We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and really tasty”

Juan Chihuahua Cantina & Tequilaria
Cuisines: Mexican, South American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Welcoming and really tasty”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Thursday night, restaurant quite quiet, looked after really well by two chatty waitresses. Ordered chicken wings and chorizo starters to share. Came quickly and both not spicy but very tasty and presented well . Mains were ribs and enchiladas both large, the enchilada nice and spicy! Washed down with plenty of Corona. My wife finished with chilli chocolate dip and churros which she loved but could not finish. Really nice night,well looked after.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    48
    20
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Ruined night”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We visited Juans at the end of January for a few drinks and to watch a PPV that the venue had advertised as showing live. After spending a few hours having a few drinks and ordering food the PPV was not ordered and most had to leave the bar disappointed. Instead the only option offered was to squeeze into a room with 1 television hooked up to a laptop with a poor quality live stream.

Will not be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauly-101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilMcGougan, General Manager at Juan Chihuahua Cantina & Tequilaria, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hi there - sorry for not getting back to you sooner

Firstly let me apologise for that evening. It was our first Pay Per View Sports night and the problem was not that we had not paid but rather the wiring was not correct and we could not get the feed to the TV's so rather than send 270 out into the rain we tried our best to get you guys something to watch via the laptop. yes it was cramped and not the best but better than nothing.

Since then we have shown the superbowl, a boxing match, 2 UFC events, and they have went without any hitches, and people have loved them.

So once again I am sorry for the technical problems that evening and I hope it did not ruin your night. And should you decide to give us another chance we would love to show you that due to our 5am licence we can be the GO-TO place for late night sports.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and great drinks! ”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I recently visited this lovely place and were very pleasantly surprised by it. It had been recommended by a friend as my partner loves tequila so were going expecting the food to be average and just enjoy a few drinks. This was definitely not the case! The food was amazing, definitely the best Mexican I have had in this country and the coronita cocktails were outstanding. Would definitely recommend Juan's as we had a brilliant night and will be back again in the future.

Helpful?
Thank kc97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Been looking for a great Mexican restaurant since our favourite local one closed.
Found this on 5pm and decided to give it a go, booked for 7.30pm and didn't get seated till 8pm, however these things can happen in a busy restaurant, and did have a very refreshing tequila and pineapple drink to keep me going. Place was quite lively and the decor was really nice. We ordered nachos to share and were advised just to get a single portion, even this was huge, and they were very tasty, got tacos and enchiladas for the main and again the food was amazing and piping hot, the only thing that lets this place down is the service, the food was really slow coming out and while the management and clearly more experienced staff were doing their best, the rest of the staff seemed to be wandering around in a daze and unsure of what was going where, we didn't even know who our server was, as I presume it was one of the managers that took our food order. Great place, fantastic food and drinks, excellent value for money, just a wee bit of improvement with the service would make this 5 stars!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarahc1886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Cautiously optimistic”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Glasgow city centre has been crying out for a Mexican restaurant for a long time so I was excited when I heard about this new one.

The restaurant itself has been fitted out beautifully. The menu is absolutely huge and it takes ages to choose something (this can be good and bad!). The complimentary nachos served at the beginning of the meal have the nicest sauce/salsa served with them. We were both pleased with the quality of our mains. The frozen margarita also went down very well. We were in quite early on a Saturday evening and as we were leaving some live music was starting which was a nice touch.

However, there are just a few niggles. We were sat near the front door (the restaurant itself is huuuge so when there aren't many people in it can lack atmosphere) and it was absolutely freezing every time the door open and shut. The toilets are in severe need of a makeover - they are pretty much dingy nightclub toilets (I'm guessing this is what this place would have been before). Also I wish this restaurant was in a bit of a different area - Sauchiehall street ain't the the most pleasant part of Glasgow and you are normally fighting throngs of drinkers to get in and out. Bars and restaurants on Sauchiehall street also don't seem to last very long and there always seems to be a massive turnover so hopefully this one will go the distance.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Juan Chihuahua Cantina & Tequilaria also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing