We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor customer service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tambowie Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glasgow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tambowie Farm
Ranked #12 of 38 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked our couple of nights (in August) here almost 10 months previously. Arrived tired after a 10 hour journey to a less than welcoming greeting only to find we'd been double booked! Not even amusing at 8pm! Irene and Colin couldn't wait to get us off their property quick enough and get back to their social evening. Asked for information on alternate accomodation and had no help at all. Won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dissatisfied396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetta111, Owner at Tambowie Farm, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Unfortunately you arrived at 7.00pm with no booking at all! and by your own admission, had forgotten to confirm your reservation 10 months previously. A trawl through the emails confirmed this and it was wrong to say we had a double booking.

When you arrived I explained we had been invited next door for dinner and we were in the middle of a meal. We were patient and courteous in my opinion. And after checking out the situation, which took some time, we advised where you could try for alternative accommodation. Had we not been out for the evening we would have sat down with you and offered you a cup of tea unfortunately we were not in a position to do this.

Having stayed here before you know us to be caring and helpful amd I'm truely sorry you feel the way you do now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
36
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
309 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Once you arrive at Tambowie you know you are somewhere pretty special. Guests are made to feel most welcome, the rooms are very well appointed, the views are great, there is no noise to deal with, breakfast was great, and access to restaurants and shops in the local village was a short drive away. Looking down on Glasgow from the hills above at Tambowie is a welcome reprieve from the hustle and bustle of the big city. Perfect serenity. Thanks go to Irene for her welcome and ongoing hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

Just returned from a week's stay at Tambowie farm and cannot recommend it highly enough. Situated a few miles outside Glasgow but within easy reach of the city. Accommodation is elegantly decorated and well maintained. There is ample sitting room in the guests' lounge with wonderful views of the farm and Campsie Fells beyond. The beautifully appointed bedrooms are spotless and professionally serviced. Irene and Colin have the knack of making guests feel at home by creating a warm and comfortable atmosphere. Breakfast is taken in the farmhouse kitchen and the cooking is of a high standard. In short - Tambowie offers 1st class B & B accommodation. Will will certainly be staying there again should we be visiting Glasgow.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank countrychic78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

There were a number of family that stayed in the B&B in February. The rooms were of superb quality and they would not be out of place in a good hotel. Irene and Colin were excellent hosts providing a lovely breakfast, nothing was too much trouble for them (within reason). The B&B itself is situated with spectacular views of the surrounding Campsie mountain range. I can not recommend Tambowie Farm highly enough and if we need to we will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy6797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

This is my second stay here, this time I stayed two nights in mid November. The room was immaculate.Very comfortable bed. I didn't have the en suite but this didn't matter, the bathroom I used was fabulous.Great breakfast. Irene and Colin are excellent hosts and I will be staying there again. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eiggshells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Heights, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

This B & B is very peaceful with a lovely outlook back toward Glasgow. The garden is very pleasant to sit out in and enjoy the view. Hosts were just lovely and the breakfast was outstanding. The only way our stay could have been better would have been to have our own bathroom so try to get the room with the en suite. We booked three rooms and all were very comfortable. The conservatory is a lovely little place to sit and read if weather turns etc. Highly recommended and excellent pubs not far away and also Glasgow by car or train.

Room Tip: Try and get en suite room if you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Capanart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

A spotless B&B and we had a lovely large ensuite room, with a shower room, tea/coffee making facilities and a 40 inch flat screen tv!

Irene and Colin were excellent hosts proving very helpful to us and they provided a lovely breakfast in their farmhouse kitchen. Their property which had excellent views over the countryside was not far from Glasgow (we went in by train about 15/20 minutes) and also near Loch Lomond and the Trossachs the other way.

We really enjoyed it and if we are passing again, I know where we will head for!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentMarkB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glasgow
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#5 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kirkhouse Inn
#1 of 1 in Strathblane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
The Belhaven Hotel
#51 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
West End
Argyll Western Hotel
Argyll Western Hotel
#3 of 38 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tambowie Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambowie Farm

Property: Tambowie Farm
Address: Tambowie Farm Tambowie | Glasgow, Glasgow G62 7HN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast. Glasgow city centre 20 minutes by car or train. Airport 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tambowie Farm Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing