We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't "Wok this way"” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wok to Walk - CLOSED

Wok to Walk
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Fast Food, Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Seating
Brechin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Don't "Wok this way"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Glasgow Saturday night...... restaurants galore, plenty of choice....let's try Wok to Walk.
The place is very bright, not impressed with the seating....looks like something out of "The Shawshank Redemption" but, hey it's only seating.
2 staff serving...very glum...no" hi, hello, how are you" etc......ok i know it's fast food but surely some service with a smile would be appreciated?
Onto the food.....wow, pricey for what you get, the sauce is free but they charge separate for the veg???
You get this wee "Hellraiser" (remember that film?) type box, that when opened, contained .......well a "sludge" like content!
Mushy,soggy.. okay it had a taste but overall not impressive.
I certainly won't "Wok" this way again !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ModStu64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Inverness
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“On the way home snack”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Worth a try but I won't be back. For early evening they run out of sweet and sour sauce, I asked for anything else similar. Was served in a plastic tub rather then the cardboard walk style box. Sauce was awful and whole thing binned. An experience though

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Healthy fast food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Always great. Nice friendly service. Canteen style tables. Bargain lunch £3.90. Fresh & delicious. You choose what you want and they stir fry it. The kids love it too.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank acwRuralScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wok To Walk”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

An average chinese restaurant, only two staff working and it was too pricey, but it was clean and fast so I was happy. The staff weren't very happy, seemed to have had a misfortune that day, and were annoying. If you work in Glasgow and on a lunch break then I would highly reccommned.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Lewis, Outer Hebrides
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable, cheap, fast and good quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I don't usually write restaurant reviews, but this is an exception and a recommendation. I had not come across his chain of wok / noddle bars, but tried the one in Glasgow whilst in the city for business meets. The basic plan is you choose your base - noodles, rice in various forms, add what you want stir fried and then pick a sauce. I had beef in noodles with the peanut sauce and stir fried veg. It was cooked n the open galley kitchen in front of me, boxed and handed over. It cost about £5. I ate in at the rows of benches, and really enjoyed the fresh, light stir fry that had been cooked for me. Far better quality than the fast food take out aim and delivery might suggest. I returned a couple of days later and had the udon noddles with duck and broccoli in a Tokyo Teriyaki sauce. Absolutely de-lish, and again about £6. A great alternative to heavier, fatty fast foods, and good fun watching the wok chefs work, too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterU620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wok to Walk also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing