We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic night out”
Review of The Richmond Bar & Bistro - CLOSED

The Richmond Bar & Bistro
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: British, Bar, European, Wine Bar, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
96 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic night out”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We went tonight for a family meal for dad's 70th birthday and had an amazing night. The food was just delicious, innovative and beautifully presented. No one from our group of 8 had anything but good things to say with regards to their meals. We had very attentive staff, and a fantastic atmosphere to just make the evening more perfect. We will most certainly be back again. Thank you.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolineDickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    28
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great burgers - chilled Sunday afternoon vibe”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We finally got round to eating at the Richmond Bar & Bistro after reading great reviews about it on Twitter. We managed to get a table at the windows at the back of the bar, which have lovely views on to the Kelvin. Although a little slow, the service was friendly. We choose the Richmond Burger and a Chicken and Haggis burger from the lunch menu, which were a very reasonable £8 each. The portions were very generous and the burgers came with a side of piping hot skin-on fries, a little pot of coleslaw and onion rings. The Richmond burger was really tasty and was piled with cheese, jalapeños and pancetta. Even without the extras, the burger itself was delicious. I am surprised with such good quality meat, they do not ask you how you want it cooked however. The chicken burger came with all the same trimmings and the burger itself was juicy and tasty. The only slight criticism (and it is just a niggle) was that the onion rings were a bit oily. We finished off with good coffees. There are few places around the West End that serve good, honest, fairly priced bar food and I would highly recommend the Richmond. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank West End R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Lovely food in a very relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Eight of us met up here for Sunday lunch and thoroughly enjoyed the food and the ambience. Only slight downside was that they were short staffed so there was quite a wait for drinks. The staff were friendly and attentive. We had deli platters to share which contained an excellent selection and decent quantities. Chicken Caesars was good and the curry was excellent and again a good sized portion. Shame the haloumi cheese was crumbed as it lost that squeaky texture! Quite a mixture (and quantity!) of wine, beer and soft drinks were consumed, so we were pleasantly surprised that the bill only came to £200. Can highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jac E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great night out!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Went to the Richmond last Friday night.
Great night out, what can you say.
Had a couple of great drinks to start things off, an Old Fashioned. Have to admit, I only drank it because of Mad Men! Then I had a martini, a vesper or something.
Pulled pork salad was excellent.
Nice atmosphere too... reminded me of NYC, don't know why.
Enjoy.
Jim

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimoftheCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gartcosh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely place to catch up with friends”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely afternoon at richmond Glasgow. Tastie food, relaxed atmosphere and staff very attentive. First time here and will definitely be back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Richmond Bar & Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing