We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No complaints - apart from the price!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Ranked #26 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Highlands
Level Contributor
263 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“No complaints - apart from the price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed a night here before a very early Commonwealth Games session. The hotel is excellently placed for Glasgow's main rail and bus stations, and for the city centre in general. Everything about the hotel was fine - room size, comfort, cleanliness and staff helpfulness. If we were to be in Glasgow again, we would be happy to return, but on the assumption that prices were in line with what one should expect of Premier Inn ie about one fifth of what we paid.
The only saving grace about the price hike was the knowledge that all Glasgow hotels were at it, and nearly all were even more expensive than Premier Inn.
At least the hotel was happy to store our luggage for us until our Games day was over.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotty062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you taking the time to leave a review on your stay. We're glad to see that everything suited you during your stay and that you will be happy to return to us. As you state our prices were increased due to the Commonwealth Games, however we do feel that our prices still reflected good value in variation to other hotels in the city as you state. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and be sure to keep an eye on the main Premier Inn website for all our best deals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,098
    848
    243
    62
    40
See reviews for
495
769
153
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Clean and well kept hotel, just along from George square. Perfect for access to both Central and queen street trains, as well as Buchanan street coaches. Sauchihall street 5 mins away, shops, bars and restaurants all within reach too.
Glasgow is a fantastic city and this hotel well placed to take advantage of.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for your review. It's fantastic to see that our location was ideal for your visit to the city and all the transport links. The city really is fantastic and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back as you venture more in to what Glasgow has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights whilst up in Glasgow for the Commonwealth Games. Checked-in quickly using the kiosk in reception but watch out as it automatically adds on breakfast and internet so you could be charged for things you don't want!

Stayed on the third floor, overlooking George Street - it was really hot in the room so we had the windows open quite a lot but there is a lot of traffic noise with buses and lorries, in particular. When the windows were closed, it was a really quiet room but did get a bit stuffy despite air con/fan.

Shower isn't very powerful and gets really hot so watch out. You can't adjust the shower head so ladies, bring a shower cap with you! Bathroom was very clean in general and a decent size.

Very secure, modern and clean hotel/room, with lovely comfortable bed and linen. Excellent in-room facilities - hairdryer, plug-in fan, shampoo/shower gel, tea/coffee etc, bottle-opener, freeview TV. Could do with a powerpoint on bedside table though to charge phone (especially if you use your phone as an alarm clock)!

Really helpful that we could store our bags at the hotel upon check-out, whilst we spent our last day exploring the city. Returned at 5pm to collect them but ended up waiting for well over 10 minutes as there was only one member of staff on reception - a bit frustrating when we had a train to catch.

Excellent location for both day (museums/shops) and nighttime (restaurants, bars) activities, within walking short distance. Less than a 10 minute walk from the Central Station which is great. The hotel has a Co-Op and Sainsbury's a few doors down which is helpful. Really friendly staff, including the cleaners who always said "good morning" and made us feel so welcome.

Would definitely recommend this hotel - just very disappointing that the Premier Inn decided to take advantage of visitors to the Commonwealth Games! My Games ticket cost me just £14 but it became a very expensive trip with the hotel cost of £378 for just 2 nights, even with booking 8 weeks in advance! Looked online at the same room for a week later, once the games had finished, and it was over 50% less than the price I paid, even without advance booking which is normally cheaper - really disappointing and feel like customers have been taken advantage of with such a significant price hike. Would definitely stay again but only if the price was right!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soap_Box162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for your kind review and feedback on your stay. It's great to see that you would definitely recommend us and that you found our beds to be comfortable during your stay. Our prices were increased during the Commonwealth Games period, however we do still feel we offered good value in comparison to other hotels in the market over this period. I'm glad to see though that this would not put you off returning and we look forward to hopefully seeing you back again soon as you further explore what the city has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

A fantastic couple of days at the Commonwealth Games, made even better by the friendly and helpful staff at George Square - from Jack who sorted our room quickly, and let our daughter do the check-in, to Irene who looked after us at breakfast (and even remembered the kids names the second day - these little things mean a lot when you're six!), nothing was too much trouble. All of the staff were very friendly and chatty without being intrusive and helped whenever possible, the room was clean and comfortable, the food in the restaurant was lovely,mans the meal deals were good value for money. For a city centre hotel, we couldn't have asked for more. Thankyou.

Room Tip: Obviously, being a city centre hotel, overlooking a busy junction, it was a little noisy when wantin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Great to see that you had a pleasant stay with us during the Commonwealth Games. Jack and Irene are also delighted to have looked after you and your family on your time with us and they pass on their thanks for you taking the time to acknowledge their friendly service. We hope to see you all back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Great Hotel, Great staff and perfect location for Glasgow. The Family room was lovely and clean and the bar and restaurant were great for relaxing in the evening after a busy day sightseeing. Great Value for money and would recommend to family and friends

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for your great review and top marks. It's really good to hear you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us, and even more so that you would be happy to recommend us to family and friends. Thank you for this and we hope to also welcome you back again soon too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Cannot recommend this hotel enough. Wonderful return on the very reasonable price of the room. Warm helpful staff and clean comfortable room in a superb location. Slept great and the breakfast was superb value and quality.


  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for your great glowing review! The Team are delighted on your kind comments to their standards and service, and great to see you got a great night's sleep too. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Perfectly located, excellent service, also the Polish. Rooms clean, enough very large. Quick accommodation and check out. Close to the train station and the Cathedral. I would recommend for a short stay in Glasgow.





  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, it's great to see you have given us top marks and will recommend us. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#22 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Address: 187 George Street, Glasgow G1 1YU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right by trendy Merchant City, the Gallery of Modern Art and the majestic Glasgow Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing