We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing house and location, perfect for special...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Northcliff Manor

View from Northcliff Manor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Northcliff Manor
Northcliff Manor Exterior Livingroom with dining area in bay window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
View from Northcliff Manor
Northcliff Manor Exterior
Livingroom with dining area in bay window
Livingroom
Livingroom
Kitchen
Kitchen with further dining table
Downstairs WC
Bedroom with balcony
Bedroom with balcony
Four Poster Bedroom
Four Poster Bedroom
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 5 (extra room, can be opened on request at additional charge)
Bathroom with jacuzzi bath and walk in shower
Bathroom
Master Bedroom with en-suite
Master Bedroom with en-suite
En-suite shower room
Back Garden with summer house
Northcliff Manor Aerial View of swimming pool and gardens
Swimming Pool
Stunning view from Northcliff Manor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Glasgow, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
siantomli...
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable house with lovely, helpful owners, who live next door.”
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely house and we had a superb time here, with the best quality undoubtably being the breath-taking view from the front garden or dining room / lounge. The kitchen has everything you need and the location; being near the beach was excellent, with better weather we'd have visited it more ! I think the house would benefit however from another living room, as with 8 adults plus children, we did feel a little short of space at times. Downstairs, there are only 2 rooms (kitchen and lounge / diner) and the dining table does not seat the 10 people the house accomodates. The lounge (same room as dining) couldn't really seat everyone comfortably either. One of the bedrooms at the rear of the house is unfortunately spoilt by the horrendous noise from the shower in the main bathroom and forget sleeping once that is in use ! We were disappointed to hear that the hot tub was out of action and it would have been amazing to have had a dip in the outdoor pool but as it's not heated and at £200 on top of a four-figure sum for 3 nights, we didn't partake !
That said, the owners Linda and Nick were very friendly and Nick kindly gave us lifts pretty much everywhere we went, even taking the men to Troon to watch The Open some 35 miles away ! We really appreciated this but all the same I did feel that I wanted to write an honest review..

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2016
Thank you for your review of Northcliff Manor; its stunning view is one of the most beautiful in Scotland. I’m glad you appreciated the great lengths Linda and Nick went to to ensure you had maximum enjoyment during your stay.

Regarding your comments about the accommodation, had you asked, when booking, about bringing additional guests, you would have been advised that the house held up to ten comfortably. As you found, the extra children you added after booking for ten, did make for a bit of a squeeze. Nick was very concerned at your report of a noise from one of the showers. Had you told him at the time he would have investigated immediately.

When considering how to charge for use of the pool, it was decided that only those guests who wanted to use it should be required to pay the additional charge of its specialist cleaning. It’s clearly stated in the description that use of the pool entails a cost of £200. Regretfully the hot tub is not available to guests as recent legislation requiring 3 water tests per day makes it unviable.

I’m sure you understand that for the period of the Golf Open, accommodation prices are higher. The £420 per night you paid was modest compared with similar sized properties within driving distance of Troon.

Linda and Nick constantly strive to make the Northcliff Manor experience the most wonderful they can for all of their guests. As you have said, they are amazing hosts and they would love to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stumod
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing house and location, perfect for special family occassions”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I rented this wonderful house for three nights to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday. From the first minute I arrived it was an amazing experience. Not only is the house fantastic with everything you could possibly need, the hosts Linda & Nick were so welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. The view of the Clyde and the beautiful pool area makes this a perfect setting for a special event and my husband and our guests had a brilliant time. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views, the pool area and the space and size of the rooms
Liked least: i liked everything about the property
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leona M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a fabulous break at north cliff manor . This property is exactly as described just wonderful . The views are breathtaking and the hosts Linda and nick are so welcoming and friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them.. We celebrated our 25th anniversary and came away with wonderful memories of a special place .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing views
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrey E
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best kept secret is out!”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I have just stayed at this stunning property with my friends to celebrate my friends birthday. You can't believe you are only an hour from Glasgow the views and property make you feel as if you are miles away! Also thank you to Linda for making us so welcome in your lovely home!

You will want for nothing when you stay at this luxurious home. The extra's are just amazing! The eight of us never at anytime felt as if we were short of space, can't wait to rebook!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katz2703
Uddingston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“50th Birthday”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Eight friends got together to celebrate a 50th birthday and couldn't have wished for a better setting. Wonderful house, spectacular views, spotlessly clean with every amenity you could wish for. Not a single complaint other than couldn't stay longer. Lovely hostess, who was most welcoming. Would gladly return with family or friends....think children would love it too, space, pool and Luther own little games house. One of my best experiences of a weekend rental in a long time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spotless and welcoming
Liked least: Had to leave
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowSh...
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best place ever .............”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect setting, views amazing, house immaculate and has everything and more to make for a perfect stay. Every room had its own special touches, and the jacuzzi bath was to die for. The kitchen was superb with every cooking appliance known to man. The view from my bedroom was amazing as was the view from the patio in the front garden. When we arrived we were greeted by Linda, who was more than helpful and we can't thank her enough for her hospitality. I have never in all my trips experienced such a warm welcome, which was extended throughout our stay. I would highly recommend this home from home with lots of added luxury to families or groups of friends, we will certainly be booking again, and again and again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hospitality and views
Liked least: having to come home
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahowitt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing house in an an amazing location.”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Well, what can I say...this is undoubtedly one of the best holiday lets that I have had the pleasure to stay in for a week with my family.
House is spotlessly clean,all 5 bedrooms. were spacious, the front and back gardens are an absolute joy to spend time in and as for the view it is breathtakingly beautiful.
The house is very well equipped with all you could wish for and more. I will miss sitting out on the decking area, enjoying the uninterrupted views of the Clyde with a glass of wine.
Lynda is so welcoming and nothing is to much trouble and her attention to detail is second to none.
We all as family thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend Northcliff.
Lynda....thankyou so much for making our stay an amazing holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing