We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and Welcoming”
Review of Atholl Arms

Atholl Arms
Ranked #526 of 2,407 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Warm and Welcoming”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Found this pub when looking for meal near Theatre Royal. Atmosphere warm and welcoming -
staff very friendly. Ordered haddock, and it was delicious - freshly cooked, served with chips
peas, lemon wedge and wee dish of tartare sauce. House wine good quality and reasonable
price. Folk at next table had steaks (special on a Wednesday) and they looked and smelled very apetising. Look forward to a return visit - would definitely recommend to others.
The Atholl Arms is very similar to the Griffin in Bath Street.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Endee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    42
    20
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elmira, NY
Level Contributor
361 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Easy to miss but worth the stop”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

the staff was friendly and courteous. Food looked good and fellow diners were enthusiastic. Beer was good too! Would probably revisit but I don't have any specific recommendations.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RayMargeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing !”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Waiter was very inexperienced in laying out a table for service . Dropped the cutlery and proceeded to pick it up and place it on the table .
The food order was mixed . Mince and potatoes , delicious . Lasagne, the bolognese sauce was bright red in colour and looked and tasted like a poor tomato ketchup , no authentic flavours at all . Baked potatoe with Tuna , no mayonnaise to bind the Tuna . There was no flakes of tuna as it appeared to have been emptied from the tin in a clump . The potatoe was offered with no butter and the side salad consisted of a plop of coleslaw covered with two lettuce leaves , two opaque slices of cucumber and half a tomatoe .A portion of chilli and rice was the fore said mince with The Ketchup and chilli flakes . Why did we not complain ?? The staff hardly noticed us , to draw attention to a negative comment might bring unwanted attention from the customers at the bar , whom appeared to be holding court . We shall definitely never encourage others to vist this Pub for Pie or Pint

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ged1164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An old fashioned gem!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

It had been a long time since I had eaten at the Atholl Arms in Glasgow but as I pass it at least three or four times a week and spy the special offer menus, I was curious to know what it was like! I treated myself to the steak and chips, served with onion rings and mushrooms. I was not disappointed, the steak was done exactly how I requested, the chips were light and not greasy, the onion rings crispy and the mushrooms tasty and plentiful! The staff were very pleasant and helpful, attentive without being overbearing. I looked over at my fellow diners who both had the delicious looking battered haddock and chips. Apparently it tasted as good as it looked. The waiter explained the fish was fresh and not frozen!!! The only thing that prevented me from lingering was the music!! On commenting I discovered it was a juke box and the music is obviously chosen by the customers - so perhaps we are in charge of our own destiny when it comes to music!!! This is an old fashioned pub, doing honest, good quality pub food at reasonable prices. Lovely staff and all spotlessly clean! it was good to come back!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jintzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have been going to the Atholl Arms every August since 2006. Good Pub food, reasonably priced and everyone from the cook, the bar personnel, and the owner are very friendly and treat me like an honored guest

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atholl Arms also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Atholl Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing