We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, true flavours not just heat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Masala Twist City Centre

Masala Twist City Centre
Ranked #308 of 2,387 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $29
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Authentic Indian cuisine served in the heart of city center,service is relaxed with a separate lounge bar for Pre or post dinner drinks,we specialize in the different variety of tikkas with Scottish influence to it.No food colorings or additives are used in any cooking,fresh local produces are listed on the menu.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good food, true flavours not just heat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Interesting menu with a novel, tapas style option to sample the many different dishes on offer. Whilst they claim to offer the hottest curry in Scotland,and that may be true, that's really just a touristy marketing gimmick. Underlying that claim though is an approach that's focused on using authentic, carefully selected natural ingredients to create highly spiced and flavoursome dishes rather than just throwing curry powder at it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodw1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    75
    11
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food - With a Twist!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

It was curiosity (and a 20% off voucher!) that brought us into the Masala Twist and we couldn't have made a better choice for a pre theatre tapas dinner. Usually tapas describes small Spanish appetiser dishes but having a similar arrangement with curried dishes was definitely the twist. Plenty of choice including an unusual Mince n' Tatties curry which - as a Scot - I found particularly strange! But when I tried it - it was delicious. They also serve what is termed as Scotland's "hottest chicken curry" - which is restricted to over 21s only! The Manager, Paiwan and his staff Alex & Lalit could not have been more helpful when we arrived and it was a pleasure to see them take a pride and explain the various dishes that the restaurant provides. This is on our "must return" list when we next go back to Glasgow.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jockinafrock69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had a deal meal here for £9.95 and had chicken korma and chicken jalfrezi both of which were delicious. The service was excellent and we would definitely return. The restaurant is ideally located near to Central Station.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunseeker227135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A great city centre location with great food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We were at Masala Twist in Hope St on Tuesday night. Perfect for a pre theatre dinner which is £9.95 pp and with many choices of small plates and alternatives there was something for everyone. The service was very friendly. The place was clean and brightly decorated.
It was different from a normal Indian meal where you feel stuffed at the end of it. The tapas option is good for the smaller appetites and 2 of these each were enough for my friend and I.
We tried the Chicken Korma, Lamb Bhoona, Chilli chicken and the Lamb Rogan Josh. All were very tasty and the meat was nice and tender.
I would definitely return and recommend to friends. It is a friendly, inexpensive place with excellent food right in the city centre.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LornaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great wee restaurant!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

My husband and I used an Amazon local voucher tonight for this restaurant. Wasn't really sure what to expect but was pleasantly surprised. Clean, bright and nice buzzing atmosphere. Staff were very friendly and food was lovely. Tapas is a nice idea and let's u enjoy a variety of different dishes of your own choice. We particularly enjoyed the mince and tatties curry, absolutely delicious and the nan was lovely. Would definitely return. My only gripe was that they charged for the spiced onions that came with the poppadums I ordered.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala Twist City Centre also viewed

 
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
East Kilbride, South Lanarkshire
 

Been to Masala Twist City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing