We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss it, a real Glasgow experience”
Review of Bon Accord

Bon Accord
Ranked #5 of 202 Nightlife in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Scottish ale house selling over 800 different beers a year Malt whisky bar with over 400 malts and whisky shop serving food 7 days a week Quiz Wednesday at 8pm Live Bands saturday at 9pm
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Don't miss it, a real Glasgow experience”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

First impression of this bar might be that it's a biker's hangout ( the Harley Davidson shop is right next door!) but this place offers much more than that. Yes there are lots of Harleys parked outside on a sunny day but step inside and you'll find a great big bar with a massive selection of whiskies on the gantry and a great selection of cask ales on offer. Real old wooden floors and a selection of comfy armchairs add character and there are loads of old curios to examine (and that's not including the customers!) The pub food is varied and very well priced and there is a 2 course daily menu for under £6. Just a pity that the soup on offer was from a packet ( but tasty anyway) because the main course was homemade steak pie with real mash which was excellent. The staff were very friendly, very efficient and service was very fast even though the bar was busy. Nice little beer garden out the back and tables on the pavement outside mean you can admire the bikes and watch the world go by. The Mitchell Library is a few steps away so for anyone spending time researching their roots I'd recommend taking a break at this bar while visiting, with lots of metered on-street parking in the streets around the bar if needed. A great family atmosphere to the place made it a real nice visit, I'll be back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanR186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    33
    5
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
reading,berkshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“They even welcome soft southern Sassenachs”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I can only agree with the other reviews.

Arriving here after an intense meeting, and having experienced the caledonian sleeper as my means of arrival from London, I was delighted by everything about this pub - in no particular order:

"Classic Pub" - wooden floors, plently of panelling, comfy seating (chesterfields, etc.), bar stools, nooks and crannies:

Great Staff - they had been there for a number of years; hope they stay!

Fantastic real ales ( I sampled a good few of the Orkney-brewed Atlas IPA, at 5% ABV)

Superb (the best I've ever seen) range of whisky; they not only had my favourite (Bunnahabain), they had three different sorts!

Food - best value/quality combination I have ever had in a pub anywhere; an excellent locally-sourced rib-eye with all the trimmings for £8.95.

I will make sure I come back - possibly not on the sleeper train next time.....

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank iowe_iowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“drink eat and still come home with some money in your pocket”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Lovely old fashioned pub with a great range of whisky and ale. Casks change constantly. Food - macaroni and chips mmmm scotland! Seriously hot carb ladden food will arrive within 5-10 mins of you ordering it. You should be able to eat for a tenner. If there is a lot of you arrive early or book.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
470 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,318 helpful votes
“Loved It”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stopped here to try a few of their cask ales. They had a great selection (11 in all if I remember correctly) and the service was very good. If you're looking for whisky, they have more than 300 single malts. We didn't eat there so I can't comment on the food.

If you're looking for a great pub in glasgow to try a variety of local ales or whiskys I don't think that you could do better that the Bon Accord.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A fantastic hidden gem”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Friends have been raving about the food and entertainment in this pub for years so we finally went after the rugby last saturday (10th March) and the whole experience was fabulous.
The staff were courteous, professional and friendly, the food was piping hot, freshly cooked and delightfully presented, the house wine was fantastic value as were the meals.
The atmosphere was amazing and although the pub was busy, the service was slick and efficient
We thought it was the best meal we had ever eaten in a city pub and whoever selects the wines knows their stuff.
We cannot wait to go back although it is a long way from Wales !!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Priscilla1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bon Accord also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Bon Accord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing