We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Black Bear Milkshake legitimate request Catastrophe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Glasgow East Hotel
Ranked #42 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My Friend and I went for a meal To the Black Bear Beefeater. Have to say the food we got was excellent. Massive drawback was the first impression when I was asked what I would like to drink at the Bar with my meal by a staff member who will remain unnamed. It went something like this- Me:"do you have any milkshakes?" staff(sneering):" naw, eh you want one of those and Mcdonalds is round the corner, he!"
There was also a totally rude female at the bar joining in with the mocking of a customer who made a legitimate request, not that it was any of her business. I had to walk away from the bar in disbelieve. Out of order!!!! There were also children welcome so I know when I was a kid I loved milkshakes so I presume they were not available to them either. Poor first impressions and no apologies. I would not go here to get the bad stuff of the staff again. Shocking behavior to someone spending hard earned cash. All I can say is I am Glad I was not a Guest of the Hotel!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piperlaird84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Glasgow East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of service and I sincerely apologise that on this occasion we have failed to achieve this. Please email your booking details to talktous@premierinn.com and we will ensure this is followed up with the Management Team. Thank once again for taking the time to leave your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 372 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

Booked to stay here whilst attending a wedding. Booked 2 nights to ensure immediate access to our room on arrival (about 11am) as travelling with a small baby. No problems on arrival. Spacious room with the cot already set up for us. The staff in hotel and restaurant were all lovely during our stay.

We got back about 8pm and once the baby was asleep, one of us went to restaurant, who although don't offer room service were more than happy to tin foil our plates to take back to the room, which was a great help. The bed was comfy and the room had a fairly large sofa too.

Had breakfast in the restaurant the next morning. Overall, the food was very good quality and very well priced for both dinner and breakfast. Only paid £44 for 2 nights (Fri and Sat) so we couldn't complain for the price...... will stay again if I can even get close to that rate.

Parking is also free and we had no trouble finding a space.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mookybargirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Premier inns are my favourite one night stopovers. This one was excellent. The room is large, newly furnished, and very comfortable. As always the bed is large and extremely comfortable. Love the firm and soft pillow choice. Bathroom was good size and well lit. Water was very hot, but with poor pressure. There was a 32inch flat screen TV (Samsung) great picture. Adjoining pub was welcoming, with good choice of food and drink. The only time I would avoid staying in Premier Inns in the UK would be in hot weather, as there is no A/C and windows only open slightly.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Kitson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Really nice surprise, excellent value, great food, lovely staff and a great price on the advance booking. We found the hotel easily from the motorway and were given a warm welcome by the receptionist. The room was great, spotless and warm. Food in the Beefeater attached was really very good, nice steak and a good selection of beers all at reasonable prices.



  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueandSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My third visit here - rooms are all the usual PI standard although they do boast large flat screen TV's - staff all smiley & friendly.

I've always enjoyed my dinners here, but can't find a time when breakfast is right. On this visit I had two breakfasts - one I was brought sausage instead of bacon & the 2nd morning the room opened late (only about 5 mins) and the only option on egg was "scrambled".

This PI (and there are quite a few in the area) is perfectly situated for Hamilton and Glasgow and ideal for the motorway network - I may just try GLASGOW (Bellshill) PREMIER INN next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elli.b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed four nights and over a weekend and found it very quiet and comfortable. Convenient to get into Glasgow Centre by free park and ride just down the road at Uddingston Railway Station - less than 15 mins to Glasgow Central.

Breakfasts good and Raymond in the restaurant brought a cheery smile to the morning - all in all a friendly Premier Inn

Would certainly go back..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almalmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

As Premier Inns go its ok, Dinner was ok and Breakfast less than ok. Eggs not cooked well. On the whole it was just OK. Location Good and easy to use the train into central Glasgow. Large Car Park and easy to find

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTL99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Redstones Hotel
#70 of 93 in Glasgow
90 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#66 of 93 in Glasgow
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
South Side
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
910 reviews
Number 10 Hotel
#32 of 93 in Glasgow
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow East Hotel

Address: 2 Calderpark | Uddingston, Glasgow G71 7SA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#12 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $65 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the M74 motorway, Premier Inn Glasgow East offers a relaxing, secluded location - just fiteen minutes away from the hustle and bustle of Glasgow's vibrant city centre. This hotel is perfect for a stop-over if you're travelling further afield or ideal for a short break, allowing you to see the sights, do some shopping and visit the many attractions of Glasgow. Our friendly team would be happy to welcome you here with open arms and we are always on hand to provide useful information if you'd like to visit any of our nearby attractions and venues. We have fantastic, easy-to-use public transport links here at the hotel and a wealth of things to see and do. You can't go wrong. So come and visit and enjoy a relaxing stay here with us in one of our clean, comfortable Premier Inn rooms; complete with king size hypnos bed, ensuite bathroom and large, widescreen television. Our on-site restaurant, the Black Bear Beefeater, is just perfect for an evening meal and a big, hearty Premier Inn breakfast to set you up in the morning. Remember - kids eat free. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow East Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing