We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable, friendly place to stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alamo Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alamo Guest House
Ranked #2 of 38 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ko Chang, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very comfortable, friendly place to stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in December 2012 and found the guest house staff very friendly and the rooms to be very comfortable.

Breakfast was also great!

We were even upgraded on both nights to larger rooms for free which was a huge added bonus.

Highly recommended and we'll be staying again next time we're in town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank red0rdead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    104
    29
    6
    2
See reviews for
107
320
62
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in December 2012 for a work conference. This was one of the warmest and most friendly places I've ever stayed in, particularly for such a reasonable price! The rooms were comfortable and the bathrooms were quite luxurious (I stayed in one of the singe rooms with the bathroom and shower just a few feet around the corner). The breakfasts were generous and it was very quiet at nights. The location is also great: 10 minute walk to the university and very close to the city center. The overall best aspect of this place, however, is the owners: I've never had more individualized and customized care. Thanks Steve and Emma!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

The name gave us some laughs... And the place raised lots of smiles. A friendly welcome to a very clean attractive well cared for house. We were well looked after and would recommend this place to anyone. Locations great beside the park. And we walked from the SECC in about 20 mins.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRGIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We spent some nights at the Alamo Guest House in Glasgow when our daughter graduated from Glasgow University.

The situation is perfect, with a lovely view of the Kelvingrove Museum and the university itself. It is also very conventiently situated within walking distance from the city center and with some really lovely restaurants in the neighborhood.

We had two double rooms with shared facilites - this was absolutely fine, since the hotel provided us with lovely bathrobes. The bathrooms themselves were nice, clean and fresh and the one with only a shower provided something which I find unusual in British hotels; plenty of hot water!

there might have been the odd light bulb missing, and the one above the sink in our room was not replaced during our stay. That, however, was only a minor draw-back. More importantly, the room itself was nicely decorated, the atmosphere was really friendly and the hotel cat was absolutely charming!

Breakfast was also good - maybe not abundant, but it was good and with fresh fruit salad, somthing which I personally appreciate very much! We didn't miss anything at all.

Should I mention one thing that perhaps was not really up to standard, it was the morning when we left early for an excursion; some kind of breakfast was left for us in the dining room which was ok. But we would have appreciated some juice or something else to drink as well.

Apart from that everything was fine and I would gladly stay there again if I go to Glasgow in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibhLund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I had high hopes staying here and normally would have avoided Glasgow based on all the bad press it gets here in England but I was really drawn to the pictures on the website. On closer inspection the painting wasn't done very well, but looked a bit slap dashed on the walls and trim (everywhere). The room we chose was similar to the one we viewed online but it definitely looked much better in photos than in person. Steve showed us the bathroom, which looked nice with black stone tiles in each and told us they were underfloor heated, which we found, weren't. The bathroom and shower I used had a very awkward half glass door which wouldn't keep the spray in and wound up with a completely soaked floor in which I had to use the spare towel to mop up afterwards. The door in the bathroom was really odd, it didn't go with anything and it was splintered along the edges. I don't know exactly the look he was going with here but it just didn't look good. We had a very sleepless night because, well, this is Glasgow and the park is used by drunks coming out of the pubs at night. Three drunks started to mess with our landrover which caused my husband to leap out of the bed at 3am to confront them and got himself locked out of the guest house - I had to rescued him. Breakfast was forgetable. You have to pay to park on the street in front of this B&B as well. Overall I wish we had never stayed and would never again stop over in Glasgow again.

Room Tip: Don't stop, keep on traveling. If you don't have to be in Glasgow, there are plenty of nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenladybourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

With a name like Alamo I was expecting swing doors and cowboy boots, but was amazed and delighted by the period property overlooking the KelvinGrove Park in a lovel area of Glasgow. Steve, our host, couldn't have been more helpful in fact we got a room upgrade! I has also been a bit nervous about some of the rooms not being en suite, but the bathrooms were plentiful, immediately avaiable and bathrobes were provided on request. One chap even came to breakfast in his.... very laid back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1, on ground floor and right next to the Dining Room which had a great view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Having arrived from Australia, we could not fault the welcome and hospitality of Emma and Steve. We had booked a room which had shared bathroom facilities by mistake but it was no problem for Steve to move us to the ensuite Room 1 for our 3 night stay. The view of the tennis court and Kelvingrove Park was lovely. Emma and Steve have lovingly restored the Victorian property and still have plans for continued improvement. Steve will be very happy to give you a tour of this beautifuly property. Breakfast is excellent especially the porridge. The Alamo is about a 30 minutes walk to the centre of Glasgow (in snowy and icy conditions) but worth it although the bus travels along Sauchiehall Street about 100 yards from the B&B. A must go cafe is Kember & Jones on Byers Road a 10 minute walk from the Alamo - the best coffee and cakes and if we had more time the menu for dinner looked very appetising.
Thank you Emma and Steve, and also Leon & Louis (and Flash the cat) - we will definitely recommend you to our family and friends who visit Glasgow.

Room Tip: Room 1 was perfect with the view of the tennis court but if you would prefer extra luxury the view f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceandDebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Guest House

Property: Alamo Guest House
Address: 46 Gray Street | Kelvingrove Park, Glasgow G3 7SE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alamo Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alamo is a friendly family run Guest House overlooking Glasgow’s Kelvingrove Park with views of Kelvingrove Art Gallery & Museum, as well as Glasgow University, in the near distance. This elegant 1870 Victorian building is within easy walking distance (3 - 20 minutes) of the main 3 areas of Glasgow; The City Centre (Glasgow School of Art, Modern Art Gallery, theatres, etc), The West End (Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum, Glasgow University, Kelvin Hall, etc), Riverside (S.E.C.C. etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Alamo Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamo Guest House Hotel Glasgow
Alamo Guest House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing