We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, lovely owner but underwhelming breakfast...”
Review of Cafe Phoenix - CLOSED

Cafe Phoenix
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Vietnamese, Scottish
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice location, lovely owner but underwhelming breakfast...”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Having worked up in Glasgow for a while, I was already acquainted with the West End and used to eat out there mainly of an evening in the array of restaurants surrounding the local University.

I was flying home early afternoon so opted to take a Sunday stroll from the City Centre to the West End to find somewhere to have breakfast, I had never been here before so opted to give the place a try. The Cafe moonlights as a book store which is a novel idea, there were plenty of locals inside on both the ground floor and first floor and newspapers were available aside from the array of books on offer.

The owner and chef was lovely and took my order for a cooked (Scottish) breakfast promptly, the breakfast itself was somewhat underwhelming, no beans, no tomato, no hash browns, black pudding etc simply fried egg, sausage square, potato scone and a couple of rashers of bacon.

Tomato ketchup was in the form of plastic sachets which was disappointing as you can't beat a bottle of Heinz with breakfast.

I'll have to give this place a try for lunch or dinner having seen some of the promising reviews on here, however I'll give breakfast a miss.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jumblies79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
87 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Home cooked food in a homely atmosphere”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Great wee place for fresh food. Scrambled eggs toasted sandwiches and great coffee. Go upstairs for a comfy couch and sit by the window overlooking woodlands road....it's better than the tv! Owner is lovely friendly and a good cook. So much better than nearby 'competition'

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travellergirl-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A good place to study”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Relaxed and friendly with a great selection of tea and cake. A good location near the university means it's a good location to work between or after lectures.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seumas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm, Welcoming and Tasty Food”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This small café on Woodlands Rd offers excellent service and great home cooked food at very reasonable prices. The soups are particularly good (I'd recommend the parsnip and chilli if it's on) and don't leave without trying the mint tray bake.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharonMcM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Welcoming Atmosphere”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This little cafe is somewhere I will visit again and again. The cafe-come-bookshop has a wide and ever changing menu, with options for those with different dietary requirements. The selection of cakes and treats are great value and use high quality ingredients. At times when the cafe is busy the staff make sure you feel appreciated for waiting and always serve you with a smile. I very rarely take the time to review places but I've had lots of great experiences at this business. Worth a visit for it's great selection of good value books too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gmoney8919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Phoenix also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing