We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic quality budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Ranked #22 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2009

Fantastic quality budget hotel ideally situated for shopping and entertainment in Glasgow. Spotlessly clean rooms that provide all that you need for a short stay. Staff get a particluar mention as they were very attentive from the time of arrival to departure.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fifie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,559 - 2,565 of 2,703 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights in June. We found the hotel quiet, clean and convenient to the train stations, shopping and walking around Glasgow. The room was fine, as well as the restaurant. The room was on the George Street side so there is potential for traffic noise on a summer night with the windows open. The service was fine. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCtraveller009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

Stayed for one night with wife and 6-year-old daughter. As last time, the family room was well appointed with a proper single for our daughter, and the double bed was extremely comfortable. The room was smart and fresh, and had a view over the old churchyard. Tea & coffee and kettle and freeview TV provided, and (expensive) modem & wifi connections. Bathroom functional if unlovely. Plenty of pillows and towels, controllable heating. Service friendly and helpful, and a fine spread for the buffet breakfast.

Absolutely no complaints - we'll be back again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2009

I accompanied my husband on a business trip for one night on 10/1, as I intended doing some shopping while my husband was working I found the location of the hotel was great, within easy walk of shops, bars, restaurants, it was only 2 minutes walk from George square, 5 minutes from Princes square and 5 minutes from Buchannan galleries in the other direction.

Check in was quick & efficient, very friendly young girl on reception, we were on the 5th floor and our room over looked a garden enclosed on 3 sides so there was no traffic noise at all (the last time we stayed there in October we were in a basement family room with a kingsize bed and a single overlooking the same garden but didn't like it much as it only had small windows at shoulder level) the kingsize bed and pillows were very comfortable and the room was clean.

The following day I had until 12 to get ready and check out, I didn't go down to breakfast but my husband did and said there was plenty of choice for £7.95. breakfast was from 7-11

There was a notice on the reception saying you could keep your room until 5pm for an extra £15 and if I had known my husband was going to be delayed at work I would have kept it but as it was I was sat in reception with my bags from 12 until 4.30, the receptionist was chatty and offered me coffee & newspapers which was very nice of her.

Next time I go to Glasgow I wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank McBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2008

The address of this hotel as "George Square" is quite misleading. The hotel is actually located on the corner of George Street and Montrose Street. Admittedly it is simply a 5-minute walk from George Square. The hotel staff are very efficient and friendly. Check-in was a breeze, and within 5 minutes of entering the hotel we were in our room. We were located on the first floor, overlooking George Street - which is a very busy road, however the traffic noise in our room was minimal when the curtains were closed. The room was clean and tidy; the TV with integrated digital TV is a great touch. The beds are so comfortable, and the clean and crisp linen was very much appreciated. We had dinner at the hotel - not recommended. The burger was grilled to the point of tough and the mayo left an unusual aftertaste. The bacon had a lot of fat, which I had to remove (this is a personal preference of mine - I always cut the fat off bacon). The chips were gorgeous and the service efficient. The price was reasonable, however the quality of the food was not great. The buffet breakfast the next morning (for approx £8) more than made up for the poor dinner. The staff showed us to our table, explained how the buffet worked (take what you want, if you want poached or boiled eggs let us know), and left us to eat. There was a selection of pastries, cooked foods, fruit, cereal, tea, coffee, milk, orange juice, etc. Check out was simple, however we were not advised that for a small fee (£15) you could keep the room until 5. On a rainy day, when you have checked out for 12 and your flight is not until 9am I would have appreciated being told I could have held on to the room for a few hours more.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Shy2Fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

I stayed here for one night for a short trip to Glasgow. The hotel has a great central location and is walking distance to the centre of the city. Check in is 2 pm however we arrived early on our flight and got soaked with the heavy rain on the way. They were very accomodating and allowed us check in early which we were very grateful with. The girl on reception put us on the 6th floor to ensure we were not disturbed by the noise on the busy street outside. The hotel rooms are modern and very clean with everything you need for a short stay. The hotel is secure and your key card is required to access the lifts and stairs for extra piece of mind. We didn't eat dinner here but opted to have breakfast. For £7.50 you can have full choice from the buffet. Overall we couldn't fault our stay here and this is definatly one of the best budget hotels i've stayed in. Would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summer005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2008

The hotel is situated in George St, a few minutes walk away from the shopping in Buchanan St, the bars and restaurants of the lively Merchant City area, and Queen St railway station for travel to/from Edinburgh or on the scenic West Highland line. The open top sightseeing busses depart from George Square.They offer excellent value for money- a ticket lasts for two days- and serve many of the best tourist stops, such as the Hunterian Gallery ( Whistler and the Mackintosh House) and the beautiful Kelvingrove Gallery ; the guides are very good too!

The hotel itself is a standard Premier Inn- clean, basic furnishing, very comfortable beds and good value. However, the hotel is situated on the busy George St- it is not in George Square- and the traffic noise in rooms facing the street is obtrusive.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunnitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,261 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 93 in Glasgow
1,127 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel

Address: 187 George Street, Glasgow G1 1YU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $78 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right by trendy Merchant City, the Gallery of Modern Art and the majestic Glasgow Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing