We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Tasty First Time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Himalaya Restaurant

Himalaya Restaurant
Ranked #239 of 2,386 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $31
Cuisines: Indian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Open 7 days 4.30Pm till late Last Delivery 11pm
Nottingham
1 review
“Very Tasty First Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I found that this restaurant had an fantastic designed interior, to go with the distinct and superb flavors in each dish. I strongly recommend the butter chicken for the sweet and spicy taste which goes excellently with the perfectly cooked rice. There was very friendly and quick service which we could not ask anymore of. Overall the perfect restuarant!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamalp77, Manager at Himalaya Restaurant, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. Glad you enjoyed the food and we hope to see you again during the summer festivals at bellahouston park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    43
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Came for a take away & ended up sitting in (as usual)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

As a family we've been going to this restaurant for past 30 years and its lovely to see original owners and staff back. The food is also back to it's original excellent quality and the flavours are just as amazing. You will alway receive excellent customer service the staff are really friendly and will do their utmost to ensure you enjoy your visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamalp77, Manager at Himalaya Restaurant, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for all your positive comments. Roll on the next 30 years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Anniversary dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We've been coming here seperately for years and can never ever fault it. The food is always AMAZING and its great that it's now somewhere the two of us can go together. We also now spend Christmas here with my family and it's amazing for that too. Wether it's a couples dinner to a family party The Himalaya is the go to place for the best curry!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamalp77, Manager at Himalaya Restaurant, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for celebrating your anniversary with us, and we're so glad you had a lovely night! Also just to give you a heads up, we will have our christmas menu ready to view in a couple of weeks too! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“HOT & TASTY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband and I are regulars at the Himalaya restaurant. Not only do we sit in, we get carry out food also - it's that good.
Now that the original owners are back at the helm, the food is back to it's original excellent quality and the flavours are amazing - from mild to hot! hot! hot! (if that's what you like)
The staff are really friendly and can't do enough to make your visit a great one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathrine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamalp77, Manager at Himalaya Restaurant, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments Katherine. We are loving being back too and loving seeing our regular customers even more! :) See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place, great food, great staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We booked Himalaya restaurant for a family get- together and we had never been before. The staff were brilliant with our young children and were very accommodating to their dietary demands. The service was excellent and the food recommendations were brilliant. We thoroughly enjoyed all the dishes, especially the peshwari naan which we had as a dessert. Would definitely come here again!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzannahjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamalp77, Manager at Himalaya Restaurant, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you Suzannah for taking the time to write this review. Your comments were very much appreciated by all the staff! We are so pleased you enjoyed your evening with us and next time you decide to have the peshwari naan as a dessert, add a scoop of ice cream to it! Yum!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalaya Restaurant also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Himalaya Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing