We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Deal”

Athena Greek Taverna
Reserve with OpenTable
Athena Greek Taverna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #120 of 2,393 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A friendly taverna with good sized portions of flavoursome Greek favourites. Great food and a warm welcome always.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Excellent food and prices i was impressed and the business lunch deals were great with a excellent choice for the lunch menu . Greek Lamb Meat balls and Greek Salad with chicken with a lovely glass of red wine.... 10/10

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craigy690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    89
    17
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Greek food at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Mousakka fab best I've tasted in Glasgow. Lunch menu is good value and lots of choice. Good that at bottom of Hope Street at present. Can't wait to go back

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Redlionking1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A little bit of Greece on a miserable wet day.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

My first visit here and enjoyed everything. First of all the service was great, very welcoming and just the right amount of time between courses. Starters for lunch were halloumi and pitta with dips, both delicious. Also ordered a side of garlic bread (pure greed but lovely). Mains chicken and pork souvlaki, good sized portion for lunch. Finally baklava and coffee. My only complaint was I ate far too much! Will definitely return in the near future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scarlettGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Maybe my tastes are different to everyone else !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We went to this restaurant on a whim, we had not looked at trip advisor or any reviews, it was just local to where we were at the time. Yes it was late, (14.00 on Sunday) but it was decidedly quiet. Not being extremely hungry we opted to have two starters and a starter for two as our food. The halumi chesse could have seen a bit longer on the grill, the mushrooms were too oily and the mezze dish was a bit on the watery side. This was not the quality of food that I am use to in a Greek restaurant, but it was not enough to complain about, just enough that if I was passing in the future I would walk on by and try to find somewhere else to eat. Maybe, just maybe my tastes are different to everyone else, and this is what is enjoyed in Glasgow, but I assure you it is not to my tastes..

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slartyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“a little touch of Greece in Central Glasgow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I had visited the Athena Taverna in Argyll Street on a number of occassions and loved not only the food and the price, but the bohemian atmosphere, so it was with a little less reservation we returned for the second time to the new location for ATHENA at the bottom of Hope street across from Central Station. The restaurant doesnt have the same "west end" feel - and it could do with some sound bafles on the walls just to deaden the conversation coming from the other tables.....but - the sound of loads of voices chatting happily over a lazy bank holiday lunch tells you this little Taverna is special. The staff are welcoming and efficient - the business side is right up to date - offering discounts to regulars who provide an e-mail address. And finally the food - I have visited the Greek Islands ten times over the years, and the smells and tastes of the mixed Greek Platters and Souvlaki takes me back to my very favourite Greek holidays.... well done again Athena - this was our fifth visit, second at this location but it wont be our last

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChilledoutScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athena Greek Taverna also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Athena Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing