We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere, great food :)”

The Hanoi Bike Shop
Ranked #137 of 2,407 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great food :)”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I love this place, has a great menu with dishes full of flavour. A couple of my friends who have been to Vietnam, state this makes a pretty good attempt at authentic dishes and is definitely one of the best around.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisPLavelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    312
    123
    65
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Watch out for the sauce”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Hanoi Bike Shop is small and compact which may not be to overyones liking but for a group of guys looking for something a bit different it was spot on.

Without any experience of Vietnamese food, the waitress was very helpful in identifying a few dishes for us to share. All the dishes were excellent and like most sharing style restaurants you don't know what order the food is going to be served. Always a good sign in that food is made to order and fresh. Watch out for the chilli sauce - the hottest thing I've ever tasted. Literally a tiny drop was all that was needed. There's a lot of choice for vegetarians with the Tofu dishes as well as plenty to suit the carnivores.

Too sweet for my taste, but I'm told the Vietnamese coffee with condensed milk was excellent.

Service overall was excellent with the waitress being very helpful and attentive. The restaurant was packed ut and I'd recommend booking if there is any more than a couple of you.

My first experience of Vietnamese food but not the last if this is typical.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rabcaz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Hadn't been to a Vietnamese restaurant before and was eager to try this place for a while. Was really impressed with the great food and great service. The decor was in keeping with the Vietnamese theme.Recommend the Tofu Hot Pot and the Green Tea Smoked Chicken Salad, delicious! Excellent value for money. Can't wait to return!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shh211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Vietnamese rival to Mother India”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Had delicious meal here, everything we tried from the menu was interesting and very tasty.

A few things could be improved- no-one came round to ask how our meal was. Nice to feel like you've not been forgotten about.

Also would be nicer served with hot bowls/plates- the dishes we shared didn't stay very hot for long.

The specials board looked interesting too but they didn't mention one of them had run out until we ordered.

The food is the main thing though and it was fantastic. I'll be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Treehorn3624360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great food, great service! Will be going back very soon. Recommend the Vietnamese coffee to finish off your meal too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nigel1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hanoi Bike Shop also viewed

 

Been to The Hanoi Bike Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing