We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Ranked #24 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
carlisle, cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“clean and quiet”
Reviewed October 26, 2010

stayed here with two young children and elderly parents and was great for both. the rooms as usual were lovely and clean (which is a must for me!) and warm. we were at the back of the hotel i think as we looked on a square and my parents looked on to the road but didnt hear the traffic. it was a monday evening we stayed so not sure if it would be noisy at weekends due to good location for shops etc. we travelled by train which arrived at central station and walked to the hotel, took us about 15min, just went slowly due to parents,we were early so they put our case in luggage room which was great. would definately stay again, it has a nice bar area and we enjoyed a lovely buffet breakfast. just one small downside was the steps up to entrance, bit of a pain with a buggy and pensioner!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teemey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2010
Thanks for your review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We welcome your feedback is it very important to us that our guests enjoy their time stay with Premier Inn and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,174
    902
    266
    65
    43
See reviews for
523
831
168
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Angus
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Have stayed in this hotel on several occassions but no more. The last three times i have stayed i have been given a twin room facing the car park and on the busy street so much for a guaranteed nignts sleep someone had actually been smoking in our room. Complained to reception last time and was moved to another room but when i requested a quieter room i was told that all the twin rooms face on to the car park and busy street . Is this true or was it because i only paid £29 a night that i was given this room? Stayed at the premier inn Argyle Street this October, what a difference!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaAngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
Thank you for your review. We apologise that you were not happy with your recent visits to us. At Premier Inn we endeavour to deliver a high standard of service in all our establishments and are disappointed that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. Premier Inn operate a very strict Non Smoking policy and take reports of smoking in our rooms very seriously. All our rooms are presented to the same high standard they are not allocated by price, but by our booking system. However, it is very important to us that our guests have a good nights sleep, and on receipt of your booking detail we will investigate fully with the Management Team at our hotel. Thanks for your feedback we do hope we can welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2010

The best budget hotel at this location, I am recommending this hotel for everyone who want a clean, safe place to sleep in Glasgow city. close to the city centre and to the two main station which link the north to the south.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Almady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that your stay met your expectations.. Thank you for all your comments, at Premier Inn endeavour to offer all our guests the highest level of service. Once again thank you for your review we look forward to welcoming your back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2010

rooms were great,big and comfy...food was ok,,no gordon ramsay but staff were excellent,one in particular,debbie,who was bubbly and very friendly and couldnt do enough for me..if only all staff were this great in other hotels.I will certainly return as glasgow'sa great city

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere over the rainbow
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel for the past 4 years whilst the Glasgow Half Marathon is on, as my husband always runs this. I have stayed at other hotels in and around the city, but this one is by far the best, for location, and price. Rooms are spacious, clean and airey, most have a fairly decent view, of either the Graveyard ( I know that may seem ghoulish, but it's a beautiful sight) or of the lovely stone buildings to the side, which is where the marathon used to start. The bathrooms are a good size too. I have never had breakfast here though as you can get a great cheap breakfast over the road at the Counting House in George Square. The bar is small and adequate, because no one ever plans to drink all night in the same place, it's good for a night cap. Sometimes it can be a little noisy early morning, with the bin lorry's collecting empties, but hey it's a city, so what do you expect? All in all a good priced city centre hotel with good staff and a friendly welcome!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trower1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast UK
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2010

My first of experience of a Premier Inn Hotel. The location was excellent, just a short walk from George Square. The entrance to the hotel has several steps but a disabled lift is provided. The automated check in was quick and efficient. Luggage room was provided until room was available. The rooms were spacious with excellent lighting, flat screen TV and tea and coffee facilities. No safe provided in room. The bed was not as big as the advert claims. No air conditioning and windows only opened slightly. The fan provided didnt work. The bathroom was small, a bath with overhead fixed shower head. The bath was very narrow and there was a shower curtain which kept wrapping itself around you when showering. The bath panel was ill fitting. Shower gel and hand gel dispensers provided. The traffic noise didnt disturb me and we were at front of hotel on 3rd floor...the heat and uncomfy bed however did. The room was serviced daily but on one day the cleaners just left clean cups and didnt remove used ones, and toilet roll wasnt replenished. We didnt use bar facilities as there were several bars close by. My main complaint was the wifi we purchased. The connection was extremely slow and unreliable £9 for 24 hrs but were limited to 500mb download. Other budget hotels in same area provide unlimited free wifi. We were not informed until our return home that the first 30mins wifi was free and also the hotel had a good night sleep guarantee ie good nights sleep or your money back. Staff that we encountered seemes friendly helpful and knowlegable. Would stay again but wont be relying on wifi

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camerain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Everything was fine with this hotel. Nothing too fancy, but it was clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly. Good location. Restaurant was okay, but was a bit expensive for the food we got.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFofos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#17 of 95 in Glasgow
1,108 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Queen Street Hotel
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#22 of 95 in Glasgow
987 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Address: 187 George Street, Glasgow G1 1YU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right by trendy Merchant City, the Gallery of Modern Art and the majestic Glasgow Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing