We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of The Howlin' Wolf

The Howlin' Wolf
Ranked #147 of 2,428 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Fab food and excellent service, we both had the burgers and they were delicious as we're the skin in fries.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anniee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    70
    17
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If you like the blues, here's your new establishment!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I had heard really great things about this place through a couple of friends. I was sold at the description of "for lovers of soul, blues, homemade food and live music" so me and a friend decided to give it a try.
First things first: when you walk down the stairs, the entrance is the FIRST door after you step off the stairs, lol. This sounds ridiculous but me and about 5 others after me all stood pawing at the windows like mime artists for about 10 seconds before finding the door. So, aye, best to avoid doing that.
Once inside, the first thing that hit me was the music. It's fantastic. By blues, don't expect zeppelin, skynyrd and the like, although, I'm sure they are played from time to time (no bad thing at all!). I heard BB King, Muddy Waters, Willie Dixon and Elmore James during my visit. So refreshing so be able to sit in a bar with a drink listening to music this great. If you are into blues obviously. Like I say, if you are, you will love it. The bar itself isn't your usual rock bar fare. It's not dark and dirty with band merch plastering walls. It's actually really nice inside with a good selection of drinks (no red stag though - would have been a personal preference!). Food looked great. I'd already eaten, but my friend had a full Scottish pizza (haggis, black pudding, bacon and a fried egg) and it looked awesome. He said it tasted it as well. Definitely get bigger than the smallest though because it was pretty small.
Live music started, I think, about 9pm. The sound was great. Not too loud that it drowned out conversation and was off putting but also loud enough to really notice and enjoy. The band playing that night consisted of a singer with acoustic guitar and a lead electric guitarist with the drummer playing a cajone I think. They sounded fantastic, real classic bluesy sound. Lead guitarist in particular was fantastic. They were called hot tin roof. If the quality of live music is always as good then that's a bonus as we'll.
Overall, I went with high expectations and it did not disappoint. Will definitely be back (again and again more than likely.) Worth noting as well that the service was brilliant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank alandaly85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A blues bar that doesn't give you the blues!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great venue - down stairs in Bath Street. Terrific drinks selection - including some lethal cocktails. Excellent and attentive service. Lovely food - recommend the 'Juicy Wolf' - a killer sandwich. Also try the skinny fries - outstanding. This is how to spend a bank holiday - the tunes are top!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Four of us booked a table through the back for the Champions League final. We had a variety of burgers, all of which were great. The service was excellent too. The waitress from Bromley was very attentive. Good music and view of the football. Worth a visit

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank steevo123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great spot, staff and beer”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

love this new spot on Bath street. welcoming and friendly staff, great selection of beer and spirits and the food great too. definitely reccommend it plus decor is superb!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Howlin' Wolf also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Howlin' Wolf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing