We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Reasonable Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Ranked #25 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2014

It's two minutes walking distance to the George Square (one of the tourist attractions in Glasgow), and 3 minutes to Queen Street train station where you can travel to Highlands. and 10 minutes walk to Buchanan Street (the major shopping district). Even though it is close to the central, the Hotel is in a quiet street so it is great for a good sleep. The room is a bit small but clean and tidy. The staff are friendly. Wifi is free for 1st 30 minutes. £3 for 24 hours. It'd be better if Wifi is free for an hour a day.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ko Moe U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you for your review on our hotel. Our location really is central for many attractions in the city and glad that this suited you well for your stay. Glad to see you found our hotel to be clean and friendly and please be assured Premier Inn are working on the Wi-Fi currently and we hope to change our offering to our guests in the coming months. We look forward to seeing you back at one of our many hotels again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,521)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,345 - 1,351 of 2,523 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed for one night just before the commonwealth and were very happy with this hotel. Excellent location just up the road from George's Square, walking distance to bars and restaurants. The Thai restaurant Chaophraya next to Nelson Mandela Square is well worth a trip but sit inside to enjoy the exquisite old music hall architecture. The room was spacious, a fan was provided and was well needed in the heat wave, there is no air con but this was not an issue for us. It was clean, staff were friendly and polite, breakfast was good and the poached eggs were done to perfection. Parking is available at the NCP on Montrose Street opposite the hotel, ideally located for the hotel. Perfect location for the town centre and also the more historic Cathedral and the Necropolis. Would definitely stay here again when visiting Glasgow.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review on your recent stay. We're really pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay and we'll be sure to pass on your compliments to the breakfastchef regarding your poached eggs! We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed here for one night during the Commonwealth Games. The location was excellent with very handy parking at reduced rate just across the road. We had two rooms, one of which was a standard the family rooom. The second room was lovely, really big and on the corner of the building. There was plenty of room for us all and we also got a great view of the women's road race as they whizzed by in the morning. The breakfast was good and the staff were all really friendly. The only downside, but a big one, was the amount of noise in the street overnight. Being in a city centre you expect some noise but this was all night and a mix of noisy revellers and people putting up the barriers for the cycle race. I got very little sleep to the point that I struggled with breakfast and did not have the energy or brain power to verbalise a complaint. My fatigue also interferred with my enjoyment of the Games that day. It was on the expensive side for a Premier Inn, despite booking 5 months in advance.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are lovely and spacious-perfect for families.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay with us. It's great to see that our location suited you well for your visit to the city and that the rooms were ideal and you enjoyed the space in the family room you were allocated. I am sorry though to hear of the noise disturbance caused from outside the hotel.

As you mention it was the Commonwealth Games and the cycle race route was partly outside our hotel. As much as I am glad your room gave you a great view of the race it is disappointing to hear that the set up of the route was noisey as they prepared the streets. We did work closely with the council to try to arrange suitable times and minimal disruption, however I'm sure you can understand the timeframes they needed to work to for the set up and the challenge of doing so in the city centre. Again I apologise for this.

Hopefully this unfortunate incident has not dissuaded you from return to Premier Inn and if I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to get in touch.

Kind Regards,
Jamie Cattigan
operationsmanager.glasgowcitygeorgesquare@whitbread.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We've just stayed here for 2 nights for the commenwealth games. Location is perfect for city centre. Standard premier inn room, clean, comfy , decent bathroom etc. We had a fantastic stay, everyone we met were so friendly and helpful including all the staff at the premier inn. The bar is a decent place to have a beer and relax. Yes we paid a inflated price for this hotel per night but unfortunately that was standard for all the hotels in Glasgow.
There's parking in a NCP car park opp the hotel which is easy access off the M8. The hotel will validate the parking token and it's £10 for 24hours. I'll be staying here again when I return to Glasgow.
Thank you to everyone in Glasgow we met, you made it a great stay!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gareth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thanks for such a glowing review. Great to see you had a clean and comfy stay and that the Team looked after you during your time with us. We look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed a night here before a very early Commonwealth Games session. The hotel is excellently placed for Glasgow's main rail and bus stations, and for the city centre in general. Everything about the hotel was fine - room size, comfort, cleanliness and staff helpfulness. If we were to be in Glasgow again, we would be happy to return, but on the assumption that prices were in line with what one should expect of Premier Inn ie about one fifth of what we paid.
The only saving grace about the price hike was the knowledge that all Glasgow hotels were at it, and nearly all were even more expensive than Premier Inn.
At least the hotel was happy to store our luggage for us until our Games day was over.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotty062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you taking the time to leave a review on your stay. We're glad to see that everything suited you during your stay and that you will be happy to return to us. As you state our prices were increased due to the Commonwealth Games, however we do feel that our prices still reflected good value in variation to other hotels in the city as you state. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and be sure to keep an eye on the main Premier Inn website for all our best deals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Clean and well kept hotel, just along from George square. Perfect for access to both Central and queen street trains, as well as Buchanan street coaches. Sauchihall street 5 mins away, shops, bars and restaurants all within reach too.
Glasgow is a fantastic city and this hotel well placed to take advantage of.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you for your review. It's fantastic to see that our location was ideal for your visit to the city and all the transport links. The city really is fantastic and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back as you venture more in to what Glasgow has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights whilst up in Glasgow for the Commonwealth Games. Checked-in quickly using the kiosk in reception but watch out as it automatically adds on breakfast and internet so you could be charged for things you don't want!

Stayed on the third floor, overlooking George Street - it was really hot in the room so we had the windows open quite a lot but there is a lot of traffic noise with buses and lorries, in particular. When the windows were closed, it was a really quiet room but did get a bit stuffy despite air con/fan.

Shower isn't very powerful and gets really hot so watch out. You can't adjust the shower head so ladies, bring a shower cap with you! Bathroom was very clean in general and a decent size.

Very secure, modern and clean hotel/room, with lovely comfortable bed and linen. Excellent in-room facilities - hairdryer, plug-in fan, shampoo/shower gel, tea/coffee etc, bottle-opener, freeview TV. Could do with a powerpoint on bedside table though to charge phone (especially if you use your phone as an alarm clock)!

Really helpful that we could store our bags at the hotel upon check-out, whilst we spent our last day exploring the city. Returned at 5pm to collect them but ended up waiting for well over 10 minutes as there was only one member of staff on reception - a bit frustrating when we had a train to catch.

Excellent location for both day (museums/shops) and nighttime (restaurants, bars) activities, within walking short distance. Less than a 10 minute walk from the Central Station which is great. The hotel has a Co-Op and Sainsbury's a few doors down which is helpful. Really friendly staff, including the cleaners who always said "good morning" and made us feel so welcome.

Would definitely recommend this hotel - just very disappointing that the Premier Inn decided to take advantage of visitors to the Commonwealth Games! My Games ticket cost me just £14 but it became a very expensive trip with the hotel cost of £378 for just 2 nights, even with booking 8 weeks in advance! Looked online at the same room for a week later, once the games had finished, and it was over 50% less than the price I paid, even without advance booking which is normally cheaper - really disappointing and feel like customers have been taken advantage of with such a significant price hike. Would definitely stay again but only if the price was right!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Soap_Box162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you for your kind review and feedback on your stay. It's great to see that you would definitely recommend us and that you found our beds to be comfortable during your stay. Our prices were increased during the Commonwealth Games period, however we do still feel we offered good value in comparison to other hotels in the market over this period. I'm glad to see though that this would not put you off returning and we look forward to hopefully seeing you back again soon as you further explore what the city has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,150 reviews
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Queen Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel

Address: 187 George Street, Glasgow G1 1YU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $68 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right by trendy Merchant City, the Gallery of Modern Art and the majestic Glasgow Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing