We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good traditional glasgow pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lismore

Lismore
Ranked #37 of 202 Nightlife in Glasgow
Attraction details
paisley
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good traditional glasgow pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Love this place -- choice of ales and wines is very good. Can be busy at the weekend but hey --nothing worse than a half-empty pub.
They have live music some nights -- when we were there it was a traditional folk band. It seemed that random musicians would wander over and just join in -- it was amazing.
The decor is quirky but there is some wonderful old stained galss too.
Well worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lovepalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    1
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not as good as it looks”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Visited this place on a Satuday evening tour around Glasgow's West End. From the outside it looks like a good traditional pub but we were disappointed by the service and frankly some of our fellow drinkers caused none too pleasant atmosphere. There are plenty more welcoming pubs in this area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Gareth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good looking pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

I paid a visit there for the whisky but got hitched by the looks of the place with castle-like walls, the chimney, the stained glass windows. Did look like hundreds of years ago.
Apart from that, the choice of drinks is quite faire with some special bottles and the staff was quite friendly.
It does though seem like a neighbourhood pub with customers not very polite or friendly - which does prove to be quite rare in Scotland.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

Great pub. Great real ales and live music. Worth a visit

Helpful?
1 Thank SatNavaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Old-style pub, live music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

Did drinks at this pub on a week night. Decent malt whisky selection, 2-3 dozen? Prices average. Bartenders weren't too friendly but were responsive i guess. Still has old-style pub feel with stone, wood, and brass, which is what we Americans were looking for in Scotland. Didnt seem too touristy. Live acoustic music the night we went. Would go back when back in town.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank JasonMoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lismore also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Lismore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing