We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Lychee Oriental

Lychee Oriental
Ranked #46 of 2,450 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Winner of the Best Oriental Restaurant 2015 in the Glasgow Awards,winner best Newcomer Category in the Glasgow Restaurant Awards 2012 & winner of the Best Asian Restaurant in Scotland 2013 award, Lychee Oriental is a hidden gem down Glasgow's Mitchell Street which is fast becoming a hub for fine dining. It strikes the perfect balance of being central enough to be convenient but not amongst the hustle and bustle that will distract you from your meal. Lychee Oriental offers the perfect venue for that business lunch or to enjoy a fine meal with friends, family or that special someone.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We ate here after reading all the positive reviews about it. It's a really nice restaurant, warm with nice decor. However, the actual food wasn't up to scratch and (apart from the beef satay which was very nice) everything else was quite tasteless.

The service was mixed too, with one exceptionally fed up and sullen member of staff mixed with another who was the polar opposite and very good. The toilet was a unisex / disabled one and when you walked out of it, there were piles of dirty dishes sitting there which again wasn't great to see.

So overall, we wold not go back here as there are better in Glasgow.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jajd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    176
    57
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Modern Oriental restaurant worth visiting”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Visited on a weeknight and it was pretty quiet. Lychee has a nice modern feel to it, nicely decorated and the lighting gives it a nice atmosphere, very different from most Chinese restaurants in Glasgow and you quickly feel as if you made the right decision in visiting.

The menu had a nice mix of old Chinese classics with a bit more variety to it you don’t often see (e.g. claypot chicken) and it wasn’t too large a menu, good choice, but not like reading a book as what can happen in some Chinese restaurants! We had the salt and pepper squid and thai fishcake to start, then the roast duck with plum sauce and the scallops. Presentation of all the dishes was very nicely done, the portion size was just right, and service was very quick. The starters were very good, and the scallop main course was also good. The only minor niggle was the plum sauce on the duck, was too much like a sweet and sour sauce and too strong, would be better with the sauce on the side, but that's just my preference.

Lychee is one those places which is still quite new but that you hope makes a name for itself (in fact it is winning awards) and does well, as it deserves too, and would happily go back to try the rest of the menu.

btw - i think they can offer discounted parking at the adjacent NCP car park, not sure of the discount as I parked around the corner for free!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CV76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We visited Lychee on a recent visit to Glasgow and were not disappointed.

We booked for 7:45pm for the Saturday night following a trawl on Tripadvisor.

On arrival the restaurant was busy and the atmosphere was good. Our table was ready on arrival.

The service was prompt and efficient through out our meal.

We had a mixed starter to share, that in hindsight was probably enough for three or four people. Our mains were excellent.

Overall we would definitely recommend a visit to Lychee if you are looking for a Chinese in a non-traditional modern setting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dj_ely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Original Oriental”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Lychee Oriental has been open for only a few months but it has quickly garnered a good reputation, as well as an award. I understand that the owner closed down one place to open this up and it seems like he brought loyal customers with him. The place was getting busy when we arrived for our 1730 booking. The location is not Glasgow's most saloubrious address - though looking out the windows at the arches opposite and the cobbled road you could imagine yourself somwhere in New York's lower west side! Inside, Lychee Oriental is plush and comfortable.

And in such surroundings you want the food to live up to them: it does. R had a bowl of mussels to start: a far bigger bowl than he expected - and generous helpings seems to be a feature of this classy Chinese. I had the chilli and salt chicken wings which were meaty and juicy though while the salt made its presence felt I wonder if chef is a bit cautious with the chilli. For mains R had the Hor Fun noodle and duck dish - another good plateful! - and I the duck with lychees and plum sauce (I felt duty bound to have a dish with lychees in it, given the name of the place!) We really coudn't fault them and also felt there was an originality in the menu and cooking which in itself would draw us back again.

Happy to recommend Lychee Oriental and we're planning to knock on our neighbour's doors and plan a night out together there!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B-RReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nothing comes close”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Whilst passing through a side street in Glasgow we came across this Chineese. We were treated to a meal from our friends. From the outside we could see it looked busy, menu was nice so we went in. Quick service in a beautiful setting. Reasonably priced for presentation and quality of food. The whole ambience was lovely will return and will most definitely recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lychee Oriental also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Lychee Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing