We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value, not 4* though, but not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Glasgow City Pads

Glasgow City Pads
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glasgow City Pads
Ranked #29 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Glasgow
Wigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Value, not 4* though, but not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

Stayed on the 10th floor in a 2 bedroom apartment. 2 couples. On picking up the key from the hotel around the corner we entered the foyer to a very stained carpet, which ran through all the corridors. The apartment itself was very nice although the carpet again was slightly soiled in parts. It was the finishing touches which stood out as a bit shabby. The blinds were slightly broken, etc. Saying that the bedrooms had great views of the city and at night was lovely. The kitchen was also very nice, clean and well stocked with everything you would need. Tea and coffee was provided. The best thing about our stay was that both couples had their own bathroom which was great. The bathrooms were also very nice with complimentary toiletries. So apart from the stained carpet and a couple of little things, the apartment was fine, just not really 4*, I'd say 3*. But we did get a great deal from hotels.com for £98!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle&Hol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    3
    9
    7
See reviews for
5
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2008

After reading some bad reviews (once I'd booked this accommodation) I was rather nervous about staying. We were on the 10th floor, and after collecting the key from a hotel around the corner, we were annoyed to find that it didn't fit the lock! Fortunately the staff let us into our room promptly and sorted a new key. On entering the room, I was very impressed with the accommodation for the cost. We'd a spacious living room, with kitchenette, and a bathroom/shower downstairs. Upstairs was the bedroom and another bathroom. TVs both upstairs and downstairs, and the rooms were very clean. A few minor issues like paintwork and frayed blinds, but it's 4 star, not 5!
All in all, great value for money, and I'd definitely stay here again.
Just two minutes walk from the King's theatre and plenty of places to eat and drink.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Corridor messy
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ziggy0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2008

We stayed for 2 nights and were disappointed.

The first apartment we were given was smelly, the DVD player was missing, the TV didn't work and the door was missing from the built-in wardrobe! For £149 per night, this was disappointing!

It was a shame we had to complain 4 times and insist on a different apartment before they would move us. The second apartment was significantly better, I don't know why they didn’t give that to us in the first place.

All in all, not impressed and not recommended. It really spoilt the weekend for us.

  • Liked — Self catering
  • Disliked — over priced
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urbandivaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2008

We were a group of four travelling together and this typr of accommodation was perfect for a base for the four of us to have our own space (as two couples) and explore the city.

Great having own cooking and washing facilities however after placing some of my clothing into the washer, i noticed that there was already some water left in the machine, so pulled my clothes back out. The green stagnant water smelt terrible and despite rinsing and washing out the machine, it continued to emit a rotten water smell which also, incidentally, stayed in my clothing which i later threw away. i did report this when we checked out but am unsure what action was taken to remedy the washing machine problem.

The rooms were well set up and wifi/playstation and tv provision made for a nice comfortable space to relax in of an evening after a hard day walking around the city seeing the sights.

Room faced a very busy street which seemed to float up to our floor (the eighth) making is hard for us to get much sleep. There was bad traffic noise and sirens all night, as well as the noise of the crowd leaving the pubs at closing time. Unfortunately the rooms overheated quite a lot even without the heating on, so we were forced to sleep with the noise of the windows open!

Great central location but unfortunately for us, the noisy environment outside will probably make us stay elsewhere next time,

  • Liked — Location, self catering
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2008

Thought these apartments were overpriced for what you get, the apartment was not as clean as I had expected, blinds were missing in the bedroom so very hard to get a decent sleep when you are woken up at dawn with the bright daylight shining through the window. Heard all the traffic from outside, the windows didn't seem like they were closed although they were. No dvd etc in room as advertised, wooden flooring in the main living area lifting, overall apartments in need of a revamp.

  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank inspectionr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2007

This place is terrible. Filthy dirty carpets, hole in the wall, dirty furniture, appliances, dishes, even sticky mess on the ironing board. Dirty linens piled on the floor in the closet beside the boiler (a fire hazard), tv not working, pet waste at the front entrance on the street - and those are top of mind. There are others. "Free" health club advertised on the site is actually 5 pounds per person per visit. On top of that, they charged 500 pounds against our credit card on arrival for a deposit "refunded within 10 days if there are no problems". This is not advertised, and we were afraid we would be charged for all the damage that was there before we arrived. We left after one night - would have left sooner if we could have found somewhere else to go. Stay away from this place. All that is missing is the chalk lines.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J33JST, General Manager at Glasgow City Pads, responded to this review, August 15, 2008
Since this response was written we have invested much time and effort on improving our product and service. Almost every apartment has now been upgraded to a 4 star level as graded by VisitScotland. We have also installed free wifi internet connection throughout the building, upgraded on decor, furnishings and in the process of installing secondary glazing to a number of apartments. A conceirge service is now in place and housekeeping standards have improved significantly with investment in staff training and development.
With all of these developments having taken place over the last year, we have full confidence in our product with a very large proportion of guests returning regularly . Our Apartments have the best central address in the City located near to a vast range of restaurant and bars and also the business districts of the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2007

we stayed for 3 days at the city apts. in the 3rd week of august 2007. we were on the 8th floor so the views were great. the linen was clean, the toileteries average, the toilet roll holder in the bathroom was broken. there was no TV remote in the apartment. we called them twice regarding a replacement but we did not get one. when we were checking out- we were delayed by 30 minutes exactly. the receptionist cheekily told us that they charged £10 for "0 to 1 hour" of delayed checkout. (obviously i was cheeky enough to let her know that this wasn't mentioned at the time of booking the apt.
but all in all, since we had a good time in glasgow & at the fringe festival in e'burgh with good friends, we managed to overlook these issues & i would stay here again as the location is absolutely fab & i couldn't possibly have the same experience again (i hope so!)

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank verbatim_0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Newton Hotel
Newton Hotel
#81 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
PREMIER SUITES PLUS Glasgow
City Centre
Dreamhouse Blythswood Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow City Pads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow City Pads

Property: Glasgow City Pads
Address: 289 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 4LP, Scotland (Formerly City Apartments Glasgow)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glasgow City Pads 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glasgow City Pads reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Apartments Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Pads Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing