We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food”

Himalaya Restaurant
Ranked #285 of 2,393 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: Indian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Open 7 days 4.30Pm till late Last Delivery 11pm
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

I would highly recommend the Himalaya Restaurant the food is fantastic and the staff very friendly. The waitress Gwen in particular is absolutely delightful she calls very body darling and ensures that you have everything you need. She is a wee diamond. Even the table of four behind us couldn't dampen her spirit despite trying their bloody hardest. They ate enough food for at least 8 and need to visit weight watchers greedy buggers anyhow overall the staff (particularly Gwen) and the food in here are great well worth a visit...well happy and will be returning xx

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz-c59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    43
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic - must visit Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

If you haven't had a meal here - you are missing out.

I have used the Himalaya for take-away meals for some time now. The food is always fantastic and the staff are always very friendly. When we moved some distance away, we still found ourselves driving here for our take-away curries.

Recently my fiancée turned 30 and I decided to throw her a surprise dinner party here for around 30 people. The night was brilliant. The staff couldn't have done more on the lead up or on the night. The food was fantastic, the service was better than you find in many upmarket fine dinning restaurants and everybody had a great night. Nothing was a trouble to the staff, all adding to the success of the evening. Even the final bill was a pleasant surprise - both drinks and buffet meal were excellently priced.

Many of our guests have commented on this since the evening and some have already been back for a take-away themselves.

I highly recommend here for a take-away, a couple/family meal or a larger group party. You will not be disappointed. We'll certainly be back :-)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gunnar85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr d waters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Friendly atmosphere helpful staff and excellent menu! Been going hear since day 1 and still look forward to going as often as possible buffet has a wide selection of dishes to cater for all tastes and if you don't see wat you fancy just ask!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank daview56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service to match the food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Been visiting this restaurant for years and recently has been back up to the high standard I associated with it. Great tasting fresh food, buffet is great value for money, friendly and helpful staff in a bright clean atmosphere. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great all-rounder 5*”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Love going to this restaurant, lucky to have it as our local. Always have a great selection of freshly cooked food when going for the buffet. Interior is really modern and clean, lovely and relaxed too. The service is great couldn't ask for any better!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalaya Restaurant also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
 

Been to Himalaya Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing