We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a quick breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Montgomerys

Montgomerys
Ranked #240 of 2,389 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, European, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Verona, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place for a quick breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Lovely breakfast cafe in the West End of Glasgow. I had eggs and bacon. My daughter had the waffles. The waffles portion was small so you might want to get some bacon with it. The cafe latte was very good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marykate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMMnt, Manager at Montgomerys, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thanks for the great review, look forward to serving you soon.

Montgomerys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    45
    12
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

A great wee place for a Sunday brunch been here several times does not disappoint.
The staff are freindly a large choice of food all freshly made inhouse a well set out cafe with daily papers available for a relaxing read while you enjoy your food

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RJGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMMnt, Manager at Montgomerys, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thanks for the great review, look forward to serving you soon.

Montgomery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice little cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

My boyfriend and I eat and drink here regularly. The menu offers a large choice of meals, savory and sweet. There are a very large list of drinks available and I would recommend trying a vanilla hot milk steamer followed by a maple syrup and ice-cream waffle. The price range here isn't too expensive ranging from £4-£7. The staff are mainly friendly and welcoming. I have however experienced different price charges for the same item as some new staff weren't sure on how to charge (this made me quite angry). The cafe also provides homemade bread which is delightful (bakery closed on a Monday). Over all a lovely place to eat and have a tea/coffee.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Overpriced, unprofessional service went down hill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Have previously been here and thought service and food was ok but returned last month. To my disappointment service was terrible and totally not worth going back for, had a Blt and the bacon was pre cooked plastic crap out a packet and inedible, then had a small tart to which it was over priced and had a soggy bottom! Not impressed clearly wasn't a freshly made tart as they said it was standards have slipped!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harriod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMMnt, Manager at Montgomerys, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
We are sorry you had a bad experience at Montgomerys, from your comments it seems that you have been to our café before and would know that we always try to make sure everyone is happy. Please complain if you are not happy with your service or purchase, we are more than happy to rectify the problem. For your information we do cook our bacon on site and our tarts are made in store fresh every day. Hopefully you will give us another try. See you soon. Montgomerys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Confection at its best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

On our way to the wonderful Kelvingrove museum and galleries we spotted Montgomerys, and fell for its inviting appearance - a nicely presented café alongside its own bakery. Quite a duo!
It was certainly different inside, dominated by a very high ceiling adorned with a map of the world. The wooden walls were painted in a delicate light blue and the tables and seating were attractively arranged around a large room.
The menu was extensive and appetising but we only wanted a light bite so plumped for three coffees - two cortados and one cappuccino, which were hot and strong - accompanied by two Danish pastries (warmed up, which mightily impressed my two companions) and a fruit scone which was warm and fluffy. A delight. The one downer for me was just the one pack of butter, which barely covered one half of the scone.
This is a delightful venue to enjoy meeting with friends over coffee and cakes, or to fortify yourself before attempting the amazing Kelvingrove challenge!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank morecambebay_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montgomerys also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Montgomerys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing