We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for it.”
Review of Clifton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clifton Hotel
Ranked #71 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed March 18, 2014

It was only a one night gig while we attended a wedding in the Hilton across the road.
Staff great , friendly and helpful. The room was clean and tidy. Breaky was just like being at home. Full scottish served with a smile. Would definitely stay here again. Location V.G.
Jamie & Katie

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clifton2012, receptionist at Clifton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Hi, Thank you for the good review i will let the staff know that you thought they were very helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 272 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is my 2nd stay at the Clifton, I was so pleased with everything the first time I went back again and had my parents with me. We were on the 2nd floor in rooms 5 and 7. My dad can be very picky and at 81 why not, but he really enjoyed the 2 night stay as did my mum. The rooms were a good size and has everything you need. The breakfast was fab, location spot on. I would definitely recommend the Clifton. Cathy is amazing nothing was any trouble for her a real asset to the hotel. I hope her boss appreciates her hard work. Ate across the road at Oran mor very good.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clifton2012, receptionist at Clifton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Hello, I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the clifton hotel. If you are needing a room that is on the lower floors don't hesitate to contact us and let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Read reviews and have to admit I was a bit nervous to stay... arrived and was pleasantly surprised that my nervousness was not warranted. Yes, the hotel is old and needs some updating but the room and bathroom were huge and completely adequate. The absolute best thing about this hotel was the staff!!!! My daughter and I felt like family from the moment we walked in the door! Everything about the staff was OUTSTANDING!
Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lahofen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Having booked this as a nearby stopover for a night at the Oran Mor - it was recommended by a friend as comfy & clean - which technically was true but unfortunately not what we normally book but hey it was only for one night. We were on the 2nd floor which if you're carrying a bag is a balancing act on the curving steep stairs. The corridor to our room was being painted a plus for the upkeep of the hotel but not to the fact that the smell had gotten into the room & could be smelt for the whole stay. Bedroom was spacious & clean as was the bathroom. Clean towels were available but there wasn't a hairdryer or iron & ironing board. Bed was firm & there was enough pillows. For breakfast there was a choice of either hot or cold & tea or coffee& again the dining room was clean. The staff were pleasant & when asked to order us a cab it arrived promptly. That all said there was nothing that would make me recommend it in the future to friends.

Room Tip: Not on the 2nd floor & ask for a hairdryer & iron & ironing board to be in room before a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michaela n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Bear in mind this is a 3 star Guest House so adequate is the word, but the room was tatty with repairs not repainted, windows needing painted, shower curtain held up with tape, window curtains needing washed. The car park is difficult to access and only takes six cars.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing on to Great Western Rd which is noisy - no double glazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nythva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This hotel was booked as a stop off in glasgow, plus point one, i was allowed a late check in of 10.30pm, not always allowed elsewhere, was shown to my single ensuite room, pleasantly surprised, the ensuite bathroom was a highlight, it was decked out in black floor tiles which contrasted nicely with the white full tiled walls, one minus point the shower head was leaking, the room was adequately sized with a comfortable bed with clean linen and four comfortable pillows, tea and coffee making facilities to suit. i had a comfortable sleep.
Breakfast was just perfect, various cereal to start, full Scottish breakfast which was hot and not sparse in any way.
I totally recommend this hotel as the one to stay in Scotland and I will be back.

Room Tip: single ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rickyrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This is my second time here. I stayed here in room no 10a.Small double room. Excellent room everything i need is here People very good Staff excellent no complaints at all. Im coming back in May to finish my training ay Gartnaval Hospital. I recommend this to all travellers to the city, very good hotel. goerge

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohammed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#65 of 93 in Glasgow
319 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#59 of 93 in Glasgow
339 reviews
Albion Hotel
#48 of 93 in Glasgow
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
854 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#44 of 93 in Glasgow
347 reviews
Kings Park Hotel
#83 of 93 in Glasgow
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Hotel

Address: 26-27 Buckingham Terrace, Glasgow G12 8ED, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $42 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet area of Glasgow's West End, Clifton Hotel is a Victorian town house with free Wi-Fi. Great Western Road is nearby.Each room at Clifton Hotel features Freeview TV and tea/coffee making facilities.There is an elegant TV lounge at the Clifton, as well as antique furniture and a traditional spiral staircase.The Scottish Exhibition Centre and the Royal Concert Hall are within easy reach. There are good public transport links to the city centre. Check in from 3pm to 10pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing