We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and relaxed guesthouse”
Review of Alamo Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alamo Guest House
Ranked #1 of 35 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Great location on the edge of Kevingrove Park ideal for the art gallery and the university in one direction and city centre in the other.
The owners and staff are very welcoming and helpful. We loved the layout of the place - It felt as if you were staying at someone's house rather than at a guesthouse.
We stayed in a "basement" room which was bright and airy, but did not have an en suite bathroom. Not a big deal and the staff provided bathrobes.
Buffet style breakfast with hot food cooked to order - very tasty.
Will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Glasgow - and will book direct rather via an agency.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 724 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

We booked Room 2 as a graduation treat (3 nights) and it was worth every penny. The hotel itself has been restored beautifully, the staff were very helpful and friendly, and the breakfast was worth every bite. The proximity to Glasgow University, restaurants and the park make it an ideal place to stay and explore Glasgoe from. The bathroom was also amazing! A double size, sink into the floor circular tub, with wifi connection. I had a long bubble bath every night while watching Netflix. A perfect end to a day. I would recommend staying at the B&B again. The old hotel cat also added a certain amount of charm. The only thing missing was a bowl of sweeties by the front door :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 414AlisonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed during our anniversary and were particularly fortunate to get Room 12 with the freestanding bath. The room was lovely, service impeccable and friendly and a great breakfast. A celebratory bottle of champagne from the owners was an extra special touch. Highly recommend. Deserves more than the 3 stars it has.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RussellAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

A lovely friendly B&B in the Fashionable Westend. We stay here one night when collecting our daughter from the Uni. Steve and Emma are very welcoming. Our room was very comfortable and we both had a brilliant night sleep. We usually find hotel rooms far too hot but this was just right! Breakfast had a good selection. The only drawback was the sausages were a little disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Una F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was one of our favorite B&Bs on our trip, and the one we splurged on for our honeymoon. The couple was very very friendly upon arrival and had no problems with our later check in, which was extremely refreshing after our mishaps at the Glasgow airport. Our room was fantastic and it was so nice to come back to after a long day exploring Edinburgh. The breakfast was buffet style, but the staff was right there to provide anything you needed. Overall a great B&B that we would stay at again when in Glasgow.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaitlynM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

A very good place to stay in Glasgow. We loved it We had a great room lots of nice touches, a very good breakfast great choice, the location is also very good. Our hosts were wonderful we definitely will return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moira l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Steve, Emma and their two wonderful sons and staff make the Alamo special and memorable. My visit coincided with Andy Murray's victory at Wimbledon, a fete loyal Scot Steve marked with enthusiasm--the same enthusiasm he and Emma displayed, more quietly but no less sincerely, in making for comfortable breakfast-time chats and quiet evenings in their hotel home. The story of how the guest house got its name is an intriguing one. Full marks to the Alamo. It is a wonderful place.

WS, Brooklyn

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank stromovka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
5,394 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#20 of 93 in Glasgow
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
2,370 reviews
West End
Argyll Western Hotel
Argyll Western Hotel
#3 of 35 in Glasgow
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Guest House

Address: 46 Gray Street | Kelvingrove Park, Glasgow G3 7SE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range: $94 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alamo Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alamo is a friendly family run Guest House overlooking Glasgow’s Kelvingrove Park with views of Kelvingrove Art Gallery & Museum, as well as Glasgow University, in the near distance. This elegant 1870 Victorian building is within easy walking distance (3 - 20 minutes) of the main 3 areas of Glasgow; The City Centre (Glasgow School of Art, Modern Art Gallery, theatres, etc), The West End (Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum, Glasgow University, Kelvin Hall, etc), Riverside (S.E.C.C. etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alamo Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamo Guest House Hotel Glasgow
Alamo Guest House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing