We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Ranked #24 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed February 3, 2010

Just off George Sq, great for the train and bus stations, shops etc.

Large rooms and a very good meal in the restaurant which was open until 10pm.

I plan to stay here again next time I am in Glasgow.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsteen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2010
Thank you for your review. It is great that your experience with Premier Inn was a good one and that our central location, and restaurant facilities ensured your stay was a good one. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,158
    891
    260
    64
    42
See reviews for
514
817
162
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

We stayed here on Hogmanay 2009. When we checked in the receptionist was so welcoming and helpful, could not rate her highly enough. I'm sure she wouldn't want to be working on New Year's Eve yet she was so bubbly and bright!

We stayed in the hotel with some friends until about 10ish, as we left the room we could hear the noise in the corridor of other people partying. We didn't hear this in the room. We returned about 3/4ish and the hotel was still very much alive. I honestly didn't have a problem with this, it's tradition in Scotland to have a good time at New Year and you have to expect that level of noise. With that in mind I'd say don't stay here if you are planning on a quiet evening over that kind of holiday period where you expect revellers. If I had been trying to get to sleep at 1am I may have been fed up with the noise. Only one little fault with the room though, someone had cut their nails and it for some reason was not hoovered up. After reading other reviews perhaps the hotel should be working on improving their cleanliness. It was also a little chilly and the maximum temp in the rooms was not high enough.

There was also a fire alarm incident, it went off about 4ish, not long after we came in and so it didn't disturb us. There were people who had obviously been asleep and they looked miserable.

I really can't blame the hotel or staff for any of this though and we had a great night and enjoyed the stay. Our friends made it to the buffet breakfast the next day (which they extended to noon which was a great idea) and they thoroughly enjoyed it!

It's so central for everything in Glasgow and ideal for just a cheap night.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snoopy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2010
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that your stay with us was a good one and your enjoyed the Hogmanay celebrations. Thank you for your comments our management team will ensure these are followed up with both our reception team members and our housekeeping team. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for 5 days over New Year, the location was excellent for town centre and George Square the staff were very welcoming and friendly I used the bar and restaurant food was good and bar prices about right for city centre hotels...all in all excelent hotel the only downside was the room 537 was next to a lift shaft or something which was very noisy this made it difficult to get a good night sleep, this did not spoil the stay but would not stay in that room again but I would stay at the Hotel and will reccomend to friends...apart from the lack of sleep it was a nice break.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sh0dges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2010
Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that our hotel, restaurant facilities and efficient team members met your expectation and your stay New Year stay with us was enjoyable. Our team members will endeavour accommodate specific room requirements, please inform a team member prior to your arrival. Once again thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming back in to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
148 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2009

Travelled to Glasgow on last minute business. Getting there took double the time, due to bad weather and gridlocked traffic on the motorway just three days before Christmas. Arriving at the hotel, just after 1am and parking on the street outside (free until 08:00am), we found the hotel locked up and you need to buzz to gain entry. A strange guy appeared from nowhere and hung around outside until we were buzzed in, so maybe the hotel stays locked for good reason. Check-in took a while, but the staff were friendly. I was allocated a top floor room which was right at the end of the corridor overlooking a graveyeard. room was a very good size, and warm. Nice clean bathroom and a comfortable bed, Internet was free for 30mins, but reception dont tell you that and it was late, so did not bother going back down to collect a voucher. I slept wel in the bed, it was very quiet in the hotel and surrounding area.

Breakfast was an eat all you want buffet. It was a nice restaurant with good lay-out and the young girl who seated us was typical of the kind of hospitality I have encountred in most Scottish hotels. Very friendly, engaging, informative and most importantly, polite The fried eggs sadly were inedible. Cooked in rings and had petrified into some kind of rubber, sad really as the rest of the breakfast was lovely. I was surprised by the lack of Lorne Sausage (square sausage), I love it. However the regular one's were sufficient.

My colleague who booked the hotel for me, asked over the phone how much a meeting room would be, and unfortunately this information could not be given. I had to travel to Glasgow with company cash to cover any cost. Rooms are advertised in the foyer from £28. I paid £50 on the day to have a meeting room. The blinds in the meeting room did not work, and the gentleman who ran the meeting suite was very apologetic about it, and had put the heating on in advance, though it was still quite cold. Due to security locks on doors, I could not meet my colleague in the foyer as when I left the meeting suite, the door locked behind me, (my room key did not open it).

Overall, the location of the hotel is very good, more or less in the city centre. Good local ammenities, though having to pay to park during the day over the road, the hotel could perhaps benefit from a scheme with the car park. The staff are great, breakfast could be marginally better, but in esssence this is a good choice for the budget traveller looking for a no frills accommodation in a central location. I would sta there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandWtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is good to know that you found our hotel comfortable and the facilities met your expectations. Your comments regarding our team members will be followed up by the management team at our hotel along with your feedback regarding our meeting rooms and breakfast. Once again thank you for you review we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2009

had a long weekend (5 nights) in the premier inn Glasgow,
first night thursday was woken at 4am by smoke alarm, was bloody freezing standing in the front of the hotel for a good half hour,

room was clean but fittings had seen better days,
mixed bunch of staff in reception, any male staff i dealt with didn't seem to want to help.
i asked could i get my room cleaned when i was out,was told housekeeping would be done before 5pm,
asked another guy at reception for directions and didn't show me directions on the map,
but the ladies on reception were excellent.

housekeeping was great but very noisy,
ask for a quite room when booking as poor room insulation,

glasgow is a great city to visit

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank daft-duck50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our objective to delivery the highest level of service in all our establishments, I am very sorry that on this occasion not all aspects of your stay met your expectations. Your feedback has been noted and will be followed up by the Management Team at our hotel. We are however pleased to hear that the service given by members of our reception team was of the level we endeavour to provide at Premier Inn. Once again thank you for your review we look forward to welcoming back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for one night at the end of November 2009.

It is located in the city centre, with a NCP car park directly across the road.

The room was fairy modern, clean, of a decent size, had everything you would need and the staff were all friendly and helpful.

The only bad things I would point out is that its bar is far too expensive and the bed wasn't very comfortable.

For £75 in the city centre I was say it was pretty good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSJAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2009
Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. We are so pleased to hear that our great value for money rooms, helpful team members and clean rooms met your expectations and your stay was a good one. We are disappointed that you were not entirely satisfied with the bed in you room, and the pricing in our bar your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up by the Management Team at our hotel. Once again thanks for your review we do hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Paid £29 for a family room for a Thursday night, and the hotel couldn't really be faulted. Clean, modern, excellent location for city centre and a 10 minute walk to the Barrowlands gig we went to. Warm and cosy, no road noise at night (until about 7am), and incredibly comfortable bed.

Hotel bar even had reasonably-priced drinks: we bought a bottle of house red wine for £11, which was far cheaper than drinking in city bars! We wouldn't have paid £8 for a breakfast here, but across the road Joanna Goodbite serves a full breakfast for £3.30.. slightly better value.

Reception staff weren't very attentive when checking in/out: they seemed to prefer to chat amongst themselves rather than serve customers, but at that price, I won't grumble too much.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melaniefnord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2009
Thanks for your review. It is great to hear that you had a good value comfortable stay with us. We are in a great location for exploring the City Centre. It is good to know that you were satisfied with our bar service and you had a good nights sleep. We are however disappointed that you were not entirely satisfied with the service received at our reception, your comments have been noted and will be followed up by the hotel Management team. Once again thank you for you review we look forward to welcoming you to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,075 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Queen Street Hotel
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 95 in Glasgow
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Address: 187 George Street, Glasgow G1 1YU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right by trendy Merchant City, the Gallery of Modern Art and the majestic Glasgow Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Premier Inn, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing