We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little pub”

The Piper Bar Glasgow
Ranked #207 of 2,389 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Traditional Scottish Pub serving homemade Scottish favourites, with regular live entertainment.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice little pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Simple little pub - nice for lunch - fish and chips were good. The atmosphere was pleasant and plenty of tables.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mezzo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    94
    29
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were so disappointed with our meal here. Had been in to the pub a few times for a drink and liked the place and decided the last time we were in Glasgow to try the food there because it always looked good. The 3 of us all went for the Sunday roast. The starter of black pudding spring rolls were nice but they were 2 tiny little pieces the thickness of a straw so not very satisfying. We all went for the chicken which was very dry. There was no roast spuds like the menu said instead 3 badly boiled baby spuds. The veg was awful and the Yorkshire pudding was just a frozen one. Needless to say we skipped desert and ended up leaving hungry. Its a pity because the place itself is nice as are the staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susiejo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We went her twice. The food quality and portions for the price were outstanding. The crowd was nice and the place really fun. At night it totally rocks. Great spot.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ohdoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
123 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great lunch, local hangout”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We saw the Piper as we were leaving the hop-on bus, just past George Square. The staff were very friendly and efficient and the food wholesome, tasty and fresh. A lovely little gem, would highly recomment it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Genuine Glasgow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

After looking around for a pub, my husband and I grew weary. All we could find offered nachos and burritos . . . we really wanted something else . . . a place we could savour/savor. The Piper was the place for us. They have a wide selection of single malts and a bigger selection of friendly folks.

While we were there, a gentleman sang many songs and the crowd joined in. I honestly felt as if I were at a huge family gathering. Quite honestly, there are no strangers at The Piper. In fact, there are no strangers in Glasgow.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Piper Bar Glasgow also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Piper Bar Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing