We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No-frills but comfortable”
Review of Belgrave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belgrave Hotel
Ranked #90 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Looking for luxury? This isn't the place. But if basic cleanliness and a comfortable bed is what you can do with, then you can't ask for more from this quaint little hotel. It has that touch of simple friendliness and homely atmosphere - something to look forward to after that long tiring journey. And for the price we get during this pre-Commonwealth Games when other hotels are upping their rates, there's nothing to complain.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank 253ChooS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 106 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2014

So glad to find this hotel. Originally from Glasgow and moved to jersey several years ago, decided to take the kids back to show them Glasgow sites and was so glad to find this very homely hotel. The staff were so pleasant and lovely with the children, the rooms lovely and clean and breakfast was fantastic as plenty of choice which is good when you have two fussy children. But the added bonus for us was the car park as being from Glasgow know how difficult it is for parking (especially in glasgow a west end) which cut out a lot of stress not having to look for a space to park. All in all a fabulous experience and will be making regular trips home as this is value for money. And the staff could not do enough. Thank you Belgrave hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LA156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Charming little hotel. I stayed one night while waiting to meet up with my tour group. Very easy walk from the Kelvinbridge Subway stop, even with my large duffel and rolling suitcase. My single room was on the smaller side (woudn't have fit two people) but had its own bathroom. Bed was comfortable, furnishings were new, carpet was unbelievable and the huge window was a treat! Free WiFi and television. Free breakfast was simple but filling--hot food or cold option (cereal and yogurt). I only had two issues (not complaints, just things worth mentioning for future guests) #1: the shower got REALLY hot, and took quite a while to find a comfortable temperature. Seriously, how many times have you had that problem while traveling? Usually its the other way around! and #2: The sound in the stairway carries through the door. Totally not a problem at night, everyone was extremely courteous about evening noises, but occasionally it was louder during the early evening as people went up and down the stairs and hallway. Nothing would stop me from going back though, and I would recommend the Belgrave to any of my friends travelling in Glasgow.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanfi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

From start to finish this whole experience was not we expected when booking this so called Hotel through Booking.com. Firstly it took us over an hour to find the hotel even using Sat Nav and also with my experience of Glasgow it did not exist. In the end we just drove around and around in the area using our commence sense, so the moral of this paragraph is for the hotel to give out more specific directions to the hotel and the so called Car Park. When I say Car Park I mean a derelict piece of land at the back of the hotel that needs a good make over.
We were greeted by a young gentleman who did not seem to understand the hotel business and it seemed as if he was an apprentice especially when we complained that the room was not what we booked online. We asked for a triple room with a double and one single bed and were disappointed to find 3 single beds and when we threatened to find somewhere else late on a Friday night he hurriedly pushed two of the single beds together and made the bed with sheets that did not fit. The room was very poor in cleanliness and the decor was well below standard, especially for a room that was recently refurbished. The hotel actually advertises that it has recently been refurbished but we could not see much evidence apart from the wall had been emulsioned still with the TV on it. The only positive thing to say about this hotel (Guest House) was the (Cooked Breakfast) which was enjoyable. Overall I think the Hotel needs to have a re-think of what it is advertising on it's website as they are seriously misleading the public who pay over their hard earned money. Not a place I would go back too or recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

From start to finish, this place was a joke. I phoned to get better directions(there is no signage from street of guesthouse), the lady that answered was eating and told me so, and continued to pause and eat as she gave me directions. The rear parking lot was dirty, trash and weeds everywhere. The room had dirty towels stuffed behind the door like the staff just left them there. The twin bed covers appeared old and grimy. Only one of the bed sheets looked clean. No bed skirts, staring at old worn box springs. Thick dust on black (fake ) leather chair. Dust and grimy fingerprints on the toilet flush button, (gross), same around edges of TV monitor. Grimy rotten wood around shower base with mold or mildew. Mold inside shower around rim. White paint splatters over black tile floor leftover from "renovation". Soap dispenser almost empty with thick dust on top (not a little). Old brown carpet dirty. Are you kidding me? I couldn't wait to leave. The manager I think was trying to be friendly and nice but just lacking an eye for detail or doing things the cheapest way possible. It shows.

Room Tip: One of the positive reviews I read on this place came from Secret Scotland and they said they only s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cswayt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Our sat nav struggled to find the place and there were no signs for the car park. Put Belgrave Lane into your sat nav rather than the postcode! The hotel car park is BEHIND the hotel and the first one on the right hand side on Belgrave Lane if arriving from Oakfield avenue (or the last one on Belgrave Lane if approaching from South Park avenue!).

Check in was fast and the staff were friendly and inviting.

Our rooms were downstairs, they were basic but representative of a budget hotel. The shower didnt have a great deal of pressure but there was plenty of hot water. Everything seemed to work in the room.

Breakfast was a cooked option and/or cereals. Everything was 'value' standard but well cooked and plentiful.

Location was great for our needs.

Overall, this is a budget hotel that provides a value option for a stay in the West End of Glasgow. If that is what you require then consider staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S-Head
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We were very happy with the service which we received at short notice and the staff were very pleasant indeed. Breakfast was perfect and we actually stayed another night. We received a cot for our baby on request which we were delighted about.
thank you

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
2  Thank Golam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#64 of 93 in Glasgow
75 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#66 of 93 in Glasgow
322 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 93 in Glasgow
340 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belgrave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belgrave Hotel

Address: 2 Belgrave Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 8JD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: $49 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Belgrave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, family run hotel in the heart of Glasgow's West End. All rooms are en-suite with free Wi-Fi and a computer in each room for you to research the best places to visit in Glasgow! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Belgrave Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing