We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guesthouse”
Review of Alamo Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alamo Guest House
Ranked #2 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely guesthouse”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

A lovely friendly B&B in the Fashionable Westend. We stay here one night when collecting our daughter from the Uni. Steve and Emma are very welcoming. Our room was very comfortable and we both had a brilliant night sleep. We usually find hotel rooms far too hot but this was just right! Breakfast had a good selection. The only drawback was the sausages were a little disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Una F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    110
    29
    6
    2
See reviews for
109
333
64
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was one of our favorite B&Bs on our trip, and the one we splurged on for our honeymoon. The couple was very very friendly upon arrival and had no problems with our later check in, which was extremely refreshing after our mishaps at the Glasgow airport. Our room was fantastic and it was so nice to come back to after a long day exploring Edinburgh. The breakfast was buffet style, but the staff was right there to provide anything you needed. Overall a great B&B that we would stay at again when in Glasgow.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaitlynM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

A very good place to stay in Glasgow. We loved it We had a great room lots of nice touches, a very good breakfast great choice, the location is also very good. Our hosts were wonderful we definitely will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moira l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Steve, Emma and their two wonderful sons and staff make the Alamo special and memorable. My visit coincided with Andy Murray's victory at Wimbledon, a fete loyal Scot Steve marked with enthusiasm--the same enthusiasm he and Emma displayed, more quietly but no less sincerely, in making for comfortable breakfast-time chats and quiet evenings in their hotel home. The story of how the guest house got its name is an intriguing one. Full marks to the Alamo. It is a wonderful place.

WS, Brooklyn

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank stromovka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Steve and Emma did everything possible to make our stay a pleasant and enjoyable one. They are wonderful hosts, and Steve's restaurant and travel advice is to be heeded! Many thanks -- we'll be back. I don't want to stay anywhere else when I visit Glasgow.

Room Tip: If you'd like an ensuite room and exclusive access to the lovely breakfast room after 9pm, book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The Alamo Guest House has a lot of character and is a beautiful place to stay. The hosts are very hospitable and carrying. We enjoyed our stay and definitely recommend the Alamo Guest House to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelizardking75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Brent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The 4 of us had a wonderful stay here for 3 nights. This is no ordinary place: it's as good as the photos show. Something a bit special, with this decor. One pair of us took a non-ensuite & were just fine with that: a choice of bathrooms awaited us each time. We were superbly looked after in all respects. We liked the open outlook at the front, off the main road, & the fruit salads at breakfast too. Thank you, Alamo!

Room Tip: It's worth considering the choice of rooms because they do vary. Alamo reception is very happy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandac0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
714 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Guest House

Property: Alamo Guest House
Address: 46 Gray Street | Kelvingrove Park, Glasgow G3 7SE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alamo Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alamo is a friendly family run Guest House overlooking Glasgow’s Kelvingrove Park with views of Kelvingrove Art Gallery & Museum, as well as Glasgow University, in the near distance. This elegant 1870 Victorian building is within easy walking distance (3 - 20 minutes) of the main 3 areas of Glasgow; The City Centre (Glasgow School of Art, Modern Art Gallery, theatres, etc), The West End (Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum, Glasgow University, Kelvin Hall, etc), Riverside (S.E.C.C. etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alamo Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamo Guest House Hotel Glasgow
Alamo Guest House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing