We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to expectations” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plum Tree - CLOSED

The Plum Tree
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Deaconsbank, Glasgow
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Not up to expectations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I visited the Plum Tree, possibly at it's busiest day of the year.........the Merchant City Festival.............so perhaps this review is slightly unkind.

We booked the steak dinner deal for a late lunch. 2 mains plus a bottle of wine for £25, so not a lot paid, but the earlier reviews had us hoping for more than was delivered.

We got a couple of starters, olives and humous. Absolutely fantastic, the large green olives stuffed with little garlic bulbs, and the lemon flavoured humous as good as you will get in the Med.

The house wine, Sav Blanc, was reasonable but nothing special, but anticipation of our steaks (cooked medium) after having sampled excellent starters was making our mouths water.
The presentation was lovely, the potatoes (roasted) the tomato (lightly grilled) and the bit of mushroom were very nice. DRUMROLL............................................the steak, dry, fatty, overly salted, must have been placed in the pan at the time of ordering. The quality of the meat was not the best. If the restaurant could up the price to £35 and give a better cut of beef, it would compliment a lots of great local produce in this bistro.
The accompanying peppercorn sauce was missing peppercorns too, but not unpleasant.

It was a warm afternoon. The AC was on full blast, and the fans spinning merrily, but with the door opened it meant their effect was negligible. We sweated................a lot!

Staff were worked off their feet, but very attentive and pleasant. I think we caught this place on a bad day, and unfortunately we wont be back, not for dinner at least.

Great location. Almost at Candleriggs, but the bistro is a little confused. I am not sure what it's identity is meant to be. Cafe/Bistro? Yes, but please no more steak dinners.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Petgab12001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne T, Owner at The Plum Tree, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am very sorry to hear that despite the other aspects of your meal being very good that your steak was not up to standard.

You are right, The Merchant City Festival is our busiest time of the year and I am delighted that regardless of the additional pressure this creates, our staff were attentive and you were well looked after.

This doesn't affect the quality of the steak you were served however, and as we only buy good quality Rib Eye steak I'm disappointed to hear it was not of the standard you or we would expect.

I do hope that you will visit the Plum Tree again and if you decide to, please email me on jo@theplumtree.uk.com beforehand so I can apologise to you personally for your less than perfect experience.

Kindest Regards
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    28
    7
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Light dinner with colleague”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Yes, it was time for our regular socialising over dinner. We had tried to dine here before under it's old name without success due to the short opening hours. Well, now it's changed to The Plum Tree (was Berits & Brown) it's open until 8:00pm mid-week.

The whole place was very welcoming and relaxing. The food was simply wonderful. Freshly prepared, and very tasty. Being a deli / restaurant it does major on salad style dishes, and it has to said does them very well. I had a glass of the house red, which one very much to my liking and one of the best house reds I can recall.

It's a little different, and although it might have less choice around what you might expect by way of main courses, all the food was freshly prepared and very enjoyable. Certainly didn't leave hungry that's for sure. So in conclusion, I'll have to agree with the previous reviews calling this a 'wee gem'.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect place to catch up with friends. a delicious, laid-back delight :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Not long discovered this wee gem and I have already been twice! This is a lovely wee place whether you're looking for breakfast, lunch, dinner or a coffee/cake or swiss ice cream :) Great quality food and attentive, jolly staff. It has a really laid back atmosphere, a delight to dine here. I will definitely be returning again and again. They even play vinyl and allow customers to make selections. I've noticed they have wine/burger nights. 5pm are running some fantastic deals just now - a fondue sharer for 2 or delicious steaks and wine. They also sell a range of teas and other produce. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed. I'm sure this place will do really well and it deserves to. Saying that I hope it doesn't become too busy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kirsty m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne T, Owner at The Plum Tree, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback - absolutely delighted to hear you've had such a good experience at the Plum Tree and appreciate you taking the time to share this with other.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Found this little gem in the merchant city, the food is freshly made on site and the taste and quality is amazing.
There is an large choice of craft beers and wines to accompany your meal,
The welcome was warm and helpful and the food simply delicious
You can even choose your favourite tunes from the vinyl collection to play whilst you eat!!!
Magnificent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“What a discovery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

How lucky we were to come across this restaurant considering the number of restaurants in this area of Glasgow. The service was top class, and the food just as good, with myself and 3 friends sharing the platter for 2, as recommended by the waitress who also advised that the platter would be plentiful for the 4 of us. She was absolutely right, the platter consisted of Scottish sourced cheeses, pates, chutneys, olives, sundried tomatoes, toast and oatcakes. Along with the wine this was an excellent experience, offering very good value for money. I would definitely return to The Plum Tree the next time I am visiting Glasgow and would thoroughly recommend it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plum Tree also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing