We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good value, will return. ”
Review of Nippon Kitchen

Nippon Kitchen
Ranked #73 of 2,490 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $37
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Modern Japan meets old Glasgow in this cool and contemporary refurb of a Grade A listed City Centre building.Authentic Japanese food made using fresh locally sourced ingredients and served in a relaxed and informal setting.Serving crisp tempura, mouth-watering noodle dishes, the freshest sushi, handmade to order, and much more.A true taste of Japan in the centre of Glasgow.
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Got a good deal when we booked via 5pm.com. Food is very tasty + quick @ coming out. Main portion was huge.

Service was quick bit could have been better as we were given the wrong menu as we should have been brought the 5pm menu + our bill was wrong.

Will return.

Thank 0xMx0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nippon_Kitchen, Manager at Nippon Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Thanks so much for your review.
We launched our 5pm menu in March so apologies it wasn't quite as slick in being produced to you as it should have been, but we're glad you enjoyed the food.
We hope you have since been back to sample again, we are continuing to run the 2 courses for £12 menu via 5pm.
Thanks again for taking the time to post your opinion, it means a lot to us to hear from our customers.
Kindest Regards,
Nippon Kitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (885)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

770 - 774 of 888 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

In a word, wow!! A great buzz about the place greets you at the door of this old listed building, decor is great whilst maintaining some of the original features. Staff were lovely, attentive but not "in your face" and were happy to make recommendations from a big choice! Starter of mixed sushi was amazing, fresh on the palate... presentation was equally immense! I highly recommend the soft shell crab we shared too! Main course bento box followed matching the high standards! Was lucky enough to try the fizzy sake.... I'm a Prosecco girl at heart but this was really good and a great match with the food. Go on try this place... You know you want to and you won't be disappointed, I'll be back!!

1  Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nippon_Kitchen, Manager at Nippon Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Thanks so much for your review! We're thrilled you enjoyed your visit and hope you have since been back to sample the fare.
We love to hear feedback from our customers so thank you very much for taking the time to post your review.
The sparkling sake's a favourite of ours too - can't quite get enough!
Thanks again,
Kindest Regards,
Nippon Kitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Wow what a great meal..the sushi starters were amazing and mains packed with flavour The Nippon team are welcoming, friendly and attentive. I'm definitely coming back. You need to try the fizzy sake, it's amazing!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Brianhod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nippon_Kitchen, Manager at Nippon Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Thank you so much for your complimentary review, it's great to hear you're a fan!
We love the sparkling sake too, it is so deliciously moreish, some might say dangerously so!
We hope to see you soon, and thanks again for taking the time to post a review.
Kindest Regards,
Nippon Kitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Nippon Kitchen is one of my favourite places to eat, it always has a nice buzz and great service. The menu is varied and healthy, I'd recommend it to anyone. They are also very accommodating for families and large groups

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank the_lady_doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nippon_Kitchen, Manager at Nippon Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thanks very much for your review.
It's great to hear from our customers and we are thrilled that your a fan.
We have private dining rooms available for larger parties, so be sure to let us know if you are interested.
Thanks very much for taking the time to let us know your thoughts.
Kindest Regards,
Nippon Kitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Lovely atmosphere, very friendly and helpful. The food is outstanding, our new favourite place. Highly recommend the tofu katsu curry (off-menu request - so accommodating!).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Coco-bella-hair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nippon_Kitchen, Manager at Nippon Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thanks so much for you review - great to hear you had a good experience with us.
We are always happy to accommodate requests, and we're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your bespoke curry.
We look forward to welcoming you back on future visits.
Kindest Regards,
Nippon Kitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nippon Kitchen also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Nippon Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing