We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Halo Crowwood House Hotel
Ranked #90 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
1 review
“Great value”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Had a groupon voucher for afternoon tea. Went with my mum.. The staff in bar area were very friendly. Have been lots of different places for afternoon tea & this was definetely up there with the best. Sandwiches & cakes were delicious. Staff were very attentive & helpful. Would be happy to recommend this or go back again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Law1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    62
    52
    59
    80
See reviews for
73
104
11
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Upon checking in housekeeping were still in the corridor cleaning with sheets scattered about due to having a group booking in the night before.The staff were very helpful,asked if I needed a hand with my bags and even opened the door for me.The room was very comfy,just what I needed having driven up from Oxford.
The bar wasn't overly busy,nicely decorated and the food was very nice.Bar staff also very helpful and polite.My only gripe with the bar area.........A noisy group of men,every other word was the f word.I got the impression they were regulars and nothing was said to keep the language down.It wasn't so much the swearing to the amount and the volume.It got rather annoying so I paid and left the bar.I saw a couple of other guests keep looking at them,they didn't seem impressed either.
A good nights stay,very comfy and quiet.Breakfast was nice,although bear in mind you do have to order from the menu,as it was not a buffet style on my visit(just incase you have an early start).
Wi-Fi free and strong enough,as it is split - a seperate one for the bar area.
Good sized car park,situated next to a golf course..........all in all happy.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyTurner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Room was really tired ok i am a contractor but doesnt mean i am not fussy regarding cleanliness this hotel has a horrible smell soon as you enter the hotel then when going up too youre room the stench gets worse rooms are not good at all this is a 1 star rating for me and will not be staying hete again. Room 15.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adomacdoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We approached this hotel stay during the Commonwealth Games with some trepidation after reading earlier poor reviews and as we had paid a very inflated price for the room - prices set by Glasgow Tourist Board not the hotel. Thankfully most of our fears were unfounded! The staff were very helpful and pleasant and the hotel has good bus links into the city. Breakfast was very good and a meal at lunchtime was well cooked although it did take a while to arrive. The rooms are comfortable and clean. We appreciated help to print boarding passes for our flight home. Small issues irritated - a broken hairdryer, no milk, a mark on a duvet cover - but these were fairly quickly sorted out. I suggest a few extra staff would help to make the hotel run even more efficiently though. The rating of average is given because there is no rating for good and the artificially inflated price of the stay does not let me give it very good.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel as it is on a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajplap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, Essex , United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This review is based on the price paid and the location. We had a triple room for 4 nights as part of a Commonwealth Games accommodation and tickets package. This was booked through an established and experienced athletics Essex tour operator. We paid 6 months in advance, £280 B&B per night , set by the Glasgow Tourist Board, and with not even knowing which hotel we would finally be allocated . We did not expect to be so far outside of Glasgow and the stadia. Outrageously slow and poor communication by the Glasgow Tourist Board who should hold their heads in shame.Our booked coach trip to Loch Lomond due for 9.30am dept was then last minute switched to a 6.55am departure due to the road at the front being closed of the cycle race;....closed all day even though the small number of riders passed by in a flash in the morning. Not the hotels fault. Leaving aside the high price we paid on this occasion I have say we found all the hotel staff as friendly and helpful as you could get. Our room was acceptable , clean, good TV, the double bed comfortable, (the single bed was squeezed in , as we would not accept a converted sofa bed ,bathroom spotless, good breakfast food, although could have done with at least one/two extra staff to serve the hot food and replenish the self-service and tea/coffee pots. On the down side ,the traffic from the motorway/dual carriage outside bedroom was noisy with the window open on the hot humid nights. The room phone did not work. The Owner/Director , Ann Peters, was superb throughout our stay, resolved minor issues quickly. She drove us to the stadium on the 1st evening when we missed the coach. Ann was also extremely helpful when sorting out a 'plan B ' to get us to Edinburgh by train from a local station called Croy. The hotel bar, prices, and seating and lunches were good. There were 3 weddings receptions and one wake on 4 consecutive days and none were disruptive or noisy which affected our stay.
Would we recommend this hotel. ?...YES ..if passing and providing is was in the £80 to £100 a night price range. Had we paid a more reasonable daily rate we would have given it even more stars.

.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EPPINGMAN_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed for two nights in July. On arrival the girl on reception was curt. It was a case of "here's your key, pay your money" The bathroom wall was peeling so badly I was afraid it was going to flake off every time we used it. Dinner was ok, but the place could have been much smarter. Our bedroom was overlooked by the balcony and as the room had no viole on the window we needed to have the curtains closed all the time. We went out at ten and returned at four to find that our room had not been serviced. Service was really making the bed as towels were not all replaced, no hoovering, no replacement toiletries or toilet roll. Suffice to say we went to a local Brewers Fayre for dinner the next evening and won't return. A wedding was happening so lots of noise until 2:00 am.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McKelvie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff but it all stops there, it's a really bad place, dirty, awful food (got sick eating here), loose plugs in room, tv had no remote, this place looks beyond fixing, so run down it's scary.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dragone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glasgow
0.8 mi away
Best Western Garfield House Hotel
5.1 mi away
Redstones Hotel
Redstones Hotel
#75 of 95 in Glasgow
70 reviews
21.6 mi away
Burnhouse Manor Hotel
Burnhouse Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnhouse
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkintilloch
122 reviews
9.6 mi away
Orchard Park Hotel
Orchard Park Hotel
#65 of 95 in Glasgow
129 reviews
8.7 mi away
Castlecary House Hotel
Castlecary House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cumbernauld
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halo Crowwood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halo Crowwood House Hotel

Property: Halo Crowwood House Hotel
Address: Cumbernauld Road, Glasgow G69 9BS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Halo Crowwood House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Halo Crowwood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowwood Hotel Glasgow
Halo Crowwood House Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing