We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Sporting Venue”
Review of Emirates Arena

Emirates Arena
Ranked #74 of 272 things to do in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Sporting Venue”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

If your thinking of attending for a sports event don't hesitate, the atmosphere is amazing. The emirates is the Badminton and Track cycling home for Glasgow 2014. Why not live some of the Legacy.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jbeaton93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    29
    10
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troon
Level Contributor
182 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Regeneration Experiment!”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I was part of a guided study tour of the east end of Glasgow which included a visit to the Emirates Stadium incl. velodrome. The building is designed to be approached from the newly refurbed Dalmarnock station (the 'public transport' Games plan), which is why the 'front' is at the 'back' and hence from London Road (the main road opposite Celtic Park) the building appears to turn its back on the street. It is also raised on a plinth so that it fails to connect with the street well. It is yet another 'silver building' in Glasgow (Hydro, Armadillo etc) and like those others is not connected to the surrounding area in terms of there being no overall masterplan for the area and walk/cycle routes. The car is still the way that most people are expected to come (according to a member of the regeneration project) - which tells me that this facility is not expected to be for local people. Externally it is bleak and unwelcoming with no green space at all. There are two very lonely white barked birch trees in a sea of concrete. Inside the staff have security to the fore so that one wonders if one is in an airport! Having said all that, as a sporting facility it appears to be excellent. The velodrome, indoor sports halls etc. are very impressive! Won't bore you with the capacities and technology but it is state of the art. When we were there we were told the Scottish cycle team had just finished training though the public are not permitted to watch. The velodrome was in use by local kids on our visit and the guide assured me that those living within half a mile had priority, e.g. lots of use by youth clubs or similar. I think that unless local people get discount rate, it is likely to be prohibitively expensive to use the cafe etc. It is also so full of rules that it is off-putting - one feels constantly under a overly watchful steward's eye! This is probably Games training - but I'd hope they lighten up a bit afterwards! I think it's hard to rate as average as it's excellent as a sports facility but overall there's a lot of issues externally in scale, aspect, accessibility so that I will give it a 'very good' with heavy caveats of 'depends' on who you are and why you're there!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Talamhgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely venue”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

A sports hall, Arena and velodrome all in one building!

This is going to be a major venue for the Commonwealth games, but I was there for the BBL Trophy final. It's right by Celtic Park, home of Celtic FC, so you can't miss it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Niall G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,155 reviews
479 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,502 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

My visit was to attend the Commonwealth Games Glasgow 2014 volunteer training. Having not visited before the arena took my breath away - WOW! With the Sir Hoy velodrome next door, you can see many sports under 2 roofs so to speak. With Celtic Park football ground across the road, you could build in a tour of the football ground as well so long you have booked in advance. Retail parks close by and regular bus services from Glasgow City Centre. What a legacy these 2 venues will leave behind once the Games 2014 are over. It has to be said, the East side of Glasgow has greatly improved by the coming of the Games. Smiles all round.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to visit, excellent venue for Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Visited as I am volunteering for the Games this summer - excellent venue - I travelled on public transport on 240 from the centre of Glasgow didnt actually take that long - The Forge Retail Park and The Forge Indoor Shopping Centre very close by along with Celtic FC Ground, Celtic Park or Parkhead and the Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome - If going to see events this summer will have an amazing experience

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank FifiFizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emirates Arena also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Emirates Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing