We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a great stay here.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Ranked #24 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a great stay here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

This is a great premier inn. The staff are ALWAYS friendly whether it be reception, bar or housekeeping. Yes, depending on which side of the Inn your room is on it can be noisy from the street but being realistic it is a City Centre hotel in a vibrant city so yes you should expect a little noise. If this is a problem for you then request a room on the graveyard side of the hotel which is not as spooky as it may sound!

The hotel is situated great for both Central and Queen Street train stations. Buchanan street bus station also a handy distance away. Less than a 5 minute walk from Queen Street station makes this a great alternative hotel to stay in during Edinburgh festival time as only a 50 minute train ride away from Edinburgh but cheaper to stay here when Edinburgh hike the prices up!

A handy Tesco Metro or Co-operative along from the hotel for those wishing to purchase snacks/drinks for their rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zippy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,098
    847
    243
    62
    40
See reviews for
495
769
153
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

The place is close to airport bus line and to the Strathclyde University as well as the Queen train station, George town etc. My only issue was the smell in the rooms - I was in one room, where I couldn't open the window, they moved me to another, the window was open all day long but you can still feel the smell - I am too picky and sensitive so this may be the reason.
The staff is very friendly, the bar/restaurant is also quite dissent.
Not a bad choice after all.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoraTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed in the Premier Inn whilst down for the Take That Concert and although the staff were busy they were extemely helpful. We got to leave our bags whilst we went for lunch and when we came back we were checked into rooms as soon as they came available which wasnt too long a wait as we understood they were busy. Would definately recommend the hotel and will stay there again when I am back in Glasgow!

Helpful?
1 Thank gills1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

The room was clean and comfortable, but the reception was awfull. At this price, have to use machine for registration is innaceptable. Avoid the breakfeast, expensive and industrial cooking. No croissant, No fresh eggs, children playing with the food. Godd situation for visitig the town.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaune12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

Less than 2 minutes drive from Junction 15 on the M8 and perfectly situated for Glasgow town centre, this hotel is clean, efficient and friendly. I use it every year as a stop-off en route for the Highlands

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonDave1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

Very clean and friendly indeed. Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as this is very quiet and you will get no street noise whilst being in the centre of Glasgow. Walking distance from bus and train stations.Look for the cheap deals that go online 21 days before the date of your stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as it is very quiet th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ONLYTHEBEST4US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Premier Inn as part of a trip to see Elton John in concert at the SECC, so it was a means to an end, but became quite a memorable part due to the friendliness of the 'meet and greet' staff (there is no actual reception due to automation) and the person who showed us to and explained the procedure of breakfast. For a chain of budget hotels, they have something right and the friendly attitude of the staff appeared totally genuine as opposed to scripted. Unfortunately, it's also ideally positioned for shopping!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#21 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Address: 187 George Street, Glasgow G1 1YU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right by trendy Merchant City, the Gallery of Modern Art and the majestic Glasgow Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing