showed to a room with smashed insects on the wall and no top sheets on the bed, which didn't look to clean. The bathroom had definitely not been cleaned before our arrival, and only had towels for one. The carped looked dirty as well and had an imprint of an iron in it.

The beds were comfortable enough, but the walls of the hotel are paper-thin, so we could hear everything happening next door and outside.

Breakfast was served very efficient, but was bordering on disgusting. Tinned beans and tinned tomatoes served with fat greasy bacon and a burned sausage. The eggs and toast were okay, and the coffee was surprisingly good.

The staff was impossible to get a smile from, and looked at us mostly like we were a nuisance. It's not an expensive place, so if you just need a bed, it's okay. However, if you want comfort, this is not your place.

This is not a place I'll be coming back to.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there is a best room to get, but the rooms on the back of the hotel are quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JesinFredericia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Yes, you can walk from the train station - it's all uphill, and bumpy side-walks. You do get to walk past the Art School, so that's cool if you're a MacKintosh fan.
We booked ahead and arrived late - what do you know - they had no record of our reservation. We were put into a room that was small, musty - a bed with no top sheet [just a comforter which I doubt was washed for every guest] the water glass in the bedroom was filthy. The carpeting was disgusting.
My husband returned to the desk clerk who moved us to a larger room, yet same yucky carpeting, beds [no sheets], etc.
We slept in our clothes on top of our coats. We did use the bathroom which was okay - and skipped breakfast altogether. The noise on the street was non-stop - shouting drunks and police stops... not the hotel's fault.
Was it a good value for money? No. Were we expecting too much? No. Okay, it wasn't hundreds of dollars, but it was pretty grotty. NEVER again.

Room Tip: there are no best rooms
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank schimmelart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Booking through an agency, my single room B&B cost £31.50, which represents first class value for a hotel literally in the next street to the famous Sauchiehall Street in the city centre; it is a 15 minute walk from Glasgow Central Railway Station. Check-in was efficient, and my room, 25, was spotlessly clean. The room had a double bed and a single, I slept in the single, which was very comfortable, and I enjoyed a good night's sleep. The small bathroom included a shower, toilet and washbasin, and was well lit, and there was a television, and tea/coffee facilities, which I did not use. . There was also a small work area where a laptop computer etc could be used. .

The breakfast was freshly prepared (no tired buffet here) and included a fried egg, sausage, beans, tomato and bacon, plus toast, orange juice and tea/coffee for those who wanted it.

Overall I can recommend this establishment for anyone desiring accommodation in central Glasgow that offers a good night's sleep and a first class breakfast.... all for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WilliamRead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

the guest house was cheaper than all the b @ bs we had just stayed at during our weeks holiday in scotland.for a city centre accommodation it was a budget price with no frills. the bed sunk in the middle,the carpet was grotty and the the boy racers on renfrew st blazed away during the night. the breakfast was good even though the porridge was more like soup. never again.

Room Tip: ask the owner.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EnglandTammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews