We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, great food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Masala Twist City Centre

Masala Twist City Centre
Ranked #303 of 2,386 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $29
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Authentic Indian cuisine served in the heart of city center,service is relaxed with a separate lounge bar for Pre or post dinner drinks,we specialize in the different variety of tikkas with Scottish influence to it.No food colorings or additives are used in any cooking,fresh local produces are listed on the menu.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service, great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We were recommended this place by the hotel we stayed in. It was a Monday night and as such, it was not busy when we entered the restaurant. My immediate concerns about the central ceiling decoration being similar to something my family would have been proud to have put up for Christmas in 1984, were dispelled by the attentive and friendly attitude of the staff. The wine list was good and the bottle of Shiraz/Cinsault was gorgeous for the 16.50 we paid. The menu is both extensive and exciting and we had trouble choosing, only because of the many things we wanted to try. The chef interjected our perusal by asking if we would like to try a wild venison broth he'd cooked for the staff which was delicious. After poppadoms and pickles we decided to have the haggis pakoras and (the chef recommended) king prawns. The king prawns weren't on the menu, but their marination and fantastic flash fried flavour were probably the highlight of a fantastic meal. The subsequent main tapas style dishes including homemade paneer, venison curry and excellent naan were both very well executed and well seasoned. We will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SoniaPounder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    75
    11
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delicious with very helpful, friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

I am a vegetarian (who is also very fussy) and even though it wasn't on the menu the chef cooked me a vegetable Korma as one of my tapas choices after visiting our table and asking if we needed any help. The food was delicious! One of the best Indian meals I have ever had. The chef recommended their samosas and these were unlike any I have experienced before - they were so good. We couldn't resist taking the leftovers home with us. Would recommend to everyone - with a very good price and very helpful, friendly staff!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JodieMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
97 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A cracking place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Went in a group who were having trouble deciding so the waiter helped us out a lot and boy, the food! It was so very tasty and lots of it. We eventually plumped for the set menu and the starters were a meal in themselves - loved the haggis samosas - very flavoursome. The mains appeared in tapas style but that did help us swap about and taste a huge variety of tasty dishes. Will definitely return here if back in Glasgow.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lapsedveggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I were looking for somethung to eat and noticed this place, which offered a 2 course set meal for ten pounds. Service was excellent, very attentive, and very good food. Would defo recommend

Helpful?
Thank Graeme G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is our third visit and I can say each time it gets better and better - We had lunchtime buffet and the food is really fantastic - freshly made and a incredible quality - This looks nothing from the outside but when you get in the welcome is lovely very friendly and the restaurant is very nice - you must try this for yourself and you will see - Great Value -

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jgorspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala Twist City Centre also viewed

 
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
East Kilbride, South Lanarkshire
 
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire
 

Been to Masala Twist City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing