We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a doss house”
Review of Clifton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clifton Hotel
Ranked #72 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed May 27, 2013

What can I say. This place is dire. The website gives the impression that it is almost a boutique hotel that couldn't be further from the truth.
It is a residential hotel. No disrespect, but I do not expect dossers when I stay at a hotel. My room, no. 5, was furnished with some of the cheapest flat pack furniture money can buy. The carpet was threadbare in places, there were dirty marks on the bathroom door, black stuff on the shower tray, and some of the worst finishing and decoration I've seen for some time.
Basically, it is nothing like its described to be on the website. I take issue with that, because hats what I based my decision to stay there on.
I could go on, but what's the point. Trading Standards may be next.
Maybe there is a very good reason why you pay for your stay upfront!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Swazinut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 271 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

Having spent 2 nights at this hotel, & read previous reviews I feel it has been unfairly criticised. This is a beautiful Victorian building in the middle of Glasgow's affluent West End. The staff have been polite & welcoming. Even when I had a minor complaint it was dealt with swiftly. My room - 17 is on the basement of the building overlooking the car park. The room is lovely & large with tea & coffee making facilities, & flatscreen freeview TV. The spacious bathroom has a bath & shower. Bedlinen was clean & crisp with an ample supply of towels & soap. Breakfast was a choice of fresh juice & fruit, cereals & a full Scottish cooked breakfast including toast, tea, coffee etc. All the fantastic features the west end has to offer are on the doorstep including Botanic gardens & highly acclaimed Oran Mor. Clifton is not advertised as a modern boutique hotel or similar. It is a comfortable, friendly small hotel with original features of the great Scottish architectural characters of earlier times. So relax &enjoy your visit to this wonderful city.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMW3566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Place was not bad
Car parking is a issue but then again city centre
You pay what you get for
Rooms weren't clean but the service was fine
Breakfast was good on the bright side
Was reasonable priced
From our room we had a great view . My complaint of this room would be the noisy fan system. We switched this off which was fine except in our room there was also the constant noise of running water which did not abate until the wee hours of the morning when it started again a few hours later. I guess we must have been near the hotel's water system!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qjag3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was surprised to find that the hotel also provided social housing. The people at the table nest to ours at breakfast were discussing their mental health regime which was a bit disconcerting.
If this hotel is running as a hostel for the homeless they need to inform visitors to their web site. The breakfasts were geared more to the poor DSS client than the paying guest and were cheap and tasted awful.
It's a pity that this nice house in a great location isn't' run better.


S

Room Tip: If you need to stay here choose a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoreenG542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed here while I was on a buisness trip in February. The staff are friendly and easy to talk to.The rooms are modern and clean.Car parking is an issue although the hotel do have there own car park which is quiet small and there is not much they can do if you don't get a space.Overall it is a nice cosy hotel.You get what you pay for.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank Linn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I can't seem to fault much about this b+b. My room was spacious, clean and well appointed. If I was picky then, the water pressure in the shower was a little week and the room was a little noisy, as we were facing onto the street. Other than that homely and you get what it says in the tin

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishforyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The location is the good news. Finding the parking is difficult with no signage to the rear or lighting. The reception desk is in the only lounge which is also used for the DSS to wait in the morning with their bags before they leave. The room was spacious and clean with nice ensuite, however, at 6am the room above had a shower and water poured through the ceiling.... this was reported to the staff in the dining room who were not surprised I think. The breakfast was average to poor and the atmosphere was like sitting in someone's front lounge, staff children running around and smoke fumes from the boarders standing on door step having a fag in theirs pj's, not so classy. The hotel spoiled our trip and we will never be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scottishcouple186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#65 of 93 in Glasgow
318 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#59 of 93 in Glasgow
335 reviews
Albion Hotel
#48 of 93 in Glasgow
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 93 in Glasgow
847 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#44 of 93 in Glasgow
344 reviews
The Belhaven Hotel
#49 of 93 in Glasgow
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Hotel

Address: 26-27 Buckingham Terrace, Glasgow G12 8ED, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: $47 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet area of Glasgow's West End, Clifton Hotel is a Victorian town house with free Wi-Fi. Great Western Road is nearby.Each room at Clifton Hotel features Freeview TV and tea/coffee making facilities.There is an elegant TV lounge at the Clifton, as well as antique furniture and a traditional spiral staircase.The Scottish Exhibition Centre and the Royal Concert Hall are within easy reach. There are good public transport links to the city centre. Check in from 3pm to 10pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing