We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clifton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clifton Hotel
Ranked #70 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Read reviews and have to admit I was a bit nervous to stay... arrived and was pleasantly surprised that my nervousness was not warranted. Yes, the hotel is old and needs some updating but the room and bathroom were huge and completely adequate. The absolute best thing about this hotel was the staff!!!! My daughter and I felt like family from the moment we walked in the door! Everything about the staff was OUTSTANDING!
Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lahofen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    85
    42
    33
    28
See reviews for
37
95
27
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Bute
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Having booked this as a nearby stopover for a night at the Oran Mor - it was recommended by a friend as comfy & clean - which technically was true but unfortunately not what we normally book but hey it was only for one night. We were on the 2nd floor which if you're carrying a bag is a balancing act on the curving steep stairs. The corridor to our room was being painted a plus for the upkeep of the hotel but not to the fact that the smell had gotten into the room & could be smelt for the whole stay. Bedroom was spacious & clean as was the bathroom. Clean towels were available but there wasn't a hairdryer or iron & ironing board. Bed was firm & there was enough pillows. For breakfast there was a choice of either hot or cold & tea or coffee& again the dining room was clean. The staff were pleasant & when asked to order us a cab it arrived promptly. That all said there was nothing that would make me recommend it in the future to friends.

Room Tip: Not on the 2nd floor & ask for a hairdryer & iron & ironing board to be in room before a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michaela n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Bear in mind this is a 3 star Guest House so adequate is the word, but the room was tatty with repairs not repainted, windows needing painted, shower curtain held up with tape, window curtains needing washed. The car park is difficult to access and only takes six cars.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing on to Great Western Rd which is noisy - no double glazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nythva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

This hotel was booked as a stop off in glasgow, plus point one, i was allowed a late check in of 10.30pm, not always allowed elsewhere, was shown to my single ensuite room, pleasantly surprised, the ensuite bathroom was a highlight, it was decked out in black floor tiles which contrasted nicely with the white full tiled walls, one minus point the shower head was leaking, the room was adequately sized with a comfortable bed with clean linen and four comfortable pillows, tea and coffee making facilities to suit. i had a comfortable sleep.
Breakfast was just perfect, various cereal to start, full Scottish breakfast which was hot and not sparse in any way.
I totally recommend this hotel as the one to stay in Scotland and I will be back.

Room Tip: single ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickyrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

This is my second time here. I stayed here in room no 10a.Small double room. Excellent room everything i need is here People very good Staff excellent no complaints at all. Im coming back in May to finish my training ay Gartnaval Hospital. I recommend this to all travellers to the city, very good hotel. goerge

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Well, I booked a romantic getaway for my husband and I , with a lovely 4 poster bed. On arrival receptionist was very polite and helpful. Entrance rather dated, but great location for the West end. The room, well ......whilst looking for the hair dryer (which was not found) my husband found a newspaper over 3 months Old with a half drunk bottle of juice and crisps in the bedside cabinet. The tv was hanging off the wall, and was connected to an extension cable half way across the room. The mirror was filthy, it was disgusting. The bathroom was not for the feint hearted. The toilet was lopsided, there was a plastic box under the pipe to collect drips, the cold water tap worked intermittently, the taps were just awful. The shower curtain had seen better days and well, so had the shower, when it worked. None of the electrical equipment seemed to have current pat testing and a picture in the corridor had broken glass . The doorway above reception had several inches of dust which was noticeable to all guests walking down the stairs. When we returned later in the day we couldn't get into our room, as the Yale lock had double locked itself from the inside. The man from reception forced it open with his shoulder and said he would get the repair man in. I have stayed in many hotels and have never had such a bad experience. This has to be the worst hotel we've ever stayed in. Breakfast was not much better, in fact it was rotten. I don't normally take much notice of reviews but I wish I had. Stay clear of this place unless you have a really good sense of humour.

Room Tip: Avoid at all cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank X0x0x0X0x0X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clifton2012, Manager at Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
good evening
I have just read the review that you have posted on tripadvisor i am truly sorry the room was not up to our normal standards, and I can only apologise to you . We are truly sorry for the way the room was. as the manager of the hotel i will have a good talk to the staff and try and get the rooms up to a better standard . On behalf of myself and the owner I do apologise once again
Regards Cathy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

I was visiting Glasgow on business, I always check the last reviews on trip advisor. I hesitantly booked after reading the last couple of reviews.
On arrival I found the staff to be absolutely excellent and very helpful, the girl on reception helped me to my room which was on the second floor and was very clean and lovely, unlike the last review I had read. The breakfast in the morning was as good as any 4 star hotel, The car park although very small was an extra bonus as was complementary and free.
I would recommend this hotel as I feel the last reviews were unfair, as a frequent traveller I have stayed in all types of hotels and would highly recommend the Clifton for price location and service.
Excellent place to stay

Room Tip: stayed in 5&6
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clifton2012, Manager at Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind comments .We are pleased that you have enjoed your stay.
Hope to see you again.
Cathrine Gibson
Manager Clifton hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#72 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#59 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Albion Hotel
#64 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Hotel

Property: Clifton Hotel
Address: 26-27 Buckingham Terrace, Glasgow G12 8ED, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet area of Glasgow's West End, Clifton Hotel is a Victorian town house with free Wi-Fi. Great Western Road is nearby.Each room at Clifton Hotel features Freeview TV and tea/coffee making facilities.There is an elegant TV lounge at the Clifton, as well as antique furniture and a traditional spiral staircase.The Scottish Exhibition Centre and the Royal Concert Hall are within easy reach. There are good public transport links to the city centre. Check in from 3pm to 10pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing