We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic But Top Quality Dining”
Review of The Plum Tree - CLOSED

The Plum Tree
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Glasgow
Level Contributor
96 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Basic But Top Quality Dining”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We booked a 5 pm deal on their festive menu for £16.95 for two courses including a glass of prosecco. The place has a great atmosphere, it was very busy, in fact I think too busy for the number of staff available which lead to a lengthy delay between our starter and mains being delivered, normally I would mark a restaurant down for this, but on this occasion the friendly staff and the offer to supply our wine at no charge left us feeling a fondness for this eatery. The quality of the food was far greater than its simple surroundings would suggest and we will certainly visit again and sample one of their platters which looked tremendous! All in all a great meal served by pleasant staff in simple surroundings using quality produce.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank deryck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    28
    7
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value, chilled out atmosphere in heart of Merchant City”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We booked a deal on 5pm - Steak dinner with bottle of wine for 2, £30. It was great value for money, staff were good, music was good - all in all, a pretty chilled out stopping point before a big night out. The fondues seemed really popular so I reckon we'll try that on our next visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craxot3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Brunch before Shopping!”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

First time here after reading the reviews and I am so glad we popped in, what a lovely place - great food with helpful and friendly staff. Eggs Benedict and Prosecco, the perfect start to the day, will definitely return one day for lunch or dinner or maybe just cakes (which looked fab)!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Late Lunch while Christmas Shopping”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Friendly helpful staff, we had the Deli Platter with bottle of wine on a 5pm deal. Plenty of items on the platter and we were able to choose the pate and cheeses (2 of each).Really enjoyed the food and left quite full. Will return for a breakfast in the future after chatting to the chef who said the Eggs Benedict are not to be missed -will definitely check them out..
Oh and background music just at the right level and is normally vinyl (you can take your own LP's!) and Blues.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ianlivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, Scotland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We retreated from Christmas shopping the other day for lunch at The Plum Tree. What a treat, stornoway black pudding and poached egg (with the perfect runny yolk!) salad and delicious home made hoummous & pitta bread - washed down with a glass of prosecco. Presentation and service were excellent. The only downside was there was no room left for one of the amazing-looking desserts - will have to return for that!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank little-lamb-kiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plum Tree also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing